We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with great bar snack menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Tap

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Franklin Tap
325 S Franklin St, Chicago, IL 60606-7108
312-212-3262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,555 of 8,380 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great pub with great bar snack menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to host some business colleagues for drinks and food after work at Willis Tower. Franklin Tap had a nice vibe, great beer selection, excellent service and food options. Nice job on all fronts and our server Jennifer was a true host making us feel at home. Felt well taken care of and good value for money spent. Loved the cheeseburger sliders. Thanks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heart of Downtown Chicago in a Warm Friendly Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

There are a lot of great little restaurants and bars to visit in Chicago, but I happened on this one, and found the atmosphere high class, yet warm and friendly. I actually don't drink, which is a shame, because it is a craft beer bar and tavern. (if it helps, everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.) The food was GREAT! I got a Greek Wrap, and it was full of taste, kalamata olives and freshest greens, and a cup of Beef Barley soup that was better than my Mom made, and that's saying something. The beef melted in my mouth, and it had a tiny pepper kick at the end that warmed me with a reminder to come back soon. So much more to try there, with daily specials. Staff was attentive, friendly, top rate. They cared that I enjoyed my visit there, and I sure did. Definitely being added to my FAVE list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Off the beaten path, though only 2 blocks south (which is why) of Willis Tower, and only four blocks from luxury JW Marriott. Pleasant surprise! Casual pub feel, a dozen or so rotating specialty draft beers, easy going friendly bartenders.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good loop lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

Great pulled pork sandwich and good fries. Nice beer selection for after work happy hours.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice pub with nice, friendly staff and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I'm surprised that this is the first review of this nice place. It was recommended by two locals with whom we spoke on the street. We found it without problem and went in. It was about one-third full on a Monday night. The server was very friendly and not afraid to recommend her favorite items from the bar and the menu. The fish and chips were quite good.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Tap also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.