We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Save Saved
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunday Special Savings
Ranked #14 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at the Conrad for the second time. We usually visit Chicago at Christmas time for shopping and the German Christkindlmarkt. I enjoyed the Conrad even more this visit. You cannot beat the location of this hotel. We took the subway to and from Midway and had no problems. The best thing about the location is when you are tired in the evening the property is attached to a mall, so you have access to a great number of shops (including Nordstrom), food, and street views without even going outside. That alone makes me not even think to look elsewhere for accommodations in Chicago. It was so nice to relax out in the mall, enjoying the Christmas lights in the mall and catching the street scenes just outside the windows. When we arrived, the staff was friendly and let us check in early. This hotel is CLEAN. I am a clean freak, and I don't have anything to complain about regarding cleanliness of the room or anything in it. I ran into a member of the cleaning staff one morning, and she was very friendly, as were the front desk staff and the doormen. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. There was always coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in the lobby which was a nice touch. You are near so many restaurants that we never ate at the hotel. Corner Bakery is so close and is wonderful for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We walked or used public transportation to the Christkindlmarkt, restaurants, water tower shopping area, and the Hancock Building. I love Chicago at Christmas; I hope to visit again, and I will definitely be staying at the Conrad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,562
    500
    102
    30
    11
See reviews for
324
822
186
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had the most phenomenal stay at the Conrad. To start Laly, Director of front desk operations, Accommodated us with 10 a.m. check-in. She then asked why we were in town, I proceeded to tell her it was our first time taking a vacation since having our son two years prior, She gave us a little duck to give our son when we arrived back in Houston and she also sent up some complimentary wine. What an amazing way to start off our time at the Conrad. I love the fact that they have a selection of free DVDs that you can check out and watch in the room. We also love the fact that you can plug your Apple products up to the television to watch them. The aromatherapy products in the bathroom were amazing, they are much better than usual standard run-of-the-mill best products. Most of the four-star hotels have robes but having the slippers was also a nice touch. There were plenty of plugs in the room I really appreciated this because when we stayed at the Westin Chicago River North that was a problem. Lastly, the doorman was so knowledgeable about the city and courteous, I would go back and tip him right now again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Impressive room with executive upgrade; large room, clean, up to date electronically, well attended to by staff, quiet surroundings, little to no nighttime noise from the streets. Location is good for those wanting to shop the Mile. About four blocks to the subway so only 15-20 minutes from most of the attractions (museums, sky deck, planetarium). Only downside is the lobby is not very impressive compared to some of the other hotels. Although it is clean and the staff are quite friendly there is lack of grandness. Fitness center is small but good equipment, no outside view. No swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Conrad this past weekend and our stay was tremendous. From the valet, front desk, bell service and breakfast staff they made our stay awesome. We had a room with city view and the bed was so comfortable. They accommodated all of our requests and we look forward to staying at his hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Conrad is in a great location, with entrances on Rush Street and Michigan Avenue. It required two elevator rides to exit from my room to the street level, which was a little odd, but no big deal. Being on ninth floor was not high enough to avoid being awakened multiple times by sirens on Saturday night, but Sunday and Monday night were much quieter. The room was spacious and clean. A minor detail was the safe was not fastened down, but I really wasn't worried about anyone walking off with it. The room had a Keurig coffee maker (nice!) and aromatherapy products for soaps and shampoos (also nice!). There was a breakfast buffet on Sunday only--the food was good but its selections were somewhat limited compared to other hotels. The exercise room was heavy on treadmills, with only one bike. The sky-way to the mall was convenient. The highlight of the hotel was the friendly service--folks seem to genuinely like working there, which is hard to fake. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Conrad Hilton Chicago is a hotel with charm, class and provides a quiet retreat amongst the busy downtown Chicago hussle and bussle. Strategically situated on Michigan Ave, it is a location within walking distance to the Theater district and all the great shopping Chicago is known for. Mike at the front desk was very accomodating (as was all the staff). Take advantage of the special Pillow menu (we ordered the relaxation and cold/flu versions) at no charge. We have stayed at the Conrad for both a romantic getaway and most recently, taking our daughters for a family vacation. Highly reccomended for all!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely impeccable experience. Lauren at check-in was professionel and helpful to find a few local restaurants everything was done in a seemless fashion, even the team of doormen were real, sincere and helpful without being pretentious , a job well done by all.

The location of The Conrad as well is a key element, it is proximity to many venues , 1 or 2 street from everything, and connected to the Nordstrom mall on the 5th floor, great shopping area!

The Conrad will be my place of choice for my next Chicago trip,

Side note, as another guest was checking in, she was recognized by the check in clerk
He mentionned she had changed her hair
And welcomed her back, she also was impressed as it was August since she was there! Wow!

My2cents from a Montrealer and Foodie

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.