We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Save Saved
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunday Special Savings
Ranked #15 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We could walk to everything. Our first vacation to Chicago. We ended up here with a last minute Hotwire pick and it was a great choice. My only complaint was that the hotel would not accept my Hilton Honors membership for all of the additional spending, so I made sure not to spend any additional money at the hotel. Their loss. I need to see if this is a Conrad policy or all of Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,563
    501
    102
    31
    11
See reviews for
324
822
186
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is a very nice, however, i felt that it was overpriced. I attended a conference and although the wait staff during our conference was amazing during the check in process our keys did not work which ended up in 2 trips to the lobby. 2 trips that could of been avoided by doing the job right the first time. In addition, the hotel was supposed to have the conference rate and it didn't, instead of fixing it right away i had to get wait for our contact person at the conference to give the ok to provide me with the discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved this hotel. I had a great room with a fantastic view of the city. And, anytime I can walk through to Nordstrom without even going outside is a big plus for me. :) The terrace was a great place for drinks. Very close to pretty much everything you need in Chi-town. Great value for the location as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel, particularly our proximity to The Shops at Northbridge and our Terrace Rooftop. We hope that you will return soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at the Conrad Chicago for a conference. As a Hilton Diamondmember, I was upgraded to a corner suite with a huge living and dining area (oval dining table with 6 chairs), separate king bedroom, and huge bathroom. Bed was comfortably fantastic! Only complaint was that during happy hour, I went to the bar in the restaurant at slightly before 7pm when the complimentary happy hour ended, and was told brusquely by the restaurant that "it's over!" Never had that experience before and I travel about 100 nights a year, most of which involve happy hour! Otherwise, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your upgraded suite. Thank you too for letting us know about your experience in the bar during our Wine Down Reception. There is no excuse for this type of response and we will address it with the team member. Again, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Shortly after our family arrived, our door key stopped working. Because of the delay in getting it fixed and for the inconvenience they upgraded us to a wonderful suite. I am a diamond member and this really made me feel like my stay was important to them. Great service and wonderful location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Conrad Chicago experience on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel despite the initial key issue and that our team was able to recover. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Conrad Chicago. Although the hotel was under renovation during my stay, the staff did everything to minimize the impact. Service was friendly and efficient. The location is ideal for shopping and site-seeing. It actually has an enclosed connected walkway and elevator that take you directly into Nordstrom and an upscale shopping center on the Magnificent Mile.

This hotel gives you the best of both worlds - on one side you are in the middle of the Magnificent Mile and on the other you exit to quieter Rush Street, with great local restaurants and neighborhood streets. Virtually everything is in walking distance, and wonderful restaurant choices and attractions all nearby.

My room was possibly the cleanest hotel room I have ever experienced - and I am a stickler for clean! The hotel was quiet and peaceful, even though you are in the heart of everything. The ambiance is casual, but luxurious. What a wonderful retreat to come back to at the end of a busy day!

Plus, they provide complimentary bottled water each day - a nice surprise. Although, I would recommend staying away from the room service menu. It is limited and rather overpriced. One night during my stay, I ordered a 10" cheese pizza and a glass of wine and ended-up with a $63.36 room service charge. Plus, there are so many great restaurant choices close-by, it is better to go out.

Overall Conrad Chicago is a great place to stay! I will definitely return when I am next in Chicago. In fact, after this most recent trip, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in the future. I have stayed in other highly-rated hotels in the city, but this was hands-down my best experience!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor. The street noise can be a little more noticeable on some of the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and that you plan to return. We are also thrilled to let you know that the renovation to our lobby and bar are complete and that the new spaces turned out better than we could have imagined. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A beautiful hotel on Magnificent Mile with the ambience of the best European hotels. The only hotels I have found its equal are the Four Seasons and the Plaza in New York. Parking is a bit expensive but then that is Chicago. Everything you want to see is within easy walk or a short cab ride. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.