We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laura, server at Felini, the best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #12 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laura, server at Felini, the best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stopped in Felini to have a drink and a snack. Our server was Laura. I have eaten in fine restaurants all over the world, and I was immediately struck by her friendly professionalism from the start. She is intelligent, knowledgeable, and very, very attentive. She stopped by our table regularly to ask if we needed anything and to check on how we enjoyed the food. She has that quality that makes you know that your experience at Felini is her top priority, and she sincerely means it. Felini is lucky to have this outstanding professional. We plan to return on a regular basis. A great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for your kind words about Laura. I have shared your compliments with her and she was honored to have made such an impact on your dining experience. I appreciate you giving me the opportunity to reward her for a job well done! I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    216
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
187
404
51
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

First overnight at this beauttiful hotel in Chicago. The decor, architecture are simply beautiful. We had a corner room with a Chicago "room with a view" and all this implies. Beautiful modern decor room with floor to ceiling window (two full walls of this corner room). The registration staff were personal and efficient. The lobby is eye candy for the design devotee. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Maybe request a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I am happy that you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the design of the lobby and rooms. I hope we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here briefly in January 2013. Was upgraded upon check-in to an 18th-floor "business class" room with access to the 17th-floor lounge (including a fine breakfast, continental but rather substantial). The room, amenities, and service were all excellent, as was the Filini restaurant. The decor is decidedly modern and Euro-cool, with upscale bath and lighting fixtures and such high-tech features as an in-room iPad to access the hotel's services. The location is superlative. This hotel is among the more distinctive choices in a neighborhood with many good options, yet its prices are competitive. Highly recommended, especially for guests who appreciate modern design.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! I could not be happier that you enjoyed your overall experience with us or the location and design of the hotel. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from a winter vacation in Chicago. The prices were GREAT and the crowds non-existant. We booked our room based on TripAdvisor ratings, and were VERY PLEASED, especially with the prices at this 4.5 - 5 star hotel. Our room looked south, with a view of both the city and the lake. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. The concierge on Wednesday morning was so helpful in providing directions, as were all the doormen, always. Walked to the museums (about 40 minutes in the park), the Navy Pier (15 min) and the Magnificent Mile - it was a great location. Can't say much bad about this hotel except maybe the breakfast in the restaurant was a little ordinary, but I'm streatching for something negative to say. Would definately stay here again, especially in the off season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am happy you were able to take advantage of our off-season prices and enjoyed your time in the city! I have shared your comments with our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Radisson Blu hotel, Chicago was a beautiful hotel and the staff was very friendly & accommodating. The rooms were uniquely decorated, beds were extremely comfortable, the bathroom were a good size. Location is close to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. Great Sportsbar a few blocks on Michigan called Sweetwaters.

Room Tip: I would request a lakefront view; however the view of downtown Chicago is also beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that our team was friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I checked in for a 1 night, awards points stay, mid-week. Check in was prompt and the front desk attendants were very pleasant. The hotel was a couple of blocks off of Michigan Avenue but the area is nice and we felt safe walking back to the hotel at night after dinner. The location is convenient although maybe 5 blocks or so from Mag Mile shopping.

Near the elevators is a wall long gas fireplace that was very modern looking with brick accents around it. There were comfortable places to sit to enjoy a cocktail or just people watch.

Since it's winter in Chicago the outdoor pool area was closed but the indoor pool area seemed clean and lively enough. The outdoor area has sitting, greenery, and a walking track! Nice touch.

I was upgraded to a suite which was awesome. I believe all of the rooms have a balcony and this would have been great....except it was about 30 degrees that night so we didn't enjoy it as much as I would have liked. The room has wonderful light and it very modern in it's design. The wood (bamboo?) floors remind me of European hotels (well most I've stayed in do not have carpet). The separate shower and soaking tub were a nice addition and the bathroom amenities were pleasant smelling.

Since I had club access we did have a continental breakfast there in the morning. The young lady working there was very nice and friendly and we had a easy conversation going back and forth. We showed up a little late and she was taking everything down but immediately stopped and replaced everything so that we could eat. Nice!

There is a really interesting restaurant on the 1st floor. Unfortunately we did not get an opportunity to try it but since we live in Chicago it is on our list to visit in the near future. It had that warm, inviting atmosphere with an open kitchen and it smelled great as we were checking out the next day.

I will certainly be staying here again for a "date night" with my husband. We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: As with anything in Chicago, higher is better. There are many tall building in downtown so in order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! I could not be happier that you enjoyed your "date" night at our hotel and that our team was so accomodating throughout your stay. I am also happy that the location and room were perfect for your needs. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, MI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We book the Radisson Blu as the third overflow hotel for a conference at the Hyatt. It was not disappointing! The outside structure of the building is very unusual and worth a few pictures. The lounge/lobby area is beautiful and the guest room was very modern. We loved the view from #1123, Navy Pier from one window and Millennium Park from the other. The bed was gorgeous and the bathroom was very nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our modern interior and the building exterior. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.