We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looks Not Comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good looks Not Comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed six days at the hotel. Front desk staff was friendly and checkin was quick. The room overall was nice, but desk chair was very uncomfortable. That was the first item I think was for looks more than comfort. The bathroom looked very nice and the shower was big. The problem was the it took several minutes for the shower to get hot. I was there for a convention and left early, when I returned that evening I used the sink. I was unable to lift the drain stopper, uther than to lift it so that some water was emptied from the sink. I figured that the housekeeper would notice that the water was not draining and call maintenance. Saturday morning I encountered a maintenance person as I was going to the lobby and he said he would take care of it. I left this morning and the sink was the same. I really would like to know how the sink can be cleaned and the sink not drained.

I have no doubt that the Radisson has spent a lot of money to decorate, but it is not comfortable. The bar is attractive but the booths are not suitable to have a conversation and the pillows used for decoration are a nuisance.

I would not return and felt the price was very overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am truly sorry that your stay was not comfortable and that our team did not follow up on your requests. I am addressing your comments with our team and also looking into each of them personally so that we can ensure an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us is in the future so we can show you the hospitality levels we strive to reach.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    394
    115
    30
    15
See reviews for
369
677
80
787
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything except Filini was perfect from start to finish... but the rooms, service, bed, bath and sleep were impeccable, so it deserves a 5 regardless.
Rooms - should be like this in every hotel. Modern, spacious, huge windows, lots of light regardless of which side view you get. Bed, pillows and sleep excellent and above. Spotlessly clean.
Perfect for business traveller - rooms include good size desk and the network cable - internet speed is really extremely fast as advertised, finally could have a full quality video conference. The concierge could serve to other hotels as an example of how to to the job properly and make guests happy, was on top and above for all the requests.
Location is also good, right in the loop and short walking distance to everything - N.Michigan, Millennium park, CTA stations, near north/Magnificent mile. In case of rain/snow, it's also connected to the underground Pedway.
Spend your bucks on a better breakfast though, the expensive buffet at Filini doesn't offer anything special. Also lots of items at the bar in the evening were not available, and the pizza/snacks are very ordinary at best. After one evening I've switched to far better places that Chicago has to offer. Still a perfect hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review! I am glad that the hotel was spotless and everything a business traveler could hope to have. I would, however, like to apologize that you were disappointed in the breakfast and evening selections in Filini. I am sharing your comments with our team and hope that you will give us the opportunity to recoup your confidence during your next stay.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was a great location within walking distance of everything! The hotel is beautiful, with very chic and modern decor. We enjoyed drinks in the lobby lounge after a long day of walking around Chicago and scrumptious breakfasts each morning (part of our package). There is a rooftop pool and lounge area that is fantastic. The only negative was not having our roomed cleaned after arriving back to the room one day at 4pm. I had to insist that the room be cleaned.

Room Tip: Request a room on floor 10 or above for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your time in Chicago and that our location allowed you to walk to all of the city's attractions. I would, however, like to apologize that there was a delay in the service of your room. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited Chicago for a week vacation and found Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel as a perfect selection.
The building is breathtaking and the service with a smile was really honest.
We booked a business room, and it turned out to be a very good choice. Fantastic view to Navy Pier, spacious marble bathroom with bath and separate shower, I-Pad with free internet, in room safe, bathrobes, free bottles of water, turn down service at night and access to own exclusive lounge!
We really enjoyed our stay and we felt more than welcomed. The best hotel experience in the USA! Chicago hotels have now got a though competitor. We look forward to see more Radisson Blu hotels in the USA!

Room Tip: Business room are located at 17th and 18th floor. They get access to a lounge at the 17th floor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were able to experience our brand in the USA. We are continuing to add more hotels; so remember to look for us when you are traveling. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We've been disappointed with our stay at this hotel. We arrived on Sunday after spending 30 minutes driving around the immediate area trying to reach the hotel. Their address does not register correctly on GPS and it points to lower Columbus Drive. The front desk knows about this issue and said we should have entered 200 N. Columbus, however there is no reference to this on their website or signs on lower Columbus like the Fairmont across the street. We have a Corner King Park View room with the hardwood floors. It is a nice enough room, but it has a very strange layout with the very small closet/wardrobe just inside the door to the room. The closet is so small that we barely have room for three days worth of clothing. We have a lovely wraparound balcony, but it is useless without furniture. The furnishings in the room are minimal and uncomfortable. The room is not conducive to working. Cell phone reception is non-existent throughout the hotel.

The conference center is oddly arranged and many of us had difficulty finding our meeting rooms based on the hotel maps that direct you to the second floor. However, if you take the main elevators to the second floor, you wind up in the health club with no access to the meeting rooms. You have to then return to the lobby and take a small flight of stairs, walk through an art gallery and a conference center lobby, then take an escalator. Very strange.

The service during the banquets was very good, however the service from the hotel staff does not meet luxury hotel standards. Our room was not cleaned when we returned today at 2 p.m. Housekeeping came as I was struggling to complete a conference call with no cell reception and a room phone with a low battery although it has been on the charger all day. We had to send them away and asked them to return in an hour. The final disappointment In service was not allowing a 3 pm checkout when others in our party were able to receive it.

All in all, our stay has not met our expectations for a luxury hotel in Chicago. I don't think Radisson is ready to play in the luxury market. We will not be staying here again. There are much better and more comfortable hotels in Chicago.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am truly sorry that you encountered some shortcomings on our end and that you did not enjoy our room layout or our banquet and meeting facilities. We do offer several differnt room layouts, so hopefully a differnt style will be more to your taste. I am sharing your comments with our team so that we can utilize them to improve service in the future. I hope that you will return so that we can recoup your confidence in us.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel. clean, modern, trendy, and good views. The rooms are spacious, beds big and comfy and bathrooms have a bath and shower. The whole design of this hotel is impressive, with quirky decor throughout. Worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you loved your stay and thought we were a good value for your money! I hope we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came to visit Chicago on a weekend. We actually stayed in a different hotel first night and we hated it. We were walking on the street with my wife talking about how awfully small the room was and how noisy it was. Than we saw Radisson Blu Aqua and we fell in love. We checked out off the other hotel on the phone and checked in here.

From the moment we checked in to the moment we actually left the hotel we felt this was a great decision. Everything was perfect the staff was polite and helpful, the room was so quiet and big, it was simply everything I wished. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you were able to switch hotels and stay with us for the rest of your trip! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful time at the hotel and that the room was everything you hoped for! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.