We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Leicester
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Smart choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Conrad Chicago with friends for 3 nights. Location is good only a couple of minutes from the nearest subway and a short walk to restaurants, bars and other attractions.

Hotel itself is a typical high end Hilton with grandeur. Rooms were spacious and well set out. Beds were not as big as expected though, definitely not standard doubles, a bit of a squeeze if sharing. Also no kettle in the room seemed strange considering there were dressing gowns, slippers and an iron. Air con was effective and quiet. Free wifi worked well, along with iPod dock and Bose sound system for the TV.
Staff were friendly, greeting guests as they passed through the hotel. Didn't use the bar or restaurant, nor the leisure facilities.

A couple of negatives, the wifi didn't work on our phones at first, reception couldn't help so they put us through to a support desk for which we had to pay for the phone call. Thought this was harsh as it was due to a facility of the hotel not working that we had to make the call. Also when checking out and asking to pay the bill in cash, was told it had been settled on the credit card I gave on check in. Was told this was only for incidentals so this shouldn't have happened without my authorisation.

However still recommended, especially if you can get a decent room rate.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Conrad Chicago. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We also would like to apologize for the charge you incurred while trying to connect to your internet and speaking to our technicians. Please call our hotel and we will be happy to make this right. Procedures will also be discussed with our front desk staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    540
    120
    35
    12
See reviews for
354
857
193
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms are not too big, it seemed to be clean and comfortable. It was a regular room,with no view really for over $200. The staff was pleasant and really polite. The rooftop bar wasn't bad, it is small for such a crowded place, but it was really nice and good drinks. The hotel itself was clean. The biggest plus of this hotel- Great Location!! It is near the mag mile and shopping malls and good restaurants. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Conrad Chicago! We are so glad to hear you were able to enjoy our rooftop terrace along with our fabulous location. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Check in is supposed to be at 3 p.m. We got there at 4 and our room was not ready. In fact we could not get in room until 5:20. This was very inconvenient for us as we had a dinner to get to and had very little time to get ready.. They gave us a free drink voucher and free breakfast. We would much rather been able to get in the room. After getting back to the hotel at night, we were going to have a nightcap. Thought it was very unusual that the bar was out of a common beer, Miller Lite. This may not seem like a big thing but a huge hotel like this should have the basics always on hand. We got to breakfast the next morning, and had to wait to get in the Terrace as well. When we stay at an expensive hotel, I expect to be able to get in the room on time and this was disappointing to us. There are a lot of great hotels in Chicago and next time we will pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not able to get into your room by check in time. Our departments work quickly and efficiently to try and get everyone into their rooms when they arrive. Unfortunately sometimes this does not happen. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your drinks and breakfast but will follow up with the team to make sure items are properly staffed. We hope you will stay again and give us another chance on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had anticipated an exceptional stay during a recent business meeting, however I was very disappointed. The staff were not friendly or helpful when I had questions. I felt I was inconveniencing the staff when I would ask questions. My room was worn and in need of refurbishing. Room service food was not good

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that your stay with the Conrad Chicago did not meet your expectations. There is no excuse for the staff not being friendly or helpful. We will make sure that this is followed up on in all departments. We hope to welcome you back to the Conrad in the future to allow us to show you the true Conrad service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Comfortable hotel in a great location for shopping and food. We walked almost everywhere during our time here. There is also a water taxi stop close by if you get tired of walking. The staff are friendly and helpful. And the rooms are comfortable and clean.

If you are after a view, this is not the hotel for you because it's located between other buildings – we didn't have a view (only of another building) from our room but that didn't bother us.

There's no tea-making facilities in the room but you can ask for a coffee/tea making machine for the room – very useful. They also provide bottled water every day which is a nice touch. We didn't have time to eat or drink at the hotel but the outdoor terrace looks nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Being a smaller building in a large city views are limited but we are happy to hear that you found our amenities and staff to be above average. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This Conrad follows the better Conrad’s in the USA like Conrad Miami for service to guest and Diamond HHonors members. At check-in I was greeted as Diamond Member and directly upgraded to a suite with a view at Michigan Avenue. The suite was big and had a private balcony. This is the way it should be, Conrad’s like NewYork are forgetting this service!
As Diamond members we get vouchers for the breakfast buffet and this was nice. Fresh products and good coffee. The location is great, it’s in the middle of Chicago and great for a citytrip or shopping weekend. There are a lot of upscale leisure guests and business-people.
We had a great stay at this Conrad hotel and this General Manager understand how to give that extra VIP service to loyal guest or Diamond Members.
The fitness room is very up to date with nice machines and cold water.
You can see that they invest a lot in training skills for their employees.
Parking is still expensive, but this is general for Chicago.
With greetings HiltonHotelFans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our service here at the Conrad Chicago and are very happy to see that this was above and beyond for your trip. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Great rooms. Clean and comfortable. Facilities were excellent. Coctails were lovely. Very relaxed vibe. Definitely add this to my return to list. Location great. Really couldn't have asked for more during our 2 night stay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are excited to be on your return list and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.