We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel, but beware lines for breakfast can be long” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary WiFi !
Ranked #60 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel, but beware lines for breakfast can be long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here a few months ago for spring break. Also surprised my kids by having my parents (who live in the western US) be in the adjacent room unannounced. That was a fun surprise. They arrived one day after we did and the hotel had some issues putting us together, even though I called ahead, but it got worked out and we were on the top floor.

Very nice views of the lake and downtown (though if the building they were building next to the hotel gets very high, goodbye southern view). Not a very big area to pull in to park and it took some effort to get cabs, but we managed. I think the valet employees could be better at helping patrons get cabs. At the nearby Sheraton it is no issue.

When one pulls in, one takes an elevator to the main check in area/lobby and then another elevator to the rooms. The chlorine from the pool is immediately apparent in the whole open lobby (even though the pool is behind closed doors) but such is life. The lobby is very large and has the tropical style layout of Embassy Suites. The lobby is over 10 floors high so it is a nice open area. The elevators also have outdoor views that are awesome; plus there are enough elevators that one doesn't wait very long.

The hotel has a nice gym and pool. However, with such a large hotel with lots of kids, the pool gets crowded (parenthetical note--parents don't bring sick kids to the pool even if they want to swim. One kid there threw up and got some of my kids sick plus other families). Gym wasn't too crowded.

The breakfast/reception area gets very crowded, esp 8-9 AM. Tons of families and not enough seating. Often, the food is cold by the time one sits down. However, it is very good food but they don't do a good job managing the crowds and serving food promptly. I also had issues with the laundry machines not working well but staff sorted that out.

All that being said, for some $130/night per room plus getting diamond HHonors points, the free meals, and the top floor it was great. Parking is pricey but is anywhere in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Top floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    465
    150
    65
    33
See reviews for
493
160
37
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Chicago last week at the Embassy. We want to mention Dwayne in the Bell Staff, who has been helpful at all times, greeting people coming in, friendly and polite. Also, at the front desk, Dinah, with extra explanations about the credit card, printer, etc. The people in this hotel made the difference to us. Barmaids, coffee shops attendants, cooks, they all make your stay a BIG PLUS!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Embassy Suites, Lakefront Chicago has perhaps the best hotel staff available. They make this excellent hotel wonderful. I can not praise them enough for the pride they obviously take in thier work. The hotel has terrific accommodations and the food and beverages are excellent. I would highly recommend you stay at Embassy Suites, Lakefront Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was just here for two nights for a conference and could not have asked for better. The room layout is fabulous, with a living room/ desk area separate from the bedroom completely -- my husband could still be a night owl. The staff was great and we appreciated the effort they made at breakfast. Take advantage of the manager's happy hour because the drink prices are steep! Go across the street to DOminic's and buy your own to bring to your room!

Room Tip: We were in 627 and it was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, very nice hotel, but the staff made the stay an exceptional one. I have always appreciated my stays at Embassy Suites. I look forward to returning to Chicago in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were there for 7 days. This hotel was very nice. Our maid, Patricia was excellent. The grocery store across the street, Dominics was very convenient to the hotel as the gift shop was very pricey !. The buffet was good, but after about the 4th day I was ready for some different breakfast choices. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a very busy hotel. Nice having a separate living area from the bedrooms. I enjoyed my visit very much .

Room Tip: Ask for lake view or view of your choice. Nice to watch the sunrise over the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall a great hotel. The staff was very friendly. The valet park guy got us a limo to the game we were attending in a matter of minutes. One of the BEST hotels I've stayed in. The complimentary drinks from 530 til 730 was phenomenal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Spa Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown/Lakefront hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown/Lakefront an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.