We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to complain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Save Saved
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Valet Parking
Ranked #11 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tough to complain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly, the room was well appointed, and the location is right in the heart of the city. We were in town for a Broadway production and had a short half mile walk to the venue (which is notably shorter than finding parking in Chicago sometimes). When the staff was unable to accommodate our room request immediately on arrival, we were presented with drink passes before we had a chance to ask how long our wait would be and given a few suggestions on unique places to eat while we waited (refreshing to have a hotel not force their own in house restaurant as the first option). I guess it was just kind of nice to see an emphasis on service, in particular given a lesser experience only a block away in the past at a different venue. Find a deal and its worth the stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,436
    448
    90
    27
    10
See reviews for
293
753
175
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our first trip to Chicago saw us staying at the Conrad, a great hotel to stay in, right next to the magnificent mile and connected to a shopping mall with Nordstrom in it. Very near A few good eateries like Shaw's Crab house (seafood to die for) and some excellent Mexican places just 5 mins down the road. The hotel is very comfortable, with large rooms and bathroom. We had a great breakfast one day, which put the nearby Yolk chain to shame, though Yolk is cheaper ( you get what you pay for clearly). Service is top notch, and my four year old was pleased to bits to be given his very own rubber ducky upon check-in. Wifi is free and daily provision of mineral water with complimentary hot chocolate and coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice touch. Our room was quiet and we didn't have any problems with it during the three nights we stayed. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with a family or on a business trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Conrad hotel is our favorite location to stay in Chicago. Definitely and upscale hotel but you can get some great deals and packages on some of the travel sites. Every need is attended to during your stay. You are treated like VIPs from the time you get out of the car until you depart. The location is awesome, within walking distance of several great restaurants and bars in the area. Not too overly crowded like some of the locations further north. Restaurant right on site. Had breakfast there, very good food. Complimentary coffee in the mornings until 10AM. A small lounge on the 5th floor serves great drinks and the wine selection is wonderful. Shopping is right across a walkway over rush street. You never have to step outside. Michigan Avenue is on the other side of the building. We will keep coming back to the Conrad when ever we have plans to stay in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Let start by thanking Craig for making my 50th Birthday so fun. My girlfriend and went early to tour and celebrate my birthday and the staff made it very fun and enjoyable. Did I get an amenity from the hotel - no. Maybe next time they might take a look at the little details and go beyond expecations. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, rooms are large and comfortable.

Business: the WIFI worked well and the staff is very professional. Tank you room service for being on time , every time. Housekeeping did an awesome job, thanks for folding my jammies and putting them away every day.

I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Impeccable as always - a high profile high standard Conrad Hotel. Got a magnificent mile room, which unfortunately could be a little noisy. Bathroom is pretty spacey, bedroom is nice. The TV with Bose setups and Apple connection was impressive. One downside is that, business center charges for using computers and printers.
Most importantly, Conrad is not Conrad by simply putting the top of class things together in the room, the service is fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location is so convenient, close to shops and restaurants. The room is huge and the bed is comfy. I like their bathroom supplies and complimentary coffee every morning. It is a pleasant stay. The staff was nice and helpful. Will stay again. We got a great deal on Hotwire for 100 per night for 4 nights during thanksgiving weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staff was excellent and attentive. Room was spacious and very comfortable (king room dlx, offered upgrade to a suite with separate br but did not need the space) Room service breakfast is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes and enjoy the city Everything is very close Also, save a feew dollars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Conrad Chicago Hotel
Chicago Conrad
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.