We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna be a parlormaid? Or butler?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Richard H. Driehaus Museum

Richard H. Driehaus Museum
40 E. Erie St., Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)
312 482 8933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a step back in time to the Gilded Age with banker Samuel Nickerson's mansion. Explore all three floors of the museum and discover how the Nickerson family lived and socialized. The museum is closed on Mondays. Tours are an extra $5, but well worth it.
Chicago, Illinoi
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wanna be a parlormaid? Or butler?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The museum is interesting, but I wasn't that crazy about the gimmick. Everyone going in is given a card telling what position they're applying for in this 19th century mansion. I think I was supposed to be interviewing for a parlormaid. It was cute, but gimmicky, and sometimes annoying. The interior itself was quite interesting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    80
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An extraordinary experience at the Driehaus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was an exquisitely restored home from the gilded age of 19th century Chicago. The house reflects awe-inspiring workmanship and design. In addition, Mr. Driehaus has filled the house with pieces from his extensive collection of Tiffany, Art Nouveau and other artists of the period. Definitely spend the extra $5.00 on the tour. Our knowledgeable guide, Lisa Brown brought the era and the house to life.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Must see to experience the gilded age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Visited during open house the weekend of October 13. An outstanding example of a a gilded age mansion, very much like Newport mansions. Fantastic architecture, decorative arts and furniture. A delight to see. Just off Miracle Mile and accessible.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great find in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Touring an old home was not our intent for the day, but when we stumbled on this stunning home, we had to check it out. Plan to spend at least an hour soaking in every detail of this ornate yet sophisticated 120+ year old home. This recently renovated home (which I'm told was at one point nearly 29,000 square feet), is now a museum of period style and treasures. A simple, self-guided tour is available so you don't feel rushed. Ask to see the safe inside the vault!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stumbled upon this attraction when browsing for things to do in Chicago. This museum (renovated home) was beautifully restored with so many details to look at. The staff was very knowledgeable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard H. Driehaus Museum also viewed

 

Been to Richard H. Driehaus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard H. Driehaus Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.