We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Cupcakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sprinkles Cupcakes

Sprinkles Cupcakes
50 East Walton Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)
312 573 1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Near North Side
arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Sprinkles Cupcakes are very moist and light...they are smaller in comparison to Crumbs Cupcakes ...sprinkles has a larger variety of vegan style it seems....it was very crowded both times I have tried to purchase some cupcakes....overall the cupcakes are very good but compared to others in town, their average...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    43
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best $3.50 cupcake we've ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Ok I don't remember ever paying that much for a cupcake. Very good cupcakes. My wife had the milk Chocalate and I had the carrot cake. We would definitely go back our next trip to Chicago.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A must stop evert time we are in Chicago. These are by far the best cupcakes around. It can get crowdedness and you may have to wait. But trust me, it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Tasty cupcakes but honestly, it's mostly the hype that draws the crowd. Cupcakes are pricey but fun for a splurge. It's a tiny shop and the waiting area can get crowded. My recommendation is to use the cupcake vending machine instead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great icing , poor cake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Sprinkles Cupcakes,yes this is a very popular store for most locals. Upon arriving we saw the line,waited for line in 18 degree weather for this experience.most of them were locals, who come on a regular basis,. The selection was good, we purchased German chocolate,red velvet,chocolate with sprinkles, cinnamon, the icing was very well done on each,very sugary,well done but I hva to say that's it.. I was not impressed with the cake, on the red velvet and german chocolate, it was very dry,poor tasting and I feel they need a lot of work to make there cake portion better. So if you like a $ 4.00 chuck of icing and a cute box it comes in ,this is the place. Forget the cupcake portion, they need to learn to improve there.
If you do not want to wait in line you can order from a cupcake ATM outside, pretty cool to watch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprinkles Cupcakes also viewed

 

Been to Sprinkles Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprinkles Cupcakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.