We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
uk
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great service, nice room, great gym and pool. There is also a running track on the roof by the pool. There is a roof terrace that is nice to sit on, it too is by the pool.

The concierge was great. All in a very good hotel but it comes at a price

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I am glad that you loved your stay and our amenities spaces. I hope we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    331
    90
    29
    13
See reviews for
303
587
76
639
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July. Room a good size for 4 of us.Bathroom is one large room divided into 3 sections, wet room and toilet share a door and then you have a sink area. If someone is in the shower you can still use the toilet or sink which is quite handy when all sharing a room. Floor is shiny granite and I thought it would be very slippery when wet, actually it was not too bad but if someone had balance issues they may find it difficult.
We had a city view but could see the lake if looked out to the left. Beds very clean and comfortable. Hotel is next to a fire station, we did hear the sirens at night but did not cause any of us an issue. If you are disturbed by noise you may want to ask for a room on a different side.
Only 2 bottles of complementary water in room though 4 of us. On our first night I did ask for 2 extra bottles, had just arrived after a long haul flight and did not want to go searching for water and was told only 2 were complimentary and would have to pay for extra. thought it should be one bottle for every guest really.
Did not uses outside pool though did go up there. Lots of loungers and space, pool looked clean.Could see the lake.
Loved the location, although about 20 minute walk to Navy pier,( stayed during a particularly hot period so may be quicker if not as hot) 1 block to river and less than 5 minutes walk to Millenium Park. Just outside the park is the hub for the hop on hop off buses so easy to get around the city from that point. Also in this area is a restaurant called "Wildberrys" which is fantastic especially for breakfast. You will not leave hungry.
Breakfast buffet in the hotel was $25 each and did not have much choice.We really did not want to spend $100 on breakfast. luckily the concierge recommended Wildberry and we ate there every morning.
I would definitely stay here again but only for location rather than hotel facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that the location was ideal for your needs and that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. I am also glad that you plan to stay again in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is really a nice place but a little over priced and rooms are not that big. Meeting rooms are VERY nice and staff are great. It is brand new in appearance and located in a pretty good area. If it is in your price range it is a nice place to go. We didn't get to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that your meetings went well. I would, however, like to apologize that you felt the pricing was too high. Our rates do vary throughout the year, and I hope that you will return again in the future.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for the first time on my business trip to Chicago for Print 2013 and was most pleased. From the time i checked in, which was early and the receptionist was gracious to hold my bags, to the time i checked out it was a wonderful experience. The door men were very courteous. The room was impeccable.The Gardens/walking trail and pool area was amazing on the third floor. You would think you were walking in an botanical gardens. The dinning and service was great too.
I would defiantly recommend this hotel and will be back with my wife soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you had such a great visit over the Print convention and that you plan to return with your wife soon. I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. I look forward to seeing you soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First time there very new hotel
Room are not too big but good size with spa shower the colors are very nice turquoise carpet modern look like hotel boutique
The only thing the door of rooms make noise when you closed it so you may be disturbed by that on same floor but most hotels it is a problem
I had breakfast there very good buffet 25$ all included worth it excellent quality
I have tried as well the bar for snacks Ok
Staff nice
All facilities can be found big pool gym....because sharing with condo inside the building
Excellent location renting bike around corner
To be recommended will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a nice visit and that you enjoyed the design of your room and the amenities. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was only going to be in Chicago for two days for a trade show. I decided last minute to book with the housing group at the convention center. This hotel was on the list. I researched it online and was hopeful that it would meet my expectations for ambiance and of course, comfort.
It actually surpassed my expectations for both the room appointments and the food and service at the bar and restaurant.

I would absolutely recommend the Radisson Aqua Blu and I look forward to an opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your compliments! I am glad that we exceeded your expectation in both service and design and that you plan to return to the hotel in the future! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this property for a second time. It was lovely. We really enjoyed the fitness facility and roof top deck. We sat by the fire pit at night and soaked in the nice weather and views of the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a city view room last time and a park view room this time, both are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for returning to the hotel and for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy that you were even more impressed with this visit and that you enjoyed your room and the outdoor areas. I hope we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.