We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but compact” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Chicago - City Center to your Saves list
W Chicago - City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #72 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Modern but compact”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a nice stay at the W this past weekend for a wedding held across the street at the Marriott. Clean accommodations and a comfortable king size bed. The room though is very compact the furnishings are very modern. Our only complaint was that the door to the bathroom was more like a closet sliding door, thus no privacy.

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    471
    206
    118
    83
See reviews for
128
480
132
623
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I would first like to say I LOVE W City Center Chicago. I felt like royalty the way the staff took care of my boyfriend & I. TK & Jessica were two employees who truly made my stay enjoyable they went above & beyond .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The W Chicago City Center has all of the trappings and corporate family culture of any W Hotel anywhere - the dark elevator with a throbbing backbeat, the cutesy toy car in the room, etc. However, this stay in this W was characterized by the absolute smallest room conceivable. Had I been staying in the room with another person, there wouldn't be air to breath. The bathroom is so small that you need to look around for a surface to put down a razor. Forget about a place to put down the shaving cream. To turn on the faucet in the sink, you need to move the glass off the sink in order to make room - and then, where do you put it? The top of the toilet is occupied by the tissue box. I drank one of those tiny bottles of Scotch in the minibar (silly me) and the W charged me $31.00 for the privilege (they later scaled that down by $20 when I wrote them an email). All in all, this was a pretty unimpressive stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went to Chicago for a weekend getaway and was looking for a hotel central to touristy areas. The W is located right downtown and I was able to walk to the Willis Tower, the Art Institute of Chicago and Millenium Park. There is also easy access to taxis and the train. The W offers an Acura transportation service, but I wasn't able to try it out. I'd recommend making a reservation as early as possible.

The concierge and front desk were polite and helpful. The room was fairly standard, but the bed stood out as exceptionally comfortable.

I'd recommend the W to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

One must feel a little embarrassed for the W Chicago - City Center, since it must sit in the shadow of the JW Marriott across the street. When it comes to excellence, I suggest the sophisticated traveller stay on that side of the street, across from the W. The lobby of the W is small, crowded with furnishings and dark. It's not apparent where the hotel staff are, or whether there are even any staff at all, since they are hidden in the back of the lobby. The room furniture is sparse and styled like it was bought from IKEA. Nothing wrong with IKEA, if you're at a Comfort Inn. I didn't even have a dresser in my room. I guess, in the hope of being hip, the W forgot that some travellers carry a change of clothes with them. Oh well, it's a place to sleep and it seemed clean enough, so I give it a three rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed as Starwood Owner guests at the W Chicago City Center through my Aunt and Uncle's Starwood Owner Points. Concierge, Dillon Elkin communicated with my aunt and uncle weeks before our stay to ensure we would be taken care of, as well as provided us with a complimentry *Free Room Upgrade to a Fantastic Room* When we arrived at the W Chicago City Center, the staff was so accommodating, friendly, and approachable. We were able to get an early check in, which was so helpful. When we arrived to our upgraded Fabulous room, it was so incredible; the king size bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was exceptionally clean and bright, and was decorated very peacefully and luxurious.

Our trip to Chicago and our stay at the W Chicago City Center ended up being the best weekend of my life because me and my boyfriend got engaged!! He popped the question on Saturday night by The Bean in Millennium Park. When we arrived back at the W hotel we shared the news with the staff, they were so happy for us!! The concierge continued to be very approachable making sure we were enjoying our stay and reminded us to let him know if we needed anything. My now Fiance and I will always remember this very special weekend and our wonderful stay at the W Chicago City Center.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and peaceful. I would highly recommend a Fantastic room. Well worth the up grade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff was vey accommodating and made my first time to Chicago memorable. My room was upgraded and the staff was able to organize a very special dinner including tge use of a Lexus for my last night in the city. I would stay at the W the next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to that toddlin' town. Set in the middle of the famed Chicago Loop, W Chicago - City Center is close to the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, Millennium Park, and the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.