We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Great Hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fairfield Inn is situated in a 2 minutes distance to Michigan Avenue. The main attractions are in walking distance.
There a lots of restaurants and shopping facilities around.
The hotel inside is very clean, the staff friendly, reliable and attentive.
Free Continental Breakfast was included, everything was filled up immediately.
Although the room was next to the lift, it was quiet. The room was proper, comfortable and convenient. For a longer stay an additional cupboard would be nice to have.
Free high-speed internet was available and very stable, so we could organize the stay very easily.
The hotel is to be recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a great stay with your family. We appreciate that you emphasized the friendly staff, reliability, and attentiveness toward our guests. We are proud of our staff; as they do a wonderful job taking care of everyone. We hope you return to Chicago again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    337
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
224
187
49
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely delighted with this property, and the almost residential feel of its location. The staff at this Fairfield Inn offers the same personable & professional service attitude I'd expect from a larger Marriott property.
Magnificent Mile shopping less than 2 blocks away; 5 miles from Wrigley Field; many major museums, amusements, sites, and venues - and hundreds of restaurants - within 5 minutes by cab. (Ask the care staff for a list.) You can also pop across the tree-lined, two-lane street for high-end fast food, or repair next door for a marvelous prix fixe new-French dinner at Les Nomades.
Clean, safe/secure, with basic business services (and printer for your boarding pass), and a more-than-continental breakfast service is included with your room. Basic rooms are not large, but the beds are high-end comfy, so who cares? :) (Also no in-room safe, but surely the front desk has a solution.)
Don't think, just book... and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for a wondeful review. I think you are the first person who described our location as a "residential" feel. You are absolutely correct. We are located next to a house but one block from North Michigan Avenue shopping. You are within walking distance to all sorts of entertainment but the hotel feels miles away. Yes, we do not have safes in the room but we do have limited safes available at the front desk. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I stay here for business on a regular basis. The staff is friendly and helpful. Coming into Chicago for a weekend trip? Give this place a look. Centrally located to miracle mile and close to downtown and parks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for referring other business travelers to the Fairfield Inn by your review. We are located in a central spot for entertainment and business purposes. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had an excellent experience staying at the Fairfield Inn in Chicago. Everyone was very helpful and it was certainly handy to Michigan Avenue and other attractions. You could certainly walk to many things. The breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a memorable stay with your family in Chicago. It sounds like you all were very busy checking out the attractions by foot. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything about our stay was great. You cannot beat the location. This hotel gives you more bang for the buck than most of the downtown Chicago hotels. The only downside is no pool or hot tub, but we had too many other things to do and wouldn't have used it anyway. Parking was convenient and affordable. Breakfast was good. Very nice hotel. Service was excellent. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great time in Chicago and were busy 95% of the time. Next time you visit, walk to Oak Street or North Avenue Beach. The beaches have volleyball nets and everyone seems to have a great time. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Just off Michigan Ave. We used the valet service on arrival and walked everywhere else. Typical Fairfield breakfast. I liked that they had the newspapers in the breakfast room, which is on the second floor. All breakfast items were fresh and counter was well attended. We had the king suite. Our set up allowed for a separation from the living area from the bed area with a wall the had the closet and enclave for microwave and refrigerator. The desk was accommodating with our bags on check out day as we continued to enjoy Chicago. The city's water department was working on the water and shut it off for two of the days. We were notified in writing the night/morning of the day. It might do well to have a notice in the elevators the night before.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accessiblity to a morning newspaper. We always try to have a good supply of USA Today papers available for our guests. We are also glad you took advantage of the front desk holding your luggage so you could enjoy Chicago. Regarding, the lack of water, we appreciate your suggestion regarding posting the notice in the elevator. I have passed this suggestion to the General Manager and Assistant General Manager for future reference. We hope you visit Chicago again and choose to stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alton, il
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

First the good news. The staff at this hotel is extraordinary-very friendly & helpful. We were greated every time we came in or stepped out of the elevator. Parking valets were great & housekeeping was very efficient and fast. Absolutely the best we have ever encountered at any hotel. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked great and it was HOT! The location is great, close to everything. HOWEVER, the room was tiny. We've stayed in alot of hotels in Chicago & have NEVER had a room this small. Even historic hotels that we've stayed in had rooms larger than this. It is billed as a corner king room which by definition indicates there will be windows on 2 walls and implies a slightly larger room (as in a "corner office"). Wrong on both counts. If you look at the hotel website there are no pictures of the corner king room. Also there are no pictures of the tiny bathroom sink counter, only pictures of the much larger counter there we did NOT have. It was 36" wide at MOST. There were 2 chairs in the room, one of which was the desk chair. Both were very uncomfortable and not really intended to sit in to watch tv, eat or drink a cocktail.
To summarize, we really liked the hotel, but were extremely disappointed with the actual room to the point of feeling mislead.

Room Tip: Do NOT fall for the "Corner King Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations regarding our staff and customer service. We have a wonderful staff and they do try to make the hotel your home away from home. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the size of the corner king room. We have a picture displayed on our website of a king bedded room, which is our corner king room and the bathroom displayed is in our double bedded rooms. Maybe be the next time you stay with us a double bedded room with a larger bathroom or a suite with a separate living space will be better suitable. We look forward to future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Marriott and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.