We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Save Saved
You added W Chicago - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #61 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Atlanta
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Entire staff was great, friendly and helpful. Especially enjoyed Josh at the bar! Very knowledgeable and gifted mixologist! Knew his stuff and had some incredible creations. Very refreshing for a hotel bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    418
    170
    108
    77
See reviews for
111
432
124
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is nice, modern, some rooms are smaller....modern decor. The train is loud in some of the rooms. The location is not that close to shops, etc on Michigan Ave. You either have to like to walk or take a cab. The Concierge Service and Front Desk service is great though. The Concierge, Dillon, set us up at a great local restaurant, Nia. Food was great and LOTS of it! If you don't mind being slightly out of the way, and want great service, this is a good choice. Also, the bed was very, very comfortable. Slept great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I just would like to say wooooow the guys from whatever whenever are awesome, they can really make your stay great!!! I was staying there with my baby boy and got lots of help from them, The service is otstanding !!! In special Juan , Efren, And the guy from Ecuador ( sorry I forgot your name) and Alicia from cleaning all of them are great!!! Definitely would stay again at the hotel, the location is very good and the room very nice modern , and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the W City Center 4 days and my daughter's wedding reception was held there.
All I can say is PERFECT from start to finish! Everyone we encountered went above and beyond to make us feel special and helped to make this such a wonderful experience. I would especially like to mention Shannon Braniff catering manager who made the event perfect and was always helpful and receptive. Daryl the doorman who helped us "move in" with a large amount of things to carry in. Josh and Tricia who work at the Living Room Bar for their hospitality to our family and friends. And Eden Bernal at the conceirge desk who went out of her way to help us. Aside from being thrilled with the wedding, our room was terrific. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: WOW suite was perfectly named!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had booked a non-smoking room with a king size bed. The room was drenched with cigarette smoke. After a 30 minute wait for the "Ambassador" to bring us to a new room, we had to leave to fight the nausea. The new room on a lower floor only had a queen size bed. Everyday the keys were invalid and a big deal was made issuing new keys.

A lamp in the bathroom was broken. We waited 2 days for someone to replace the light bulb. Eventually we met the engineer in the service elevator and he returned within a few minutes to fix the problem. Cleaning personnel was very friendly. Courtesy New York Times and Wall Street Journal are available in the lobby in the morning.

I cancelled my next reservation in a W hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your most recent escape with us. I wanted to apologize for the issues you mentioned as this is not the norm here at W. We are a completely non-smoking hotel and if a guest does smoke, there is a fine of 200$. I am sorry for the defects you mentioned and the delay in getting them resolved. Please contact me directly at brian.herro@whotels.com, as I would like to look into this matter more. We do hope to welcome you back in the future and hope that you give us another try to provide the wow experience we are know for.

Best,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed 5 days for a conference in the Windy City.
To a person, the W staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Kudos to the hotel on training its staff well - from a simple smile and hello and a "how can I help you" attitude across the board, to willingness to accommodate requests, and share local knowledge.
The hotel's style is modern and fun, and there are lots of little extra touches that other hotels in a similar price range don't seem to consider.
The bed was one of THE most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel. The room wasn't huge, but perfectly adequate and kept exceptionally clean.
The Conference had booked a range of hotels but I booked late and so many were sold out - I have no idea why the W wasn't, but I'm grateful and would gladly stay here again.
Location would be the only issue to consider - it all depends on your purpose for visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location in the Loop, easily accessible by car or public transport. Close by many good restaurants and attractions, including the Art Musuem right down the street.

Rooms were clean and relatively modern, albiet with small bathrooms at least for my inside-facing room. Lobby trendy, but very dark and claustrophobic. Was very hard to negotiate through the crowds to the elevators at night without getting a drink spilled on me.

Staff responsive and trained, with the aid of modern technology, to respond to you by name. Only quibble was the doorman's over-use of a shrill whistle to call down taxis, which is annoying at street level and could be heard at night from my fifth-floor room.

All-in-all, it was a cool and trendy hotel but I probably wasn't cool enought for it at my ripe old age.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to that toddlin' town. Set in the middle of the famed Chicago Loop, W Chicago - City Center is close to the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, Millennium Park, and the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.