We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel in a Jewel of a City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Save Saved
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunday Special Savings
Ranked #14 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Miami, United States
1 review
“A Gem of a Hotel in a Jewel of a City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Conrad is my favorite hotel in my favorite city, Chicago. It is boutique in its quaintness; but world class in its prestige and service. I return time and time again without hesitation and with a sense of being at home, and among not only familiar surroundings, but a very predictable, trustworthy environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,564
    501
    102
    31
    11
See reviews for
325
822
186
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Conrad in Chicago.

The housekeeping and concierge staff were excellent. A few small items that were annoyances but were not a make or break:

1. The valet service caused minor damage to my car. Not the hotels fault directly given it is outsourced but an annoyance none the less. Handled well by the hotel and valet service.

2. The restaurant breakfast was limited and I was not overly impressed with the meal quality.

Other than that a normal hotel stay that met most of my requirements.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had a one night stay in this lovely hotel which is close to most of Chicago's main sights. It has large comfy rooms, lovely toiletries and a good bar and restaurant. It is linked to the Nordstrom shopping arcade - perfect for a rain free shopping escape at this time of year. I appreciated the free pillow menu, particularly the cold and flu option which helped to ease my symptoms overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed in nice hotels but always thought however nice they are that it would be fun to try somewhere different when returning to a place. Well when I return to Chicago I will be staying at. The Conrad! Everything about this hotel is wonderful, the location, the new lobby/bar, the comfy rooms and the biggest asset this place has is the staff. Everyone who works here seems happy to be doing so. There is a friendly smile, a word, a chat, a wave from each member of staff you pass. I would like to mention a few in particular. Cheng, on reception, who calmed me after a jet-lagged first night where I couldn't sleep as a hum from a neighbouring rooftop air con unit was keeping me awake (my partner slept fine!). He had our room changed to the 15th floor (blissful quiet) and gave me two breakfast vouchers which we used near the end of our week - the gorgeous Craig served us a lovely meal. Brandon was a delightful young man in the bar area - so friendly, as were Tom and Adrian and Luis was a superb guy too - so cheerful and pleasant. This made so much difference between a good hotel and a superb hotel. The other things that made a difference were the complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the mornings, the hot chocolate in the afternoon and we were lucky enough to have the odd free glass of wine at 6.30 in the bar as 'wine down' time. Small in cost to a hotel but makes a big difference to the comfort and pleasure of guests. This hotel is very well run - you can tell that the management is not breathing down the necks of its employees but trusts them to do a wonderful job and they are happy in their work as a result. Thank you for a great stay to celebrate Julian's 50th. We will return to Chicago and The Conrad.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better maybe as further from outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed two nights prior to beginning a first time vacation to China. The Conrad is a great choice for it's Chicago location and very pleasant room with a lovely bathroom. It was a quiet night's rest with no other guest room noise and a quiet late morning wake up with no banging door noise. We left the room reasonably before noon, walked to everything we needed to see and do and returned mid afternoon to freshen up before dinner - the room was already made up without having to make any request call to housekeeping. The front desk was friendly and the hotel very well appointed. We had no complaints whatsoever. This a good hotel.

Room Tip: We had no view from our very quiet room but would have enjoyed one. You should ask and next time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marssl
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was extremely nice. Was upgraded to a corner room, which had great views of the Chicago skyline and a huge bathroom. Furnishings were top quality. Staff was excellent, even offering complimentary umbrellas in the rain. Location is right on Michigan Ave. The property also connects to a small shopping mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel was simply wonderful. It was centrally located, close to EVERYTHING you could want to see. Didn't need a taxi at all really (unless going to the aquarium or museums in that area). This hotel was clean and simply classy. It had every ammenity you could need in Chicago. It was connected to the mall, without being loud at all.

The customer services was superb at this hotel. They really know how to treat their guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Chicago.

Great Hotel without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.