We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #8 of 169 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We visited this hotel at the start of the honeymoon. We had booked into a city view suite and were upgraded to a park view suite on the 18th floor (the highest hotel floor in the building). The room was very spacious and well furnished. The bed was amongst the biggest and most comfortable I have ever slept on. The bathroom is very well designed, with an excellent rain water shower.

The breakfast was very good but the 9am finish is a little on the early side. We didn't get to try the pool but it never seemed over busy even though it is shared with the apartment complex. I used the gym once and for a hotel gym its extremely good, I used it at about 5pm and there were only a few other people in there. The wifi connection is very good and there's a complimentary ipad for use during the stay. The ipad also connects to the reception and concierge service.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Location could not be better, its located a short walk from Millenium Park in Chicago and a ten minute walk from the Magnificient Mile which is excellent for shopping. It's also very easy to pick up a taxi outside if needed. Definitely will come back if in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for spending you honeymoon with us! I couldn't be happier that you had such a great time at the hotel and that our location and amenities were perfect for your needs! I wish you the very best and hope to see you again soon!

Congratulations!

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,148
    272
    73
    24
    12
See reviews for
251
500
64
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just hosted our ninth annual national convention for the National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce at the Blu Aqua and it was fantastic! From the front desk to the catering to the meeting space and the bar, our more than 500 guests had a great time and received first class service from a first class hotel staff. This hotel knows how to treat guests and conference attendees. I would rate it as one of the top experiences ever for our convention and encourage anyone looking at doing an event in Chicago to do it here! Not to mention the modern flair of the hotel is like U.S. Radisson you have ever seen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I couldn't be happier that you and your attendees had a great time at the hotel and that you took the time to leave your comments! I have shared your compliments with our team and everyone was honored! I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We selected this hotel for its location in the Aqua tower which is an architecturally innovative and stunning building. The accomodations, amenities and service at the hotel were superb. We had a very large corner room on the 17th floor with wonderful views of the lake and river. The bathroom was beautiful and very spacious with all toileteries of excellent quality.
The hotel lobby has a very inviting cocktail bar where we had a drink. This was so pleasant that we decided to eat upstairs at the Filini restaurant. This was a wonderful choice - the food and ambiance were great but it was the outstanding service that made it stand out. A special thanks to Nolan, the supervisor of the bar and restaurant for going the extra mile.
We'll stay at the Radisson Blu again when in Chicago.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors all have incredible views. The corner suites are large and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful time at the hotel and while dining in Filini. I have shared your compliments with Nolan and he was honored to have made an impact on your stay! I hope that we see you again soon; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed 2 times this summer. Great service. Modern and nice decor. Beautiful views. Bathrooms are awesome. Ask for a corner room. Business class breakfast and evening reception are well worth it. Great drinks. Nice fitness center and pool. We also loved the Fresh Market next to the hotel. The CVS next door is also a bonus. The location is spot on for walking everywhere, except maybe The Navy Pier, although we did walk there on our first trip. Take a cab for $7-$8 dollars though, well worth it. Parking is steep, but it's basically about the same price at any hotel in Chicago. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The park view room was nice. Room 1825. We could see Navy Pier, the park and the river-city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and that you returned for a second visit! We really are honored to be your home away from home. Thanks again; I hope to see you on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything is fantastic about this recent addition to the Radisson family of hotels. Number 1 location in downtown Chicago, dazzling modern decor, warm and friendly personnel, quiet and well appointed rooms, and a balcony with a view (we were on the 18th floor). Only thing I would have liked is having a couple of chairs and a small table to spend more time on the balcony. Also there isn't a fridge in the room.

The hotel is right next to a fire station (north& West corners), so noise might be an issue for some. During our 2 night stay, it never bothered us. Perhaps the fireman don't turn their sirens on during the night?

If you can afford it (room: 260$ + valet parking: 52$), you will not be decieved!

Room Tip: Restaurant is beautiful, but has recieved mixed reviews, so we ate at the Purple Pig instead, only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! I am thrilled that you had a great stay and that you took the time to leave us your comments. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in early August and had a great time. The hotel is very clean and modern. Our room was a good size, we heard the fire station which is next door but in my opinion it wasn't too loud or bothersome. The pool area is nice as well.
The hotel is in a good location, close to shopping and restaurants, a couple minutes to the subway but not too bad. Concierge was helpful is directing us to where we wanted to go.
We ate breakfast at Filini every day and it was awesome, great food and service. I highly recommend getting the AAA/CAA rate that has breakfast included. Totally worth it! only about 10$ a day more than the cheapest rate and you can choose what ever you want off the menu +coffee + juice
Had a couple extra charges upon checkout but this was taken care of.
Definitely recommend this hotel to all groups of people

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I couldn't be happier that you had a great stay or that our concierge team was so helpful! Thanks again; I hope we see you on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I stayed 4 nights at the Radison Blu during a recent visit to Chicago for the Lollapalooza Music Festival. The location was perfect and only a few blocks from the festival. The incredibly friendly and accommodating staff made our stay very enjoyable.The Filini restaurant/bar is so convenient and serves outstanding meals and appetizers all hours of the day. The workout facility was the best I have seen at a hotel and it included a lap pool and outdoor running track on the third floor. The hotel has 5star amenities, a very friendly staff and a perfect location one block from Michigan Avenue. It was the best hotel experience I have had in years

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and wonderful comments about the hotel! It is truly an honor that you consider us one of your best hotel experiences ever! I have shared your comments with our team and everyone was thrilled. I hope we see you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.