We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ffinmich82
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel was awesome! This is our 4th hotel we have stayed at in Chicago and it is now our favorite. From the moment we were in front of it, to the moment we left, we were treated like first class people. Every employee always said hello and most asked how our stay was going, including the ones that were busy and didn't see us coming. The hotel is decorated chic style. The bar and restaurant are so gorgeous, we stopped to take a picture of it.Check in was a breeze and took all of 5 minutes. We arrived around 12:30 P.M. and our room wasn't available, so they upgraded us to a park view without us even asking. About half of the rooms have balconies, but we never plan on spending much time in the room so it doesn't bother us if we had one or not. The rooms are spotless and large by Chicago standards. The beds are comfy, but we've had better. The bathroom is large and spacious. The shower has a rain shower head. We had no problem with hot water or water pressure. We also found out that the hotel shares it's building with apartments or condos. If someone didn't tell us this, we would have never known. The tenants have their own elevators.
Gym: I think because the hotel shares it's building the gym is massive. It is larger than any suburban gym that you can belong to. It has a large room for yoga along with everything you need. The free weights and cardio equipment is all new and kept in pristine shape. The gym also has half of basketball court in it. Also on the gym floor is a room that has a pool table and poker table.
Pools: There is an indoor and outdoor pool along with hot tubs to go with each. The indoor pool is kind of small, but it gets the job done. The outdoor pool is much larger and also has a separate kids pool. There is a massive courtyard along with a 1/5 mile running track that is cushioned. In the courtyard, there are plenty of comfy couches,chairs and some private cabanas, along with a fire pit. There is also a sauna and steam room available in the spa.
Location: The hotel is approximately 3 blocks from Millennium Park and a little further to Grant Park, 3 blocks to Michigan Ave., and about a 15 minute walk to the Navy Pier.

When we go back to Chicago, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! I am truly honored that you had such a great stay with us and that we are your new favorite! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and talk about each of our amenities! We look forward to your next trip to the city; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    334
    93
    29
    13
See reviews for
309
594
77
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, MT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location of the Radisson Blu in Chicago is outstanding. It is just around the corner from the most profitable hotel in town (the Hyatt Regency), across the street from the Fairmont and the terrific aria restaurant and there's an obvious reason for them to be where they are ... just a very short walk to Millennium Park (and the amazing Art Institute of Chicago), to Michigan Avenue, and a bit further to Navy Pier. In the middle of a hot summer, being close to everything makes a difference, and the Radisson Blu became a cool, pleasant oasis in the heat.

My room took a bit getting used to. The decor is ebony black, mirrors, the namesake aqua blue in the carpet, and glittering marble everywhere in the bathroom. (Yes, it really does glitter, casting light dots on the walls!) The bed was amazing comfortable, with crisp white sheets, lots of pillows and a fresh comforter. The bathroom was huge and impeccably clean. The door to the shower doubled as a sliding door to give the toilet some privacy. The soaps were top-notch (Anne Semonin), the towels fresh and plentiful, and there was plenty enough counter-space for my own toiletries. The shower smelled a bit moldy and the hot water took a little while to get warm, although these are very small concerns.

The concierge was excellent and offered several excellent recommendations (try Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe for breakfast - the Signature "Berry Bliss" Pancakes are outrageous ...
Buttery pancakes stuffed with blueberries & layered with mascarpone, topped with blackberries, strawberries, vanilla cream & a blackberry coulis), as well as taking deposits for the architecture tour. The front-desk staff were welcoming and efficient, although they need a better system for communicating between different shifts.

Definitely recommended. But, don't pay for an upgrade. I was assured at check-in that I had been upgraded, but was given the smallest room on the floor. My 'park view' room didn't have views of Millennium Park. And, I didn't get a balcony - this on an architectural masterpiece that is known for all its balconies!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that our location was so perfect for your needs. I have shared your compliments with our concierge team! I hope that we see you back at the hotel soon; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is excellent- great location could walk to many sights/shops, lovely hotel, great to be able to relax in pool area when staying in city especially in view of heat wave! Bar and restaurant firstclass couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you enjoyed your stay and had such a great experience at the hotel. I hope we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located and in walking distance to many desirable locations. Pool area is pleasent and has good views of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am glad that you had a nice stay. I hope that we see you again soon; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This new hotel is gorgeous. Every room is with hardwood floors and modern bed and desk. The bathroom is beautiful. The hotel feel is very European. The fitness facility is outstanding, with plenty of equipment to use. Overall, the hotel us wonderful and staff is really nice as well

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am glad that you had such a nice stay and that you enjoyed our location and room design! We do actually have 2 different designs, one which features the hard wood and the other a vibrant carpet. I hope you like the other type equally as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I loved staying at this hotel. I was there for a business trip - from check-in to departure, the staff were attentive, helpful and responsive. The rooms were clean and very chic decor, the toiletries were great quality and the location was very convenient for shopping.

I would definitely go back and stay again with family and plan to do so before the end of summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you had such a great time with us and that you plan to bring your family back this summer! I look forward to seeing you soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here June 28-30 and loved it! The service was awesome and the product was fantastic! The beds were the best I've ever slept in! I can usually never sleep in hotels but I slept like a baby! The free WiFi was fast, the TV sharp, and I LOVED the bathroom! Overhead shower faucet; how have I never heard of this?

They are within walking distance to virtually everything: Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park. Water Tower Place, Shedd Aquarium, and Wilson Tower are a bit further but walking is a part of the Chicago experience! :)

When I return to Chicago, I will only stay at the Radisson Blu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! The team and I couldn't be more thrilled that you think we are the best hotel ever! I am happy that you loved our location and slept like you do at home! I hope we see you again soon; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.