We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Purchase, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Conrad Chicago lies between the legacy Chicago Hilton and the Hilton flagship Waldorf Astoria in both price and location, and in some respects is preferable to both. If you arrive by car, choose the self-park option in a lot directly opposite the entrance on Rush Street, and at 45 dollars a day you will save 16 dollars over the valet option with little loss of convenience. Proceed to reception on the fifth floor for check-in.

Our spacious executive room on the 11th floor was well thought out. It seemed designed for one high level business traveler – there was only one lounge chair, but two robes were provided for us. The desk is large enough to spread out, even though it is supplied with a Keurig coffee maker. The leather chair was attractive, but a bit worn, with too much lean. The mechanism may have been shot. In sum, décor is clean and contemporary – no chintz no quirkiness, except for the chair, everything feels solid and well-constructed.

The refrigerator comes empty and thus available for your own beverages and comestibles. The hotel will stock it as a minibar on request. Water bottles are free and the hotel is not stingy with them. The large LG flatscreen is augmented by a Bose 2.1 sound system – try not to disturb the other guests. The remote is overly complex and the channel selection is a bit limited. Internet is free but very slow, I used my cell as a mobile hotspot. Our large bathroom had both a soaking tub and a shower. I might have traded the tub for a larger shower – the head was a bit low for this six footer, taller folks might have to bend a bit, Amenities from Balance were generously replaced.

Sleep quality was good. The hotel supplied four good pillows and there was a pillow menu on offer,

Drinks are available in the lobby bar and the Terrace Rooftop bar. We tried both. A blood orange vodka/pomegranate cocktail was well made and a glass of Riesling was solid. A Bloody Mary was nicely presented but lacked any discernible spice or horseradish.

Breakfast was better than I expected. There was no buffet so proper care was given to the cooked items. Poached eggs were perfect and their accompanying breakfast sausages were large, plump and juicy. An omelet of chorizo and cheddar was nicely rolled and well seasoned. You can chose pastries in lieu of toast, so we plumped for a brioche sucree and a hazelnut donut. The red bliss potatoes were thinly sliced and nicely cooked.You won't miss the usual mediocre hotel buffet.

The hotel connects directly to the North Bridge shops – small luxury level mall with a fine Nordstrom. If you’ve ever wanted to live in Nordstrom this is your chance. Visit Merchant & Rhoades for a haircut, shave or gentleman's toiletries,

Joe’s Seafood/Steak across the street will satisfy steak and seafood lovers. Eataly, around the corner will satisfy foodies. You can provision your mini-fridge, snack on focaccia, or have a full sit down meal. There are many other restaurants nearby.

At this price point the closest competition for an Honors member may be the Doubletree Wit a few blocks to the South in the Loop. The Wit is funkier and more interesting, but the Conrad experience is more refined and comfortable. If you’re not a clubgoer, you will probably prefer the Conrad. The hotel lacks the history of the nearby Intercontinental, but makes up for it with creature comforts and inclusions. No nickel and diming chez Conrad,

Pros: Understated luxury-think an Audi A8 not a Rolls Royce. Location.
Cons: No pool. Somewhat impersonal.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Our eleven series room had a cool view up Michigan Avenue with the Allerton Hotel's "Tip To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Conrad Chicago. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I cannot agree more with you about the delicious breakfast. Some of my favorite options include the Creme Brulee French Toast and the Chorizo Breakfast quesadilla. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    541
    120
    35
    12
See reviews for
355
857
193
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Conrad is a Hilton for those of use who collect or use points. It is centrally located and very convenient for catching the metro or just walking. The service was excellent. It is connected to a mall for easy shopping. Nearby (within 5 mins) is a Pizza Uno for true Chicago deep dish pizza, the Eataly which is an awesome foodie experience, the Yolk which is great for brunch, the the Sable for lunch or dinner. See my writeups on these.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback of the Conrad. I could not agree with you more on the wonderful location that we have. Eataly is fantastic and we are glad you were able to enjoy that. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were thrilled with our stay at the Conrad Chicago, especially with the location adjacent to the Nordstrom Mall! The staff was amazing and the room impeccable. One evening it was raining, and we were so grateful to borrow "Mary Poppins" umbrellas to get to the restaurant. I can't wait until the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. You can never trust Chicago weather so it is always nice to have an umbrella handy any time it is needed. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First time at the property and was very satisfied. Nice open modern lobby area with plenty of comfortable chairs and spaces to meet and talk. Attached to the North Bridge mall which provides easy access to shopping (especially Nordstroms) and restaurants as well as Michigan Ave. Room was good size,especially the bathroom, and staff was friendly and helpful. My only ding is that some of the furniture looked like it had seen better days, especially my side table where the veneer was broken in the corner and coming off. A minor complaint however and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the room furniture. We are constantly monitoring all room conditions and we hope you will be back to see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night for my birthday. The Conrad is a very nice hotel with large and comfortable rooms. The location is great because it is attached to the Nordstrom mall and Michigan Avenue. We upgraded to a larger room. I was pleased with the room, but was disappointed by the view. I had previously stayed in the JW Marriott Hotel which is probably in the same class hotel. I did prefer the JW Marriott (though location is very different as it is in the loop) because it felt more luxurious. I was disappointed the Conrad had no pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor response. I apologize that the view was not as you expected. We hope to see you in the future to possibly enjoy one of our City View room categories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I'm a fan of this hotel having stayed here 3 or 4 times now. There is much to be said about the place, great location, good facility, quiet (important in a city like Chicago), good restaurant (though pricey).

My most recent stay had multiple parties taking two rooms. Everything went well. I only have two short commentator management regarding housekeeping (which was otherwise great). One of our bathrooms had a couple of mold spots above the shower. In the other bed room we had to look at a greasy body print on the window for two days. None of these items replicated itself in the other room, nor were they anything I had experienced before. I would not let that change my opinion about staying here, it's a great place. These are my only reasons for not giving it a top score

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your response. I deeply apologize for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay with us. We take pride in our cleanliness at the Conrad Chicago and this will be addressed. We hope to welcome you back again in the future and prove to you the true Conrad luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel has a great location, great staff, a good healthy breakfast option for meal vouchers, and treats the guests typically well, but I had too many items disappointment on this visit. First, my initial room smelled like smoke. The front desk quickly brought up a new key, but that should not happen in an upgraded room. Second, I realized about 4am that someone had left the window open in my new room. How did I notice - the loud honking outside that seemed to fill up the room. Where is the cleaning staff in either room? Third, I asked for shaving cream - 45 minutes later I had to leave for my meetings and no shaving cream. Nothing like a soap shave to start the day. Finally, the TV is a pain to turn on and off and there's no sleep time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your response and I am disappointed that your stay was not satisfactory. We understand how frustrating it can be to have a room that smells like it has been utilized for smoking. We are 100% non smoking hotel and we report each instance when someone has smoked in the room. There is no excuse for a late delivery of an item to your room and we would like to look into this issue.

We remain concerned with the overall impression of the Conrad Chicago. Please email myself Anneliese.Weyand@conradhotels.com or our Director Laly.Furrer@conradhotels.com and we would like to investigate these issues if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.