We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Chicago

Save Saved
You added Conrad Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Conrad Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Valet Parking
Ranked #11 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is my third time in the Conrad Chicago. I have tried other hotels in chicago and the rooms are quite small. The night manager, Ron, was terrific. There was a mix-up when i checked in. I had upgraded my room in booking.com and had paid extra only to find out when i checked in that they did not relay the change in room type. But that website charged me extra for it. Ron found a way to give me the double bed deluxe room. The room and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. The hotel is right there along magnificent mile and there is a mall under the hotel. I would stay here again. I would suggest you book using the hotel website.

Room Tip: You can fit two adults and 2 kids comfortably in the double bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,435
    447
    90
    27
    10
See reviews for
293
753
175
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The conrad is a beautiful hotel in a great location. I was at the Conrad on business and only for a short time. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful, with a separate shower, and large separate tub, with a granite top. I wish I would have had the time to enjoy the tub! There are some small touches, which seem nice (I didn't get to use them), such as a aromatheraphy turndown service. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Every staff member I walked past made me feel special by smiling and wishing me a good day. The hotel is connected to a mall, so if you're travelling on business and have a few hours at night to kill, you can do a little shopping. The only drawback to this hotel was the view. I had a view of an office building. I could actually see inside the offices of the building next door. When I stayed at the Marriott (also a very nice hotel) on a previous visit, I had a beautiful view of the city. It probably just depends on the side of the building and the floor you're on. I was on the 9th floor. I did get room service one night - very expensive - $30 for a salad. The salad was $19, but by the time they added service and delivery fee, it came to $30 for only a salad - lettuce, beans, tomatoes, cheese (I'm a vegetarian, so asked them to remove the chicken - but they didn't remove any $) and no drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The drive from Iowa to Chicago took two hours longer than usual due to time of arrival on election night, so the friendly welcome received at the Conrad Chicago was especially nice. The room and bathroom was spacious with great bedding. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Usually I go to the Sheraton when I'm sojourning in Chicago on business but as that was full up with all the journalists/shameless hacks there for the Ryder Cup I had to go to the Conrad instead. Its situated in the center of the City with good links to shopping and nightlife.

Check in was comfortable and the staff (as they were throughout) were cheerful and friendly. Got a decent room overlooking the magnificent mile and a view of the Intercontinental next door glaring at me as if I had blanked it when plumping for the Conrad. Road noise wasn't really a concern as I was a fair few floors up.

Room itself was comfortable and well appointed with large living and bathing areas which is what you'd expect from an upmarket hotel like the Conrad. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower. Extras included toiletries, toothbrush and shaving kits and all were replenished on a daily basis.

Bed was excellent and the extra seating like a nice laz-e-boy style seat with ottoman and a decent work desk were more than welcome as I had to do some work late at night. Wi-fi was excellent throughout and I believe was complementary for my stay.

Nicest thing was that the mini bar was empty. "Thats awful!" I hear you cry but what they take away in available minibar and snacks (which you can order up anyway btw) they give in valuable fridge space to store your OWN stuff like say loads of nice local sodas and goodies from the Dominics down the road.

All in all an excellent stay. Would choose again IMO.

Room Tip: Pick one facing the magnificent mile but ask to be placed higher up to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Conrad is a Hilton Property, perfectly located to visit and explore Chicago. Set on the Magnificent MIle, the Conrad lives up to its 5 Star rating. My husband and I stayed for two nights using our Hilton Honors points. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a "Magnificent" city/lake view room and free breakfast. The room was clean with contemporary furnishings. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Little touches make this hotel a 5 star, ie, complimentary aromatic pillows, upon request. Lemon, lime, strawberry, water available in lobby, as well as, coffee in morning.
We were celebrating our Anniversary and were given chocolate covered goodies, along with a Happy Anniversary wish.
In addition, because we had an early flight out on Sunday morning, they provided for us a hot takeout breakfast sandwich with coffee and water for our trip back.
The location is centrally located for sightseeing. Walking distance to shopping and the famous Michigan Ave, The Riverwalk, parks, restaurants, and nightlife/Hubbard St.
The staff was acccommodating and friendly.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel to visit Chicago and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request upper floor room with view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Conrad is a great stay. Location is excellent for doing most downtown Chicago venues...ours happened to be shopping! The rooms are comfortable, roomy, and CLEAN. Temperature was easy to regulate and no loud, obnoxious fan to heat and cool. Bathroom was roomy and offered very fine amenities. We requested a mini fridge and Keurig coffee maker and they arrived in a snap. Offered a variety of glasses (wine too) plus a cork screw which we needed! Relieved to see a multi plug for our phones, iPads etc.

The bar-lounge looked very nice but we did not take advantage of it. We did dine at the restaurant with a sample of appetizers that were excellent. Louis treated us with great service!

The price is a tad high, but all the great things about the Conrad makes it worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights, 4 days for a conference nearby. All staff members were very friendly and helpful when asked questions. The rooms were great - comfortable bedding, separate tub/shower. My room didn't have much of a view and my window did not open which bummed me out - but I would absolutely recommend this property and stay there again myself.

Room Tip: ask for the michigan avenue side of this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conrad Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Chicago

Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Conrad Chicago Hotel
Chicago Conrad
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Chicago 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Internet access in guestrooms, complimentary remote WiFi printing, complimentary pillow selection from the Sleep Menu, complimentary "Conrad Concierge" App, complimentary daily coffee & tea service, Hilton HHonors points and more... The Conrad Chicago hotel is a perfect downtown Chicago destination to experience the Magnificent Mile,"One of the Great Avenues of the World." The downtown Chicago location of the hotel is the ideal destination for shopping excursions within walking distance to the Mag Mile. Shopping Mavens will enjoy perusing leisurely through closely located Michigan Avenue retailers like Nordstrom, American Girl Place, The Shops at North Bridge, Water Tower Place, 900 North Michigan Shops, the Apple Store and Niketown Chicago. Our downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance of many Chicago attractions, including Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, is just minutes to the Loop - Chicago's historic business district, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium. The contemporary residential style of the 312 guestrooms and suites combines a warm color palette with deep textured finishes and plush fabrics synonymous with Conrad Hotels & Resorts' signature decor. Each room features a custom-quilted headboard, pillow top mattress, bedding accents, ergonomic leather chair with ottoman, modern art, soft lighting, and spacious bathrooms with granite detailing. Additional amenities include 42-inch flat screen television, surround sound system, iPod alarm clock with docking/charging station and complimentary nightly turndown service upon request. Guests of the Conrad Chicago can enjoy a choice of modern accommodations, including Deluxe, Executive, Deluxe Suite,Executive Suite and Terrace Suite. All 100% smoke free. The Conrad Chicago is a pet-friendly hotel. The Conrad team welcomes you to visit the Conrad Chicago Hotel in downtown Chicago and experience tailored service for the modern discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Conrad Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.