We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Tinley Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Truly perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My daughter and I were attending a Barry Manilow concert so we decided to spend the night here. The location was perfect for our needs as we were also going to purchase devices and attend classes at the Apple store. Since I have a severe/profound hearing loss, my daughter requested a hearing assistance kit which was immediately and efficiently installed in our room. We requested early check-in as we had a full day planned and wanted to drop off our bags.
The room was ready as requested. The staff at the desk was fast and friendly. The room and all the decor in the hotel was clean, attractive, and up to date. The breakfast was excellent including waffles, breakfast sandwiches, hard cooked eggs, fruits, cereal, choice of bagel, muffins, etc, juice, coffee, yogurt, and milk. Who could ask for a better place to stay?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that the staff took great care of you and your daughter, as well as, servicing your additional request for a hearing assistance kit. We are glad we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your time at the Apple Store and the Barry Manilow concert. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    324
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
212
177
47
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Flew into Chicago the on July 14, 2012 and stayed two nights at the Fairfield. From O'Hare Airport, my friend and I took the subway to the hotel. Since we arrived around 9:30AM a room wasn't yet available, but "Bianca" was very friendly behind the desk and checked our luggage. When we returned around 4:00PM (took in a ballgame at Wrigley Field in between) we were informed that our request for a single room w/ two double beds could not be accommodated...so we were given an upgrade at no additional charge to a one bedroom suite (Room 1405) with a king-size bed and pullout sofa - a kind and much-appreciated gesture by the staff!

PLUSSES:

-clean, comfortable suite with two televisions and free internet access
-excellent adjustable air conditioning!
-great water pressure in bathroom
-genuinely welcoming and helpful staff (again, a big thanks to Bianca in particular)
-plenty of restaurants, entertainment and subway access within walking distance

DRAWBACKS (not much to complain about...minor criticisms):

-while the bathroom was clean and had great water pressure, it would have been better with a draw fan
-internet connection could have been a little faster, but was still acceptable

Overall, My friend and I enjoyed a great stay at this location. 'Hope to do it again.

SUBWAY DIRECTIONS FROM O'HARE: Take the Blue Line, transfer at Jackson, then take the Red Line three stops north to Grand. Walk two blocks north to Ontario Street, then about five blocks east. Fairfield will be on your left. Approximate commute time, walk included, should be about 60 minutes.

ADVICE: If traveling to/from hotel by subway, roller bags are highly recommended - it makes the walk considerably easier, especially on hot days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the great review. It was so detailed and gave future travelers a wonderful snap shot of the hotel, location, service, staff, and public transportation. Your directions from O'Hare to the hotel were spot on. What a great idea, thanks! Also, it is fantastic to hear that Bianca took excellent care of you and your friend. Bianca started with us less than 6 months ago and she has been an absolute delight at the front desk. We are so happy she is with us and you had the opprotunity to meet her. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel. We were there around 2:30 and could not check in. The hotel personnel stored our luggage and called us when our room was ready. This hotel's best assets were their staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The place was contemporary and a little worn. Rooms were typical size (2 dbl beds, tv, desk). Fairly clean looking. Bathrooms were decent size and clean, but old looking. Second floor has hot chocolate, coffee and tea 24/7. Has a complimentary breakfast with biscuit sandwiches, waffles, bagels, etc. Valet parking was around $45 per night . We were about 2 blocks from Michigan Ave and could walk to either end of Magnificant Mile with little trouble. We left our car at hotel second day (said we had until 6 PM to get it) and strored our luggage again. Location and staff were main assets. Average hotel with above average people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay and were impressed by the staff. We believe that our staff helps us stand apart from all the other hotels you can choose from downtown Chicago. A room is just a room, it is the people that make a stay special. In regards to the rooms, the hotel was renovated in 2009, and although our lobby is trendy and contemporary, our bathrooms are fairly standard but our rooms are brightly colored. Our housekeeping staff has done a great job keeping our rooms clean and maintained for the past 3 1/2 years. We hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is in a GREAT location. Right off of Michigan avenue and near many restaurants (Italian cafes, Capital Grille, a popcorn store that smells delicious from the outside, etc). Front desk was so friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions of where to eat. Continental breakfast is great - yogurts, egg and cheese biscuits, fresh fruit, waffle makers, bagels and muffins, etc. We took the Orange Line from the airport & switched over to the red line to get to the Marriott and it was a breeze, or a cab ride will cost you around $40. Close to the metro, tons of shopping, walking distance to everything etc. Rooms are a little small, but clean! Free wifi is a plus - just ask the front desk for the password. When we return to Chicago, we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay, while having the opprotunity to experience exquisit shopping and great restaurants. You did a great job navigating to the city using the Orange Line from Midway Airport and transfering to the Red Line. At $2.25 for a one-way train ride, you can't beat it the price! I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in the room size. The Fairfield Inn & Suites was built in 1999 and has rooms much larger than those built earlier in Chicago. Comparing a suburban Fairfield Inn to a city Fairfield Inn is like comparing apples to oranges. Also, the wi-fi is free without a password! Very user friendly. We hope to see you again in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked this room as our daughter goes to Children's Hospital and we are from out of state. We got a "hospital rate." Our room is a King Corner room. I it is soooooo small. No space for our suit case... bathroom counter is even smaller. Went down for breakfast and the room was so PACKED and SO HOT there was NO A/C!! It was gross!!! We went and paid for coffee ect someplace else.The location is good but not at all impressed with anything else. Went out all day and came back to shower..no maid service. I called the front desk, They have until 4:30 to get us clean towels ect. WOW! Never had this happen at any hotel. Have stayed at many other hotels in Chicago and this one I would NOT recommend!

Room Tip: NO restaurant or bar here. No sky deck just a room to sleep in. Look on line for better prices at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We truly wish you had a better experience with us and you weren't left feeling so disappointed upon your departure. However, we are glad to took advantage of our Lurie Children's Hospital discounted rate. I am sure you were pleased to learn that we are within walking distance to the hospital upon your arrival. Our king corner rooms that you stayed in are 275 sq. feet, which actually are decent size compared to other hotels in Chicago. Many hotels were built in the 1920's and have meniscal rooms but we were built in 1999. We also have rooms with 2 queen beds which are 300 sq. feet and suites that are 330 sq. feet. These might be better options for you to give you more space. The suite has 2 closets and plenty of space for a suitcase. If you stayed with us over a weekend, which it sounds like you did, our breakfast room does get crowded, especially past 9am. I am sorry it was hot in there. On a hot, humid, 90 degree summer day, with the large windows in the breakfast room, and an abudance of guests, the room can become warm. We also open up our meeting room for additonal seating, which may be another option for you to enjoy your breakfast. It also is slightly cooler in there. Regarding your housekeeping services, did you contact the front desk? I hope so, because we are always more than willing to do whatever it takes to give our guests the services they request. We truly hope you give the Fairfield Inn & Suites another chance. Please contact us directly when making a reservation so we can make your next stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

In my view, this is the best Fairfield Inn around! Awesome location. Friendly staff. EZ valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the review! Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Members of our family stayed in 12 rooms at the Fairfield over the course of our family reunion. We were all impressed with the friendliness and the professionalism of the entire staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you all had a wonderful time with family at your reunion. Please think of us for any future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.