We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #12 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Tha Radisson Hotel in Chicago is a fantastic hotel in the heart of the city. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are very large and have everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel, and the breakfat was excellent. The beds are so comfortable, I almost slept through christmas. I can't praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you had such a wonderful and relaxing stay! I have shared your compliments with our team, and we look forward to welcoming your back again soon!

Happy New Year!

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    218
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
187
406
51
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Lovely hotel in the new eastside of Chicago's loop. The rooms have a European vibe with modern decor. Room service was excellent, as well as the hotel bar. We had a few issues with the thermostat - once it reached the set temperature, it turned off and the room turned into an oven. Additionally, housekeeping came knocking on our departure morning at 9am. Be sure to pay extra for a room with a view - we only had a "city view" and looked out at other buildings. Overall, great staff, great service, great hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you plan to return again in the future! I would, however, like to apologize that the thermostat did not work properly and that you were interupted the morning of your departure. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience or disappointment this caused. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in Chicago. It is a star in the skyline of Chicago. Designed by famed female architect Jeanne Gang it is a point of pride in Chicago. Imagine staying in this innovative space & then exploring its amazing features as completely as any landmark site in the world. You can take a Chicago Architectural tour of Aqua & the new East Side or make a visit to the Art Institute (two blocks away) through February to see the exhibit & brilliance of the Gang Studio. You can also visit other outstanding projects in Chicago designed by Gang.
Aqua's Location is perfect for access to Lake Michigan, Chicago River, Navy Pier, Milenium Park, & famed museums, State Street & Michigan Avenue. The views are amazing & if the weather is bad you can connect with the underground Chicago Pedways.

Allow yourself time to enjoy this building. The rooms are clean, sleek & a model of efficiency.You will be amazed by the use of space & the bathroom design enhanced by green glass sliding doors. The bedding is lush & super comfy.

Head down to the lobby & have a drink near the fireplace in Filini's or gather a group of friends and have cocktails in the enormous bar / Italian restaurant.

Radisson Blu offers some good rates & special deals periodically. I recommend you grab the opportunity of Aqua. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I can't thank you enough for your review! I am truly thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were able to enjoy the design and architecture of our building. I am happy that you were also able to take advantage of many of the tours and museums that Chicago has available. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend just to get away and spend some time in the city. We had a great experience all around, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is great, the staff was very helpful all throughout our stay even sharing connections they have about the city we are from. They also helped hold our bag after checkout and there were no problems even though I lost the bag claim tag.
The room was very modern and clean, we loved it though perhaps a tad on the small side. Though there is a firehouse next door I did not hear it at night, though my wife says that she did.
The location of the hotel is great, we walked everywhere even though it was December, to the Kindlemarket, Macy's, dinner on State street, etc.
The hotel has a lot of great additions, workout room, basketball court, pool etc. Our only suggestion is to have a free breakfast for guests. Who doesn't love that?

Room Tip: We stayed in the king room, city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful holiday with us and that you were able to walk to all of Chicago's attractions! I am also glad that our team was helpful throughout your stay! We do offer several packages that include breakfast service, and hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our first stay at the Radisson Blu Aqua in Chicago started with the realization that I had accidentally cancelled our reservation. Chantal at the front desk was friendly and reassuring while she found another room for us. She even provided drink tickets so that we could wait in the bar, although she resolved everything so quickly they really weren't necessary. Bob, the hotel doorman, recommended the fantastic Wildberry restaurant, a short walk away, for breakfast in the morning. (If you go, try their signature pancakes.) He also chatted with us amiably while we waited for our van from valet parking when we later checked out. Everywhere we went in the hotel, we were greeted by friendly, professional staff who seemed genuinely happy to help us.

The room was modern in decor with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever had the pleasure to sleep upon. I was very happy to see eco-friendly features, such as the dual flush toilet and motion-sensor lighting. The bathroom amenities were very nice and I hope to model the shower for my next master bath after this one.

The hotel location worked great for us, and we walked everywhere. Michigan Avenue was just a few blocks away. We had tickets for a taping of "Wait! Wait! Don't Tell Me!" at Chase Auditorium and we enjoyed taking in the sights, sounds and people on the walk there.

My husband ran on Lakeshore Drive, but I stayed indoors at the health club - a huge facility with a wide variety of equipment. While I enjoyed my run, opting to people watch out the glass front rather than turning on my treadmill TV, next time I hope to use the outdoor running track that is also available.

All in all, a great trip made even better by the quality of the hotel and the great care provided by its staff. We will definitely stay at the Blu Aqua again.

Room Tip: Upper floors provide more view - Millenium Park is off to one side. We were able to see Lake Michiga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! I could not be happier that Chantal, Bob and all of our team helped make your stay exceptional. I am thrilled that you and your husband were both able to have your workout of choice and that our location was perfect for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is very nice but it really isn't in the "heart" of Chicago. Chicago's loop is a few blocks away and there are very few restaurants within 1/2 mile of it (except for other hotel restaurants). However cabs are easy to come by with a staff person always on duty to hail one. Our standard room not large but very comfortable--one padded office chair and one easy chair. We were warned not to touch anything in the refrigerator (used only to sell items--not for personal use) as a sensor would register a charge. If you want a personal one there is a $10 daily charge. Had breakfast at Filini in the hotel and excellent food and service.Concierge service courteous and helpful. Health club is the best I've seen for a hotel--lots of exercise bikes, machines, free weights and even a small basketball court for shooting (not games). Only a little over a year old and room and bath immaculate. There is a CVS pharmacy next door open to midnight. Very quiet room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to meet with us. I am happy you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and were able to utilize our fitness facilities. I am also glad our team was available to help with taxis to get you everywhere you wanted to go! I hope that we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed for two nights at this very new Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel in heart of Chicago downtown.

Since hotel is very new, everything is so fresh and new...Decor is awesome and every place is just stone thow away....
1. millennium park.2 min walk
2. birmingham fountain chicago 5min walk
3. Sea Shore...
4. Navy pier.. 5min by car
5. Aquarium 5min car.

Main market.....2min walk....

Room Tip: Take balcony room if in summer...dont take it in winter...its freezing windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and that the location was perfect for getting to all of the sites you wanted to see! I hope you return on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.