We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome girls weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dartmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome girls weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I chose the Radisson Blue Aqua for my sister's bachelorette weekend in Chicago. I ultimately selected the hotel for their great rooftop pool but once we checked in I soon realized they had so much more to offer. From the moment we walked in we were wowed by the modern, trendy decor and the graciousness of our the staff. Their front desk quickly checked in 12 girls and get us all on our way to start exploring the city with excellent, knowledgeable lunch spot suggestions.

The rooms were clean, spacious and the staff was extremely helpful throughout our 4 night stay. The on site restaurant was also great and offered a lot of options for varied tastes and dietary requirements. Location was perfect and well suited to exploring all of Chicago's attractions. I will def be back next time I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and for spending such a special trip with us! I am thrilled that you had a great stay and that our team was helpful from the moment you arrived! I look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    331
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
303
587
76
639
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

From the moment I walked into the door of the hotel, I loved it. It is very different! Talk about style!!! Every piece in that hotel is so unique. Rooms: CLEAN!!! Let's talk about the floor. WOW! I want that in my house! The bathroom is amazing and very sleek! Bed is comfortable, perfect view and room size. What I loved about this hotel is that it has a wet and a dry sauna!!!!!! Literally this was the BEST amenity! It was SO clean!! fitness room (amazing!), business center, game room! (with pool table!! say whattt!) I will definitely be coming back! Even though the location isn't that great...... I still will HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to leave us a review. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that you took the time to share your recommendation. I hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, awesome friendly staff. Clean, quiet, beautiful balcony view (extra), well worth it. Would have love more wash cloths. It's located in the perfect spot to navigate the city

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are thrilled you loved your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great location and beautiful property in exciting part of downtown Chicago. The proximity to the river, the lake, Millennium Park and Michigan Avenue, at the price, are hard to beat. Plus, for practical purposes, a gourmet grocery store and drugstore are less than a few steps away. Enjoyed the pool, hot tub (it could have been MUCH hotter, though) fitness center and the bouncy running path around the hotel.

Also appreciated the lengthy fireplace in the main lobby.
And now for some quibbles: no advance warning about the dog park next door. Each of our three mornings there, incessant barking served as an alarm clock. We love dogs; we know they bark. Just let your guests know if they're near that side of the property.


Room wasn't ready when we arrived, and the promised phone call from front desk never came when room eventually became ready -- 40 minutes after the supposed 3 p.m. check-in. When the service was good, it was very good. The bellman was exceptionally friendly, and our waitress was, despite being pulled in too many directions, attentive.

Back to weird design things:
No fridge in room to chill beverages. That would be fine if there were an ice bucket big enough to hold more than a single can of soda. And, well, a bigger bucket would have been fine if the ice-machine had worked on our floor. Called down to front desk to request bigger bucket and some ice. Never got the bigger bucket, just ice in the same size container.
.
I don't really care about cold drinks THAT much.But c'mon, you share a building with a CVS. Do you really think guests are going to buy one can to chill? And do you really think guests are just going to be OK with no ice machine working?

The bathroom looked cool, but it was weirdly designed. Loose tiles in shower, no fan, a toilet so dang high that my feet were dangling mid-air. No full-length mirror (the horrors! But c'mon, you know you'll miss it). Again, nothing "keeping us from having a good time" bad, just weird and something I'd want to tinker with if I were designing this.

We had a wonderful stay in Chicago this past weekend, thanks in large part to your hotel's terrific location and gorgeous pool deck. But we've stayed in many Chicago hotels, and there simply are better hotels for our money.

Room Tip: Get a balcony and a fridge. Rooms on north and east sides are near dog park. Rooms on south side are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad that there were several positive aspects to your stay and that you loved the pool deck and location. I would, however, like to apologize that you were disappointed with some of the design elements and that some areas needed improvement in service. I will share your comments with our team so that we can continue to improve our operations. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Elegant property located adjacent to Hyatt Regency Chicago where I had a conference to attend. Having stayed at the Hyatt Regency numerous times, it was nice to have an alternative that wasn't as crowded with conference attendees. Distance of Radisson Blu from the conference facilities at the Hyatt was no different than that from the West Tower of the Hyatt. Even though the lobby at the Radisson Blu was smaller, it never felt crowded. I never had a chance to use the fitness or pool facilities but saw many other enjoying them. Would definitely book again, especially if I get a good rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you had such a memorable stay and that you found us to be a great alternative to some of the other area hotels. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel was very nice; lovely lobby; nice staff. The décor is very contemporary so, depending on your personal taste, you may or may not like that. I did not use any of the amenities so cannot access those.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you had a great stay! I hope we see you again and that you are able to enjoy the features of the hotel!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our USA and Canada tour, and found it perfectly suited to our needs. It is a very stylish hotel. The rooms are well appointed and the service was good.
It is handy for the park, Magnificent Mile and the Pier.
Yes, there are only two lifts, but it isn't actually such a large hotel as to warrant more.
The pool area provided a much needed cool-down on a very hot day, and the rest of the facilities were excellent
Also it was nice to stay in one of the most unusual buildings in the city.
Highly recommended for a city sightseeing trip.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the pool or greens would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am thrilled that our location was ideal for everyplace you wanted to visit in Chicago! We do have four elevators dedicated to guestroom floors; I apologize that this was not explained to you. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.