We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location which is very covenient to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, and the subway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 168 hotels in Chicago
1 review
“Fantastic location which is very covenient to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, and the subway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything about our stay was great. You cannot beat the location. This hotel gives you more bang for the buck than most of the downtown Chicago hotels. The only downside is no pool or hot tub, but we had too many other things to do and wouldn't have used it anyway. Parking was convenient and affordable. Breakfast was good. Very nice hotel. Service was excellent. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great time in Chicago and were busy 95% of the time. Next time you visit, walk to Oak Street or North Avenue Beach. The beaches have volleyball nets and everyone seems to have a great time. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    328
    52
    17
    7
See reviews for
214
179
47
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northeast ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Just off Michigan Ave. We used the valet service on arrival and walked everywhere else. Typical Fairfield breakfast. I liked that they had the newspapers in the breakfast room, which is on the second floor. All breakfast items were fresh and counter was well attended. We had the king suite. Our set up allowed for a separation from the living area from the bed area with a wall the had the closet and enclave for microwave and refrigerator. The desk was accommodating with our bags on check out day as we continued to enjoy Chicago. The city's water department was working on the water and shut it off for two of the days. We were notified in writing the night/morning of the day. It might do well to have a notice in the elevators the night before.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accessiblity to a morning newspaper. We always try to have a good supply of USA Today papers available for our guests. We are also glad you took advantage of the front desk holding your luggage so you could enjoy Chicago. Regarding, the lack of water, we appreciate your suggestion regarding posting the notice in the elevator. I have passed this suggestion to the General Manager and Assistant General Manager for future reference. We hope you visit Chicago again and choose to stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alton, il
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

First the good news. The staff at this hotel is extraordinary-very friendly & helpful. We were greated every time we came in or stepped out of the elevator. Parking valets were great & housekeeping was very efficient and fast. Absolutely the best we have ever encountered at any hotel. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked great and it was HOT! The location is great, close to everything. HOWEVER, the room was tiny. We've stayed in alot of hotels in Chicago & have NEVER had a room this small. Even historic hotels that we've stayed in had rooms larger than this. It is billed as a corner king room which by definition indicates there will be windows on 2 walls and implies a slightly larger room (as in a "corner office"). Wrong on both counts. If you look at the hotel website there are no pictures of the corner king room. Also there are no pictures of the tiny bathroom sink counter, only pictures of the much larger counter there we did NOT have. It was 36" wide at MOST. There were 2 chairs in the room, one of which was the desk chair. Both were very uncomfortable and not really intended to sit in to watch tv, eat or drink a cocktail.
To summarize, we really liked the hotel, but were extremely disappointed with the actual room to the point of feeling mislead.

Room Tip: Do NOT fall for the "Corner King Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations regarding our staff and customer service. We have a wonderful staff and they do try to make the hotel your home away from home. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the size of the corner king room. We have a picture displayed on our website of a king bedded room, which is our corner king room and the bathroom displayed is in our double bedded rooms. Maybe be the next time you stay with us a double bedded room with a larger bathroom or a suite with a separate living space will be better suitable. We look forward to future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

i like this format of hotel - good quality and includes breakfast. honestly - it looks better on line than in person , the lobby is not much to write home about.
the staff was very nice and the location just above the mag mile was perfect.
room was comfy, beds a little hard. breakfast was good and they handled a big crowd well.
we were in the middle of college visits and stayed in chicago one night because, well, chicago is an amazing city! we went to see wait wait don't tell me in the loop, which is south on mag mile, over the river and a few blocks- it was an easy and enjoyable walk both ways. so much fun to wake up in the am and then do the north end of mag mile.
chicago, like most cities, hotels are a little pricy, picked this one on price, it's marriot (points) and breakfast. parking is pricy - $42 valet, but less than other places. it is prettier on the website than in person
staff was great

Room Tip: we stayed on a high floor and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As a select service hotel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago has the essentials available for a comfortable stay; breakfast, internet, competitive price, and modest lobby/accommodations. The hotel was renovated in 2009 and the housekeeping and engineering staff have done a wonderful job maintaining the hotel. Thank you also for sharing our location and parking prices. We have a lot of offer our guests and we hope you visit us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I organized my family reunion in Chicago and we had a worry free stay at the Fairfield Inn. Everyone in my group was extremely happy with their accommodations, the attention and high level of service from the hotel staff. One individual who really stood out was Cruz the bellman/ concierge. He was always willing to help and displayed the highest level of customer service. His warm smile and demeanor was at the top of everyone’s list.

Stefanie Killey was also a pleasure to work with. Her attention to detail and thorough follow-up went a long way to make this a very successful family reunion.

The location was steps away from Michigan Avenue shopping and attactions. I will definitely come back again.

Darren Jackson

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front. The top floor also has high ceilings in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that Cruz took great care of you and your family during the reunion. Our team does a fantastic job referring guests to local restaurants, attractions, as well as, making them feel like home. We hope you think of the Fairfield Inn & Suites for any future family events or personal travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is situated just steps to the core shopping area of downtown Chicago, as well as lots of restaurants. It's also about a 10 minute walk to the wonderful lakefront walking/cycling area (highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a morning walk). The rooms were fine - clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you sharing our close proximity to shopping, restaurants, and Chicago lakefront to our future travelers. I am sure you can agree, you definately do not need car while visiting the area. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have to say I was a bit hesitant when booking my reservation to the Fairfield Inn. I just recently moved away from Chicago and had to come backing business. I know all about the great hotels Chicago had to offer but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to give the this hotel a try. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. Every time I walked I was greeted by a friendly smile. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were clean and it was close to everything I needed. Overall my experience was great and I will definitely be back again. Thank you Fairfield for my my trip back home a happy one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for taking a chance on us! Your review is a great example of future guests reading reviews on TripAdvisor, searching for candid comments ,while choosing a hotel to stay in Chicago. There are numerous places to stay and narrowing down a hotel due to location can still be difficult. I am glad you were able to experience first hand our excellent customer service and meet our staff. We hope that you continue to share your experience with others and return to Chicago soon. We would be happy to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.