We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomeness!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Machesney Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesomeness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the Conrad for an overnight and the hotel was beautiful, clean and staff was great. The bed, oh my gosh the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in including the pillows just exceptional. I am going back to Chicago in May and will make it a point to stay there again. I have been going into Chicago 4 to 5 times a year and have stayed at various hotels but the Conrad is my new favorite! Stay there you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    540
    120
    35
    12
See reviews for
354
857
193
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Conrad is located right in the middle of the shopping district in Chicago. A key advantage when it comes to restaurants, shopping and a taste of Chicago city life. Everything is within walking distance ( even when its winter). The Hotel itself is part of a huge mall.
The rooms were modern and relatively huge as compared to Palmer House-Hilton. The amenities in this hotel were just over the top with exquisite Tea at the lobby, DVD for rental in addition to Wifi and Gym.
When staying at the Conrad, you just get the feeling that this is how a 5-star hotel should be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As a loyal HHonors member, I choose the Conrad for my last trip to Chicago. The location is great for shopping and close to many great River North restaurants. The room was nice, clean, modern though a shower only bathroom (which was large.)
Walking out the Rush St side of the hotel, you have to walk under Wabash to get west which isn't ideal but otherwise the location is convenient for River North and just off Michigan Ave. I recommend staying on the west side of Michigan, like the Conrad, to avoid the extra few minutes back to the expressway/airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We live in the suburbs of Chicago and every year, for my birthday, we stay for a night or two in the city. This year we spent a night at the Conrad, as in Conrad Hilton, which Hilton's upscale hotel brand. We lucked upon the hotel through Hotwire and what a great experience!

The staff, from the curb service to the check-in were so polite and welcoming. Since it was my birthday they sent a bottle of wine to our room. What a nice gesture. The hotel is just a wonderful place and is in perfect condition and very comfortable.

We have been in many Chicago hotels and I would say this was one of the most pleasant. The room was perfect with a very impressive bathroom and the bed was perfect. A full compliment of pillow selection topped by a soft and thick down bedspread. Our room included a very impressive Bose sound system for the television that also included a dock for an iPhone or iPad.

There also is a nice bar that we tried when we returned for dinner and a good restaurant for breakfast.

What was nice since it was so cold in Chicago the weekend we stayed is that the hotel is connected to a vast array of shops and stores. While we live not too far away with plenty of shopping, it was fun to walk around in full comfort and do some light shopping. The hotel is also located in the very heart of Chicago which is great for out of town guest to our great city. You can literally walk to many of the city's attractions from the hotel.

The entire stay truly was perfect. We will return in the future and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked a recent trip here based on the high rating here on TA. While I enjoyed my stay I think it's a bit of a stretch to rank it in the top 10 in all of Chicago? Was certainly nice but can't think of any aspect that was all that impressive? I'd stay again but it was pretty vanilla.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We pride ourselves on getting to know our guests, and if you have an Honors account with us, we would love to include your preferences for room type, pillow preference, snacks, and beverages for future reference. This way we can customize your return with us. Thank you again for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. Very comfortable. Lots of personal service.The Nordstrums is very handy if travelling with your wife. Also, the ice cream place in the attached mall is great for an afternoon snack. There is a Joe's Stone Crab on the opposite corner from the Rush Street exit which is a fine location for a business dinner.

Room Tip: All locations seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one Chicago Hotel I will definitely return to...perfect location in the heart of Magnificent Mile. The Conrad Chicago is ideally located just off Michigan Avenue and in close proximity to everything Chicago is known for...great shopping, wonderful theater, and amazing restaurants. The Conrad is located within a luxury downtown shopping center and surrounded by 5 star restaurants. The staff is attentive, the accommodations luxurious...a first class customer experience that was much appreciated by my wife and I.

Room Tip: Our room was 911. It was perfect with views of Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.