We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...great service. ..great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel...great service. ..great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Very happy staying here. All staff very helpful. Great location for shopping, cinema, can't ask for more.
Would be better if lobby was on ground floor and the lifts went straight up to room levels. Rather than crossover on 5th floor.
Easy access to nordstrom and shopping mall is another great convenience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    613
    147
    45
    15
See reviews for
406
966
205
799
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed in several hotels in Chicago and this was by far our best experience. The rooms and bathrooms are very lovely and high quality. The location is perfect - connected to Nordstrom, so there is easy access from all streets in the cold winter months. Delando checked us in and was very welcoming and friendly. He sent up a drink to our room for our anniversary. This hotel has extra features that many other hotels charge for or do not offer: DVD players in room, a cord to connect apple products to the TV to watch things from your iPad/laptop, deep soak tubs, gym access, complimentary hot chocolate/tea/coffee in the lobby, and pool access down the street. And the rates are so reasonable considering the kind of experience you will have here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location on Michigan Ave, linked into shopping mall with good parking facilities across road, which can be included in price of stay. Spacious hotel, with excellent quality rooms, clean, quiet and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent with wide choice of food. Nice touch to have Coffee/tea etcavailable in reception/lounge/bar area but would be nice if same facilities were available in room - rather odd arrangement. Overall, great stay, would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location, just one block West of Michigan Ave. Very clean and elegant decor throuout all of the public spaces. The rooms are equally as nice. Lots of space and really nicely appointed. Nice big TV and an awesome Bose sound system that drives the audio on it. Very quiet space with a nice air purifier in the room. Nice big bathrooms. The staff here is super friendly and willing to help in any way. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As someone who travels to Chicago for work all the time I am always looking for the one to be loyal to and call "home". I stayed recently for the first time and I really enjoyed it, I think ill be giving it a second try! The staff is wonderful here and the coffee and teas in the lobby were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a night out to the Opera. Living in the Chicagoland area we have stayed at several hotels in Chicago and this is the best we have been to. The location was great for shopping the magnificent mile or sightseeing. The price was excellent and even included parking. The room might be in need of a slight update but they were still very nice and clean. The bed linens and pillows were amazing. We loved the sleep menu they had where you could order various items to give you a perfect nights sleep including an assortment of pillows. Without a doubt I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Conrad Chicago, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Great to hear we warmed you up during your stay. The indoor connection to the Shops at Northbridge and Michighan Ave are a secret we would rather not keep, and we try to share this with all our guests! In addition to the complimentary coffee we try to mix it up with tea and other hot beverages in the afternoons. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I stayed for a long weekend. The room was clean, the staff were great, and the location was very convenient. Yummy breakfast. Easy walk down to grand luxe for a very nice meal. The bed were very cozy, plenty of outlets for all your gadgets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
The James Chicago
#25 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.