We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Spring Savings
Ranked #75 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Story City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is all about location- they are right off the miracle mile, and a mere 3 blocks to Navy Pier, both walks are quick, well travelled and safe. If, however, you are looking for any peace and quiet, this is not the hotel for you.
Cons:The hotel is filled with touring families, creating loads of chaos. The hotel sets up crowd barriers at breakfast to control the line to the buffet, and that was during a weekday. The hotel lobby desk is quite spartan, and was understaffed. It takes 3 different elevators (with walks between) to get from your car to your room. The room walls are thin, allowing even conversation speech to be heard from adjoining rooms.
Pros: Location, taxi stand runs through the base of the hotel, final set of elevators to the rooms are quite fast, staff is friendly

We ended up cutting the trip short due to an ill child, and checked out of the room late afternoon. The desk attendant was gracious and understanding, and we were not charged any fee for partial day.

Room Tip: Lakeside, 15th floor was quiet (no traffic noise at all).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    656
    227
    91
    42
See reviews for
705
246
47
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our second time staying here. Each time we stayed for three nights. This last time was part of celebrating our 46th anniversary. The staff at the front desk said he would see that a bottle of wine would come to our room. It never happened. A little disappointment, but for the room was nice and the breakfast was good. The bar staff was friendly and the well drinks were mixed free every evening.
.

Room Tip: There are no lake view room with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked a couple of nights, plus an additional one on a separate reservation, after a family reunion at Wisconsin Dells, to unwind and sightsee as a family. Got a really good deal on the first 2 nights through a Hilton.com Chicago area special. Read numerous reviews on here prior to travel. Overall, it was a good stay.

Check-in didn't take too long; the front desk can be busy at one minute, then totally clear shortly thereafter. Because I had two separate reservations, we had to move from the initial room to a second one, which was a little bigger and had a slightly better view. The rooms were large enough to accommodate two adults and two teenagers. Was on the 12th Fl at first and wasn't bothered by any noise from the lobby. Got the 16th Fl afterwards. As expected, there were lots of families and some business travelers; the hotel seemed full, but you could tell there were still a few empty rooms by the open windows...the hotel is open atrium-style, so you can see practically all the rooms, which have windows near the front entrances.

Location was perfect; just a couple of blocks from Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier (visited both) and lots of restaurants and other attractions. Water Tower mall was just a 15-min walk away. A grocery store is right across the street. Breakfast was really good, which a short-order cook preparing eggs and omelets, and a buffet station, all with eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, breads, fruits, etc., etc. Get there early (between 6:30 and 7) and no waiting, but a line forms quickly afterwards. Of course, if you don't need your eggs cooked to order, just go to the buffet station for quicker service. Plenty of seating in a very inviting and almost upscale atmosphere.

Some reviewers complained of noise from the lobby, but wasn't a problem on our floor. And since it's downtown Chicago, you will hear the usual siren of an ambulance or police vehicle, but nothing too annoying. There are PLENTY of room service workers, so your room is cleaned efficiently every day.

We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in a 17th floor room in July, 2013. We received excellent service from every staff member from the front desk, bar, breakfast room staff, housekeeping, to the front door staff. Not only did everyone greet us with a smile and kind words but they were truly helpful when we needed more towels and an emergency sewing kit. We were able to get into our room 2 hours early and they kindly stowed our luggage so we could enjoy the convenient walk to shopping, the lakefront and Milennium Park after checking out and before our flight home. The only reason for the Very good marking was the sofa bed was not very comfortable and I disliked the shuttered window to the hall as this made darkening the living room at bedtime a little challenging. Though overall I think the yummy breakfast and excellent service far outweighed this issue and I would happily return!!

Room Tip: While the 17th floor cost more it entitled us to free snacks and water bottles which in the end prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We made a reservation many months in advance and pre-paid on Hotels.com
The reservation stated that check-in was 3 pm.
We arrived at 4 pm and, and after waiting in a long, slow check-in line, wewere told that the room would not be available until after 5:30 pm because many rooms were being utilized by law firms that were conducting interviews with potential job applicants.
I have never heard of something so ridiculous. They clerk offered us free valet parking for our inconvenience - big deal.
A big disappointment, won't be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest -

First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I truly apologize that you had to wait a long time to check-in. I can assure you that it is very rare for us to have such delayed check-ins, however; I can very much empathize with your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences during your stay and I hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to the area

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights (Sunday/Monday). We loved it. The location is fabulous. We walked approximately 2 miles along Lake Michigan to the museum campus, two miles to Lincoln Park zoo, and a few blocks to Navy Pier or the Magnificent Mile.
The staff was super friendly in all our encounters. Breakfast is from 6:30-9:30 each morning. You can do cooked to order or a buffet. There is a nightly reception with drinks and snack food.

Based on other reviews, I requested a room on a higher floor and around a corner (not on the main strip of the atrium), as we have two toddlers. I didn't hear any noise at all, and I know the hotel was fully booked during our stay. The room was spacious with a nice view and had a small fridge and a microwave.

You will wait in line for the cooked to order breakfast, but the buffet goes quickly. If you go early, you won't wait as long. It is to be expected at a cook to order station. There is any type of food and drink you could want for breakfast. We were full well past lunch.

You will wait in line for a free drink at the manager's reception unless you get there right at 5-ish when it starts. Once again, to be expected when you are getting free beverages. The snacks were yummy and plentiful.

We parked in the self parking since it was much cheaper with no problems. We actually stayed an extra night and got to keep our room. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room around a corner and up higher....less noise from the atrium. Arrive at breakfast or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First time to Chicago and this hotel was recommended. It was very comfortable and easy to valet park and check in. room was ready early. everything was clean; there were enough sockets to charge all our technology; free drink session from 530-730 was good; free breakfast was good. great location--- right in the middle of the Mag Mile, Navy Pier, and a short distance to Millenium Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown/Lakefront hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown/Lakefront an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown Lakefront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.