We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Chicago stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Receive Comp Upgrade!
Ranked #21 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great Chicago stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I am Australian and travel on business all over the world and have to visit Chicago at least three times a year. The Conrad Chicago hotel is always my first choice and I have never been disapointed. The hotel has a perfect location and the staff is excellent and very professional. The rooms are very well equiped and clean. This time had an upgrade to a suite as a HH Diamond member which I certainly appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,715
    565
    134
    39
    13
See reviews for
387
892
198
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a delightful hotel. The staff were so gracious and welcoming and the rooms were very well appointed with lots of amenities you don't find in a hotel room any more. Great location walking distance to great shopping (Nordstrom) and many good restaurants. A bit of a hike from the train from O'Hare. Probably best to train and then cab unless your luggage is really light and you can stand a decent walk with it (15- 20 minutes). Coffee service in the lobby at 5:30 AM was a great thing before an early flight home. And a nice fitness center as well. I am staying here again ASAP!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked for 3 nights to kick off the Holidays.Perfect location with quiet entrance on Rush and most views facing Michigan; plus a Nordstrom connected right to it, what could be better. The staff is gracious and sincere and the hotel has a cozy feel to it even in the middle of the MagMile madness around it. Nice touch is tea or hot cocoa by the elevator hall; although we requested a coffeemaker/Keurig in our room and it was kept full with a nice assortment of coffees/teas at no charge. Room service can be pricey ($26 for an omelette including all fees) but very very good even at 3.30am when I was starving! We stay here several times a year and are never disappointed. Our room had a view all the way to the lake so we were able to enjoy the holiday lighting all the way down Michigan. AND THE BED! big, cushy, mushy pillows and a nice down comforter for a great sleep. Decent shower and good bath products including an upon request Shanghai Tang bath amenity, yum! Cosi is across the street for a quick bite or bringback to the room snack and a good variety of restaurants are everywhere. The Concierge staff is terrific; nice girls who know the City and gave us great suggestions. GO TO THE CONRAD CHICAGO NOW!

Room Tip: Ask for a NORTH facing room to get a great view of Michigan Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After reading plenty of reviews, we originally booked this hotel for a little over a week, but canceled flights due to Hurricane Sandy extended our stay to two weeks. From the bellmen to the front desk, the housekeeping staff to the restaurant employees, the comfortable bed to the spacious room, we received exemplary service from every employee we encountered and could not have been more pleased with our overall experience at this property.

ROOM FEATURES:
Bose speakers (plus a subwoofer!) with an iPhone/iPod connector, plug-ins on nightstand lamps (it’s such a pain to move nightstands around just to find a plug-in for your phone or laptop), full length mirror in the entryway, amazingly comfortable beds and linens, plenty of pillows to choose from, great office desk with a comfortable chair, and complimentary (very reliable) wi-fi. Though there is not a fridge, coffee maker, or microwave in the room, if you ask for any of these items prior to your stay they arrange to have them in your room upon arrival. We requested all three and had no issues with any of them. The coffee maker actually turned out to be a convenient Keurig system with plenty of regular, decaf (Caribou Coffee brand), tea, and single-serve liquid Coffemate, sugar, etc. Bottled water was provided and replenished each time our room was serviced.

BATHROOM FEATURES:
The bathroom was huge (see pictures). White cotton slippers, two bathrobes, single basin vanity with ample counter space to spread out, wonderful smelling bath products, personal scale, cotton swabs, mouthwash, large separate bathtub that filled lightning fast (not very fun to have a huge soaking tub that takes an hour to fill), large tiled shower, separate toilet room with self-closing door and ample ventilation.

