We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh fish, nice Greek wine and coffee.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melanthios Greek Char House

Melanthios Greek Char House
3116 N Broadway St, Chicago, IL 60657-4523 (Lakeview)
773-360-8572
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,251 of 8,382 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish, nice Greek wine and coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

John was friendly and helpful, making good recommendations based on what I told him. The lavraki was good and the vegetables went well and were very Greek in preparation. The coffee brought back fond memories of Greece. Atmosphere good and not too noisy so you can have a conversation.
Worth a try if you want Greek for a change.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“my favorite Greek restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Even better than Greektown. Service was wonderful both times we went. Loved the Reisling, one of my favorites ever (is it weird to get Reisling in a Greek Restaurant? Oh well, it was delicious). Kabobs are a ton of food. The briami sidedish is so good I want to eat it everyday. I'm not kidding, I really want the recipe. It's not cheap, but given that you are really getting two meals out of it (take half home, you might still be stuffed), it is a pretty good deal. I love the decor as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Awesome Authentic Greek Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is great...from the food to the atmosphere to the service, it will not disappoint. Spiro our waiter was very friendly and full of smiles. They have an open kitchen that you can see from the dining room. They also have a parking lot right next door to them which is convenient, make sure you tell the attendant you are eating at the restaurant. Upon seating you get a nice basket of warm bread to dip in olive oil that is on the table. The skordalia is incredible, it is a potato puree with roasted garlic. The horiatiki salata also known as a village salad was great. So fresh and the greek dressing was really good. The servings are large. If you are in Chicago and in the mood for greek food, this is your place. I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT GREEK FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This restaurant got great reviews on Check Please and I have been wanting to go there. Four of us went on a Sunday evening. I had the roast leg of lamb special and it was delicious and moist.
We also tried the European gyros and again it was delicious. The warm bread is warm and wonderful and refills. We loved the decor and our waiter gave us great service and was funny. He suggested a desert for me and it was a winner. You don't have to go to Greek town to have a great Greek dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“BAD service and way over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

REALLY poor service,overpriced, but food was good. Our waiter, a gentleman I would guess in his late 40s, dark,thinning hair, Ricky may have been his name,?was perhaps one of the most disinterested waiters I have come across in years... He was not rude at all, just seemed horribly bored by it all and just not to care...Truly did not seem to give a rats behind about service. He must be related to someone that owns the place because he would certainly not be on my staff....

Food was ok, albeit it on the expensive side. $10 for a glass of greek white wine, really? $14 for a gyro plate that was not much better than one can get just about anywhere else for $5? Very disappointed.... although I will say the calamari was great, the olive oil/bread were top rate... but I doubt we would return with so many other options available.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melanthios Greek Char House also viewed

 

Been to Melanthios Greek Char House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melanthios Greek Char House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.