We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home and stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Lang House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
7421 N. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60626 (Formerly Cat's Cradle Bed & Breakfast) (Rogers Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Chicago B&B and Inns
Defiance, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent location for grabbing a Cubs game or just for a quiet stay outside downtown Chicago. But easy access to downtown via the EL or bus. Beautiful home and rooms - the pictures don't do it full justice. Lots of places to sit and relax indoors and out. And loved the community fridge idea. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rwmdoc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tried to book downtown but due to Marathon everything was booked or over priced. Checked B&B's on trip advisor and found Cat's Cradle. Great choice. The house is perfect. Large rooms and completely modern baths. Kitchen is well stocked and can be used anytime. Bos service(CTA) at front door and "L" 2blocks. Bob and wife great host.It takes about 30 minutes to get downtown chicago either way but rogers park is anice area. Felt safe walking from train at night. Also lake is only 2 blocks. Great weekend.

Room Tip: Only one room with tub but large showers in others. Ck there website for pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cat's Cradle for 3 nights in August, 2012. We highly recommend this B&B! Here are a few details:

Location: It is located in Roger's Park, which is the farthest north one can go in Chicago before leaving the city proper. It is also two blocks from the Lake. The neighborhood is safe and there are a lot of people bustling around. And cameras, my gosh, there are cameras everywhere! There are lots of neighborhoods in the area to explore if you desire. We had oru car so we drove to Evanston one evening to Lou Minalti'es for pizza and to Andersonville one day just to explore.

Transportation: Right across the street is the bus depot where we caught the city bus for 50-minute ride into the city. I think it was $2.25 pp each way. It have us a chance to see the city so we didn't mind. On the way back from the city we rode the express bus so the ride was only about 30 minutes. We did not use the rail system at all during our visit.

The B&B - Well, it's a beautifully restored home with beautiful woodwork and architectural details. The main rooms are on the first floor, bedrooms and private baths on the 2nd, the innkeepers live on the 3rd. We only ran into the innkeeper a couple times during our visit (just a quick 'hello, enjoy your day' in passing), The kitchen on the main floor is fully accessible to guests and is always stocked with coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal, milk, fresh fruit and pastries. The have a sun deck where we ate our breakfast each morning. We know there were others guest but we never ran into them. Our bedroom had the most comfortable bed and the sheets were divine. So nice to come home to after a day of walking around the city.

One more thing......this B&B is right next door to a house built by Frank Lloyd Wright. My husband just thought that was so cool. What a pleasant surprise to find that out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinemont, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having never stayed in a B&B before, I wasn't sure what to expect. Upon arrival at Cat's Cradle, I was warmly greeted by the owner and given a tour of the magnificant home. The detail to restoration was extraordinary and the house had a rich history to the area. Everything was immaculate! The community kitchen was fully stocked with all a traveler's breakfast and snacking needs including gormet coffee and tasty pasteries. My room was beautiful and maintained the air of "Old Chicago" in the walls and decor with an updated bathroom including fluffy robes and all ammenities one could hope for. Since it was summer, I didn't try the heated floors or towel rack...but what a luxury that would be on a cold morning! The bed was fitted with soft sheets and coverings and was so comfortable that except for family packed days, I could have lounged there for the entire stay. I would recommend this cozy B&B to anyone traveling to the Chicago area. Bus lines, taxis and the EL are close by so a journey into the city is no issue at all. The lake is within walking distance for swimming or strolling and the neighborhood is a joy to walk through, with families out and about. Anytime I am in Chicago again I will make this B&B my home away from home...I hope you will do the same!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Members of my bridal party and family stayed at Cat's Cradle for my wedding last week and we also used some of their space for our rehearsal dinner and post-wedding brunch. The house is beautifully restored and the public spaces (living and dining rooms, sun room & basement) are spacious, comfortable, and homey. They offered us use of their grill for our rehearsal dinner bbq and since we had rented out the whole house, we could make full use of the kitchen as well. (Though as far as I know, even if you're just staying in one room, you can still use the kitchen to cook yourself breakfast in the morning -- check with the proprietors first, though, to make sure). They're flexible, friendly, and generally great people there. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: To see photos of the individual rooms, start the process of actually reserving a room (for some far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay. During that time the trash was emptied once at our request. The beds were not made, the room and bathroom not cleaned, supplies were not restocked. We had one face cloth, one face towel and one bath towel apiece for four days. When we left the waste baskets were overflowing. We were told that housekeeping services we not provided. This was not an inexpensive bed and breakfast. Location great and good self service breakfast but poor in other respects.

Room Tip: Ask about housekeeping services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago.

As is with most smaller B&B's we do not offer daily room service. We were unaware of your concerns until you told us at check out.

We will make it a point to add that there is no daily room service such as larger hotels offer to our reservation policies and it currently is listed already under our rooms description that we do not enter your room during your stay unless requested and that sheets and towels are only changed for stays of one week or longer in an effort to help the environment.

Thank you for choosing us as your lodging of choice and hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful B&B and The Windy City.

Regards,

Bob & Susan Patrick
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We agree with the comments made by all previous reviews. Will add that it is more like you own home away from home, right next door to a Frank Lloyd Wright house as well, much in the same line. Breakfast selection is great and well stocked in a completely modernized kitchen, please of room for dinning and just plain relaxation. Rooms are great, clean and charmingly comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need more that just hooks on a wall to hang your clothes ask for a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7421 N. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60626 (Formerly Cat's Cradle Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lang House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.