We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Chicago

Spirit of Chicago
600 E. Grand Avenue, Navy Pier, Chicago, IL 60611
+1 866-273-2469
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$25*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spirit of Chicago delivers the most entertaining and unique combination of dining, dancing, entertainment and spectacular views. Groups up to 600 will enjoy buffet dining, an interactive cruise emcee, dance music and incredible skyline views – all for one affordable price. The Spirit of Chicago offers a unique space for any event or celebration. Perfect for client entertaining, group parties, networking events, socials & more! Private space and customized cruises available. Cruising year-round from Navy Pier.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SIMPLY AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Great cruise for the little money it cost.

Gina Carlson was our hostess and she made our experience a great one. Because of her we would repeat this cruise in a heartbeat!

I highly recommend this as an activity in Chicago!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    37
    12
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My four siblings and I had a delightful lunch cruise on the Spirit of Chicago on beautiful Lake Michigan on Wednesday, July 18th, 2012. The food was plentiful and delicious, the desserts were great, and the service by waiter Tony Solis was most attentive. I highly recommend this cruise for a great day out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg
1 review
“Very enjoyable Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My company had their summer outing on the Spirit of Chicago. The food was wonderful, the entertainment was terrific and our waiter in particular was outstanding! After eating we went up on the observation deck and watched the lake front go by.

All in all it was a delightful afternoon and I would do it again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A fun evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Great buffet dinner, especially the desserts. They try to keep you entertained with giveaways and music, dancing until the big finally of fireworks over the Lake at Navy Pier. Thought it was well worth the cost with the fireworks thrown in. Otherwise, I'd probaby not waste the time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glad I didn't go with my gut!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

In as much as I wanted to go on this cruise I have to tell you that my first impression was NOT to do it. Please read this review completely before making your decision. I had first noticed that although the dinner cruise price was almost double of the lunch cruise it was in fact the "same" menu. Of course I started an on-line chat with someone whom I thought would be knowledgable enough to tell me what the difference of the upcharge was. I am the Office Administrator of the same type venue in my hometown and was interested in the explanation. The only one I received was that it had more ambiance and because it was dark it would take more to run the boat with lighting and all. HONEST...I printed the chat! My response to her was "so in other words you are telling me that I am paying twice the amount for ambiance and your electric bill?" And her response was "that is correct". This is not a joke! I of course continued to ask questions to which she could not answer and told me that she does not have that information on-line. My gut told me "run away". But I didn't. Called and spoke to a "live" person and although there wasn't too much she could tell me to justify the upcharge I felt a little more at ease and decided to go ahead and see for my self. Let me tell you...IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! I wound up not even eating my dinner because I had a bit of a stomach issue but I did taste a bit of what my husband had and loved it. The wait staff was spot on and so genuinely kind and attentive. It is not a Broadway musical but the crew entertains in a having fun with it kind of way. The boat is beautiful and the skyline breathtaking! Our personal waiter Adam was absolutely the BEST! He had fun with us and was there for whatever we (I) needed. I "highly" recommend this venue to anyone wanting to experience the skyline by water or just as a relaxing/romantic evening. Will definately visit the Spirit again the next time around. Thank you for absolutely changing my mind!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.