We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the Loop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters, Central Loop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters, Central Loop to your Saves list
Club Quarters, Central Loop
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
“Good value in the Loop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Quick review: comfortable room in the financial district, a short walk to the lakeshore and Art Institute. Lots of theater, restaurants, etc. in the area.

I was in town for a conference again, and this place had the best rate of the nearby hotels.

Room #342 has a comfy king bed, good-size work desk, club chair, good closet and drawer space. While some rooms in this hotel are smaller, this one felt pretty spacious. There are many of amenities of a good business class hotel (coffee/tea maker; free wifi; nice toiletries) but a few I miss (no in-room safe.) The A/C, lighting, etc. works well. The view is of the alley, but I'm fine with that for a quiet room.

I love the fact that the duvet on the bed was not too warm (some hotels stock this item as if you were sleeping in the Alps with the window open in winter.) Even better: there was also a separate top sheet if you only wanted a little cover.

The bathroom has a large walk-in shower (no tub) and small-ish size, but good light and good towels make up for a lot.

Excellent housekeeping throughout.

This was a very quiet room, even with a laundry room open to guests right across the hall. Even when someone was doing laundry, it was quiet.

Iron and ironing board are available on request. Some nice touches in the room include a few books, a dictionary, etc.

There are a number of restaurants across all price ranges in easy walking distance. However, the on-site Elephant & Castle restaurant and pub has a good burger and other more traditional pub options. Comfortable bar area. Starbuck's on the corner. It will be a quick cab ride to the North Michigan Avenue shopping district, or a pleasant 15-20 minute walk on a nice day.

It's about a 15 walk to the Amtrak Union station. Subway stops are a couple of minutes' walk.

What I would improve: the desk staff are friendly, but not very proactive in pointing out the amenities of the hotel. Yes, I've been here before, but it would have been nice to have been reminded about the complimentary coffee and fruits in the guest lounge downstairs; the complimentary newspapers. This is the kind of hotel that increasingly expects guests to "do-it-yourself" with kiosks for self-check-in. They will gladly help you, which I appreciate when I have my hands full of luggage, a tote bad, and handbag, but the staff in reception seem most focused on answering phones.

So: I'd stay here again, but have to remind myself about any of the amenities I had to re-discover on my own.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    483
    141
    55
    30
See reviews for
80
313
143
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

While the rooms are small (I actually feel more comfortable referring to them as cubicles), they are very comfortable at this location. The housekeeping staff is above par. Bathrooms are very clean. Bedding is comfortable. The front desk staff is incredible. Andi, Karina, Tamika, Erin, Cindy, Mike, and Deanne are those names that come to mind when it came to great service. The bell service is great, especially when Faris is working. He is dedicated to making sure every guest in every room has any and everything they request. On weekends it gets a little crowded. The internet slows down during post-business hours and on the weekends to an incredibly slow snail's pace. Club living room was very functional and the fitness room is kept clean. I would stay there again for an extended stay based on best bank for my buck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend and it was great. We were greeted by Karin, she was very pleasant and got us in a room right away! Fast service, great location, bottled water on every floor, couldn't ask for more. We'll be back in July!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was in Chicago for two weeks of training and this was a suggested hotel. Very convenient to the financial district.personnel is very accommodating. The rooms are on the smaller side for hotel rooms but they have everything you need.

Very clean, bottles of filtered water on every floor, free coffee in the downstairs lounge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came to Club Quarters at late notice and based on the reviews. We really liked it. This is a no-fuss hotel. The lobby is small and the staff work to get you checked in or out and on your way. There is a seating area adjacent to the lobby and a British-style pub but almost everything else is given over to proving rooms. We found our room to be comfortable and clean. No great view but . . . we didn't expect to see Chicago from a window. Staff were great, internet free, effortless and fast and other amenities also free - laundry, extra water. The hotel is a mere 10 to 15 mins walk from Michigan Ave and the Chicago Art Institue, or shopping down State Street (3 short blocks). Lots of good restaurants nearby. I will stay here again if I return to Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South have no view but it's just a quiet service alley so no disturbance either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is good as you can check in and out using a computer. The location of the hotel is alright, close to Millennium Park but I think I'd go the other side of the river next time. We stayed on the 4th floor so could hear quite a bit of commuter noise outside. The room size is tiny, but as we don't spend too much time in the room this didn't bother us too much. There was also free WiFi so that was useful and the bed was comfy.

What did bother me was that the sound proofing was awful, we could hear the lifts beep every time they were called, conversations word for word by the people using the lift and the most annoying (not the hotel's fault) was a drunken party screaming at 2.15 am trying to remember if there room number was 426 or 428 and then them stumbling around for the next 10 minutes screaming out "what's the room number?" before they finally located it (I assume) and shut up.

Room Tip: Away from lifts and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very good place to stay in central Chicago. The check in was on the 'efficient-welcome' side but the rooms were clean, functional with good quality bedding, towels and toiletries. The 'club room' is cosy with a range of periodicals and books, I haven't dined at the hotel. The location is only a couple of blocks away from all the shopping on State street, plenty of inexpensive food places right on the doorstep, two Metra stations and all the wonders of the Chicago Art Institute and the Magnificent mile. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: I think my room was at the back - not a great view but a quiet night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters, Central Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters, Central Loop

Address: 111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters, Central Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Chicago - Central Loop provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in the center of the Central Loop Chicago's downtown district near LaSalle. It is a convenient walk to the Symphony Center, the Art Institute, The Board of Trade, the Sears Tower and Grant Park. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast, easy self check-in and check-out • Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water• 7 meeting and event rooms available maximum reception style 200 people• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available• Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Quarters, Central Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago - Central Loop Hotel Chicago
Hotel Quarters Chicago Central Loop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters, Central Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.