HOUSEKEEPING:
Since we stayed for two weeks, we really experienced the full extent of the stellar housekeeping service.
--They placed a ‘let us know if you need anything’ note under our door each day our ‘Do not disturb’ sign was out. ‘We don’t want to bother you, but we’re here if you need us’… Nice touch.
--Each time we called housekeeping (no matter what time of day) to request service because we were leaving for the day or evening, our room was thoroughly cleaned by the time we returned.
--We asked for extra washcloths one of the first few days we arrived, and instead of giving us one or two extra and then failing to replenish them, we were given 3-4 extra washcloths every time our room was serviced. Nice touch.
--One of the housekeeping staff found two very small pieces of jewelry on the bathroom floor while cleaning our room and carefully placed them on a washcloth on the bathroom counter for us to find. Very classy and professional. They happened to be sentimental pieces, so we were very appreciative.
--Every time we walked by them in the hallway, we were always greeted with a smile and a pleasant hello.

MISCELLANEOUS:
--Our room and the hotel in general were refreshingly quiet. Not once did we hear any noise from the rooms next to us (and we did see people coming and going).
--We did not visit the lobby bar, the restaurant, or the terrace (closed for the season) but all three looked very nice. The lobby bar was always buzzing with guests enjoying cocktails.
--The fitness center was spotless and inviting (see pictures). Regular and cold towels on-hand, apples for a quick snack when you leave, refrigerator stocked with bottled water, packaged earphones in case you forgot yours, sanitizing wipes, and a nice selection of machines (treadmills all had a personal TV). The only downside was no windows to the outside, but not a huge deal.
--The location of this hotel was great – just a short walk to restaurants and shops on The Magnificent Mile.
--From the hotel, there was direct indoor access to the mall next door via a short walkway and an elevator ride down. Very convenient for shopping.
--They offered complimentary coffee and hot tea in the morning right when you step off the elevators, and fruit-infused water or seasonal hot tea in the afternoon.

We had an incredible stay at the Conrad. I feel relaxed and happy just writing this review and remembering how wonderful this hotel was. It’s unlikely we’ll stay anywhere else during our future visits to Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Normally, we like to book the Sofitel as our hotel of choice. On the weekend of November 17th and 18th, Chicago was packed because of the holiday festivities happening downtown. We wound up staying at the Conrad because of availability and the price was very attractive. I read the Trip Advisor reviews before hand and decided to book the room.

Like other guests, I was very impressed with the property. The rooms were updated and clean and the hotel staff was very polite.

The shower in our room was non-functional and so it was a sink wash up for us on Sunday morning. As we checked out, I told the staff that there was an issue just as an FYI. He apologized and asked us to wait for a moment. He reappeared a few minutes later and informed us that he was giving us a night's complimentary in an luxury king. I was amazed.

That was certainly not what I expected. We fully intend to make the Conrad our hotel of choice in our future stays in Chicago.

Thanks Conrad staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is definitely at the center of it all, and for that alone, it deserves 4 stars. The rooms are very nice, the staff was great and overall we were happy. The reason I can't give it 5 stars is because of the way you have to exit the hotel. The only exit from the hotel to the street is downstairs on Rush Street. If you want to get to Michigan Avenue, you have to walk up a large flight of stairs from Rush Street. In order to exit directly on to Michigan Avenue, you have to walk through the lobby, into the Nordstrom mall and take that elevator to the ground floor where you will have to walk through the mall to exit. That's also the main mall elevator, so you will have to wait a long time to use it and it stops at every floor. Granted we were there during the Festival of Lights Parade, so it might have been busier than usual.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Conrad Chicago for just a night this Friday. When it comes to Conrad, you always expect more. Well, the room is clean and spacious, the bathroom is like... WOW. But as the city view rooms are sold out, my room has a view of an office building 50 feet away. That's not very desirable if you think privacy is important.

I especially like the Bose media system which you can connect to your iPad. Free WiFi is fast, so I am able to watch Netflix all night on TV in a hotel room.

One thing I don't quite like is that there's not an elevator to take you to street level. You have to "transfer" at the 5th floor lobby. Sometimes the electors can be busy, especially the ones shared with Nordstrom.

Overall this is a nice boutique-feeling hotel at a perfect location. I used my HHonors point (it's even on sale so only 36,000 pts) to redeem the night, so i have nothing to complain. It usually costs you more than $250, and I think with that price you can get better somewhere in the loop. On Magnificent Mile, this is probably the best.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.