We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for shopping and walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Receive Comp Upgrade!
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location for shopping and walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I go to Chicago a lot for business meetings. This hotel is located about in the middle of the Magnificent Mile. Sometimes we stay near one end or the other but I like staying here the best. You can walk to the Art Institute of Chicago and the Theater area one way and to the Water Tower shops and the Wharf the other way. The hotel is on the "modern" side. The lobby area is rather small but it does connect you directly to a shopping mall. The rooms were nice, clean, comfortable with all the usual amenities. The bed had 4 large pillows. They were too hard and long for me. I asked the next day for 2 small ones and the housekeeper left them in our room. There is a small fridge in room (no mini bar). We had a drink in the bar area, which was nice but small (the room, not the drink!) We also ate breakfast one morning in their restaurant and the service, food, and atmosphere were all great. They set up a coffee bar every morning near the lobby elevators where you can get free coffee and tea. The hotel is one block from Joe's Steak and Seafood and we had a superb dinner there. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,724
    567
    135
    40
    13
See reviews for
388
895
198
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The best Chicago has to offer. The location and amenities of this hotel is really a plus. From the rooftop lounge to the friendly staff that make your stay just right.
Try Shaws for dinner....it's amazing and within walking distance of the hotel.

Love it here

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had the experience of two different rooms at the Conrad during a single stay in early November of 2012. The room I had reserved specified two beds which ultimately was was not available by time we arrived for a late check in. We were given a standard room with a twin rollaway which indeed was comfortable but inconvenient. We were then promised a transfer to a two room suite, which also had only a single bed. The solution, again was a rollaway twin. Overall, the rooms were spacious and well appointed with audio and video components, robes, umbrellas, complimentary water. Everything was clean and well arranged. The morning self served coffee service was excellent and very much appreciated by all the guest. The direct connection to the adjacent shopping center gave perfect access to Michigan Ave. at any time. There was security and monitoring of guest coming and going so there was a always a sense of activity in a closed mall. The location afforded access to all the amenities of the area, including an easy walk to the train station for airport transportation. All the landmarks, including Giordanos's, Water Tower, Joe's, etc, North River etc. were just 5 minute walks. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. I would definitely stay again if I could guarantee the room type booked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttown, oh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I only stayed one night so I dont have a lot to say. However the staff was very attentive and the room was very nice. The Apple connection for the entertainment system was a great feature. The walk in shower was very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Set in the heart of downtown Chicago, this is a nice location for a business trip or perhaps a night on the town. The rooms are comfortable with many amenities, although not with an in-room coffee makers. The bathrooms are spacious, with separate tub and shower. Great toiletries. The gym is equipped with many machines for a good cardio workout, as well as free weights. The bar is comfortable, cozy and not too loud so you can actually talk -- but it is not "hip."
Couple drawbacks: Many of the rooms lack a view; the in-room refrigerator is loud -- so I unplugged it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and maybe a coffee pot?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This November, I was half way around the world in Chicago for a 10-day stay which included the Thanksgiving holiday. Yes, I did have the Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel restaurant -- a tasty four-course meal although I do not share the American predilection for pumpkin!

This is one of my favourite places to stay in Chicago which is an architecturally beautiful city and is best enjoyed walking Its street are broad, and the buildings not too tall. This combination makes the streets bright and airy which is so much better for walking. The Conrad is in the middle of all this. Theatre, shopping and great places to eat are within walking distance. The river, if you want a boat ride, is about 150 metres away.

The Shops at North Bridge are connected to the hotel and offer a variety of shops including Nordstrom, restaurants, and some interesting luxuries if you (men) want to pamper yourself -- a shave of a haircut at The Art of Shaving.

Sadly most hotels in the US have done away with stacking your mini bar and some have removed them completely, but the Conrad has the option of ordering goodies to fill the mini bar / room fridge. Depending on your room or Hilton Honors status you could get a fresh coffee maker placed in the room.

The staff are friendly and accommodating. The restaurants are good, and for the thirsty traveller there is complementary coffee and tea in the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at the Conrad for the second time. We usually visit Chicago at Christmas time for shopping and the German Christkindlmarkt. I enjoyed the Conrad even more this visit. You cannot beat the location of this hotel. We took the subway to and from Midway and had no problems. The best thing about the location is when you are tired in the evening the property is attached to a mall, so you have access to a great number of shops (including Nordstrom), food, and street views without even going outside. That alone makes me not even think to look elsewhere for accommodations in Chicago. It was so nice to relax out in the mall, enjoying the Christmas lights in the mall and catching the street scenes just outside the windows. When we arrived, the staff was friendly and let us check in early. This hotel is CLEAN. I am a clean freak, and I don't have anything to complain about regarding cleanliness of the room or anything in it. I ran into a member of the cleaning staff one morning, and she was very friendly, as were the front desk staff and the doormen. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. There was always coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in the lobby which was a nice touch. You are near so many restaurants that we never ate at the hotel. Corner Bakery is so close and is wonderful for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We walked or used public transportation to the Christkindlmarkt, restaurants, water tower shopping area, and the Hancock Building. I love Chicago at Christmas; I hope to visit again, and I will definitely be staying at the Conrad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.