We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The rooms were amazing!! The Gym was better than my gym in town! The staff was great! Its right off Michigan so its not too busy but its close enough that you are in all the excitement in less than 2 min of a walk! Great Hotel overall!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Than you for your review. I am thrilled that you had such a great stay and that you were impressed with the workout facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    325
    86
    29
    13
See reviews for
299
567
74
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family (2 adults + 2 'tweens") really enjoyed our 3-night stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff were professional, courteous and very helpful. The lobby and guest rooms were decorated beautifully. The building itself is a piece of art (the architect won awards for her design). There's a beautiful, long fireplace in the lobby and a small art gallery near the banquet facilities. The beds (2 queens) were very comfortable, there was a large desk and TV, plenty of electric outlets (we had 4 phones, 2 cameras and a laptop that all needed to charge). The "Euro Style" rooms were very spacious and clean. There was a small balcony in our room with a sliding glass door (nice touch, if you want some fresh air). However --- be warned --- if you're sharing a room, you will hear every sound your room-mate makes. Our guest room had hardwood floors and ceramic tile (in bath) and the bathroom door (sliding glass) didn't close completely ... so sounds from the bathroom carried (and echoed) through the room. We couldn't hear our neighbors when they were inside their room, but we knew every time they came in or went out. The indoor pool and rec room (w/pool table) kept my husband and kids busy while I rested after our busy days out. We visited in early April, so the outdoor pool & rec facilities weren't available yet, but the grounds around the hotel are lovely. We didn't have time to eat at the Italian restaurant in the hotel (the menu looked good though), but there were plenty of places nearby (Giordano's for stuffed pizza - fabulous!!). The downtown 'pedway' system is connected to the hotel and, though it's somewhat confusing/difficult to find at first, the pedway is filled with places to go for coffee/donuts, a sandwich or snack or just about anything ... and you don't have to go outside ... that is a BIG "plus" if it's cold outside! The location was great ... a 2 block walk to Michigan Avenue/Millennium Park. Parking at the hotel is expensive ($50/night), but you can park at Grant Park/Millennium Park and walk a couple blocks for a lot less. In all, a really good experience - would've rated a "5" if I didn't hear my husband/kids in the bathroom (or if they offered free coffee in the lobby!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you and your family were able to enjoy such a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed the gym and pool facilities. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is in a great location for the city, our room had fab views over Millennium Park. The room was very good, with big comfy beds.

We used the gym and indoor pool, the gym is huge with lots of equipment to use. However I was very disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open, it is only open from the end of May; not advertised on the website.

Breakfast a little steep at $25 dollars each but lots of great cafes/delis nearby.

All in all a very good hotel though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience including the location and work out facilities. I would, however, like to apologize that you were disappointed with the outdoor pool; we do typically open it the end of May due to the inclement weather prior to this time. I am truly sorry for any disappointment this caused for you.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nothing to brag about with this hotel, exept a good location for the Harris Theater shows. We enjoyed our view from our room but there was no bath tub only a shower. The room was smaller than I expected for the price. After our show at the Harris Theater we wanted to get a drink in the lounge and the waitress was swamped, so she wasnt ever able to get to us . I probably wouldnt ever go back. I am still on the hunt for that perfect hotel in Chicago for us to visit on a regular basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that our location was perfect for getting your to your events and that you enjoyed the view from your room. I am, however, sorry to see that you did not enjoy your guest room. We do have several different layouts, some including tubs, and two different designs available, and I am confident that we will have one better suited to your needs. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Blu Aqua recently for business. The staff is very professional, the hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the bar/restaurant are great. I truly enjoyed my stay. Unfortunately, my trip was short and not for personal enjoyment. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I could not be more pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience with us or that our staff was friendly and accommodating. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just checked out after a 3 night stay, and the thing that really sticks out in my mind about this hotel, apart from the unique architecture and decor was the outstanding service. We just finished a 2 week trip with our toddler and stayed at 5 different hotels, all with good trip advisor reviews. The service here was the best! I would definitely stay here again. Last time we were in Chicago we stayed at the Palomar, which is also great. I preferred the location of Blu near Milennium park and the lake. There is also a small playground and a large grocery store and pharmacy next door, super convenient for parents. Lovely views and room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I could not be happier that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. I will share your compliments with our team; it is truly an honor that our service is what stood out the most. I hope that we see you and your family again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent a girls weekend at the Radisson Blu Chicago! Great hotel! Loved every aspect of the weekend; cool, chic hotel inside including the rooms, lobby, bar, and restaurant. Professional and friendly staff; front door, check-in, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, and concierge. Awesome views of the city from the balconies! Beds were very comfortable, free wi-fi, rooms/bathroom very clean. Enjoyed the bar and restaurant; cool, relaxed atmosphere with good drinks and good food. I have traveled in the US, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Australia/New Zealand, and Japan. I have to say this hotel is one of my favorites. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am thrilled that you and your girlfriends had such a great weekend with us and that you were also able to enjoy the restaurant and bar. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.