We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Cyber Savings!
Ranked #69 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I am a frequent business traveler and probably use Hilton properties 50-60% of the time. We took two rooms at this hotel for two nights and it was the worst hotel experience I have had in 20 years or more. The hotel is very noisy and not in good condition but the real issue is poor service. They seemed completely overwhelmed by the number of guests. Long waits at the front desk and for the valet (parking was $49/night). We didn't use the complimentary breakfast either morning because of long lines just to get a table or hot food. When checking out we called for a bellman and were put on hold and eventually hung up on. We brought our bags to the lobby and asked for a bellman to store them. The front desk called for one but he never came. The concierge doesn't come on duty until 10 AM which seems a little rediculous for a hotel serving tourists who probably want to start their day a little earlier. When she finally made an appearance at 10:10 AM she was surly and didn't seem to know much about the city. We asked her about two tours we had found on Trip Advisor and she didn't know about either one of them. They were both excellent. One originated two blocks from the hotel and is the highest rated tour on trip advisor. If you're ever vacationing in Chicago I highly recommend Booby's Bike Hike and the Chicago Planet Food Tours. Just don't stay at the Embassy Suites. When I finally had enough and complained they offered me a complimentary night at the hotel. Are you kidding me? We couldn't get away from this place fast enough

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    588
    203
    79
    39
See reviews for
629
214
45
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Hop on/hop off trolley and double decker tour stopnext to hotel. Trolley to Navy Pier pick up next to hotel. Great free breakfast and cocktail hour.
Have to pay for internet service though.
Good restaurant.
Disappointingly small pool
Bell hops were slow and overworked, said they need more help but wouldn't get it

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

You couldn't ask for more in a hotel. The suites allowed us to have some privacy from the teenager. Microwave and refrigerator came in handy. Sink inside and outside the bathroom gave us space to get ready. Managers free reception (drinks and munchies) and free breakfast with "served to order" entrees fabulous. Friendly and affordable. Location was in the heart of town within walking distance (or public transportation) of major attractions. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel. The staff was incredible. Need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I thought the location would be great (downtownlakefront) therefroe I was willing to spend $369/night. However, I do not think it was worth it and would not go back. Many items needed repair including the wall of water in the lobby, both telephones in our room, alarm clock, bedroom door handle, etc. One big disappointment is that the hotel operates with a skeleton crew----with only minimal staff available. The general attitude was not friendly---just business with the exception of Doris the conceirege and the bellhops/valet who really hustle. Also internet charges are per day per laptop.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Typical Embassy Suites in appearance. What distinguishes this hotel is the excellent service at the front desk. The first room we had smelled moldy. Asked Justin at the front desk if we could switch and he could not have been accomodating. Moved us to another room immediately. By the way, nice breakfast. Location is great...off of Michigan by bout four blocks closer to the Lake but an easy walk to most downtown Chicago spots.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I recently traveled to Chicago on business (4 nights) - a friend and two children also traveled with me. The Embassy Suites Chicago Lakefront fit everyone’s needs, from the great location to many sightseeing attractions, to the pool, great free breakfast, big roomy suites, and wonderful friendly service.

It is a two-room suite set-up and that just what we needed. We requested early check-in since our train was arriving in the morning and even though the hotel was sold-out; we were able to get in our room before lunch. The maids were super friendly and let us trade out as many towels as we wanted on a daily basis since we declined other service. With four females, we went through a lot of towels. Ron in Engineering fixed our sofa bed and then gave us two free in-room movies for the slight inconvenience. Ken O. and Elena S. were simply delightful to work with! We’ll see you again soon.

I have traveled to Chicago numerous times and usually stay at the Omni, but the Embassy Suites Lakefront offers more value for the money. Yes, you have to pay for Internet, but we certainly re-cooped than money with the daily breakfasts, snacks, and drinks. If you want to avoid the lines for omelets, go early to breakfast, otherwise the other foods are available with virtually no wait. Attended the evening reception only once and there was no line.

There is just so much to see and do in Chicago, it could easily make a week-long family vacation destination. The hotel was walking distance to Navy Pier, Michigan Avenue, Hancock Building, Water Tower Mall, and the Hershey Store.

Also during the trip, had the opportunity to go to Shaw’s Crab House for the Sunday Brunch. All I can say to the seafood lover is “unbelievable”… I never knew king crab could taste so fresh!...and homemade lollipops too…. It’s almost worth flying from PA just to go there!

There were also filming Transformers 3 in the city so that added to the excitement.

We love Chicago and the Embassy Suites Lakefront and hope to return soon!

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My daughter, her boyfriend, a friend and I spent two nights at this hotel. It was beautiful and in a great location. The front desk clerk, Dinah, gave us a great room with an awesome view of the lake. The breakfast and manager's reception made it a great deal! We walked to Navy Pier and Millennium Park. An added bonus was the filming of Transformer's 3 right below us. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown/Lakefront hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown/Lakefront an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.