We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yolk

Yolk
355 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)
312-822-9655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 7,737 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are big fans of the Original Pancake House but decided to give Yolk a try and were not disappointed. The long line at 9am on a Sunday morning was concerning but the staff was incredibly efficient and were seating people quickly. The proposed 30 minute wait only ended up being 15 minutes which was a nice surprise. The menu had a ton of variety and lots of opportunity to make healthy choices with fresh ingredients. We tried the seasonal Salted Caramel Mocha and again, were not disappointed. It was better than anything I've tried at Starbucks. The service was excellent, the bill was reasonable and even though it was a busy place, we did not feel rushed. Very thankful for such a nice was to start a Sunday!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    133
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lots of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

great breakfast place. Lots of variety, very reasonable prices, good portions, friendly fast service

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fast and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had bunch here on a Monday morning. The place was packed, but we didn't have to wait for a table. We were so tempted by the delicious sounding and looking foods, but decided to go with more "healthy" alternatives... eggs, fruit and toast. The food came quickly and was good. I would definitely recommend for others, particularly families. They were kid-friendly. The atmosphere was loud, but sunny, airy, and happy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Red Velvet French Toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I know, it sounds a bit much, but we split it for "dessert" after our wonderful breakfast, and it was a little bit of heaven!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came on a cold Sunday morning by myself and was seated immediately at the counter. I normally hate the counter, but this had a comfortable chair and an inviting look at the kitchen. The coffee was exceptionally good, and the challah bread French toast tasted just right. The server had a smile that I needed that morning, and he was attentive with the coffee. Reasonable price for a place in that area. Just what I needed to start the day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yolk also viewed

 
Chicago, IL
Chicago, IL
 

Been to Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.