We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moes Cantina

Moes Cantina
155 W Kinzie, Chicago, IL 60654
312-245-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Moes Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,699 of 8,392 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican, Tapas, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: LaSalle
Transit: Brown line- Merchandise Mart #156 LaSalle #22 Clark #36 Broadway
Description: Established in 2010 Moe's Cantina is located in the River North area, just north of the Loop and the Main Branch of the Chicago River. It features Mexican fare with Spanish and South American influences, including mesquite-grilled skewers, sharable hot and cold plates such as tacos, flautas and Mexican sliders, and full-sized entrees including fajitas, paella and steamed mussels in a spicy white wine-tomato sauce. The cocktail menu has selections such as housemade sangria, handmade margaritas, premium tequilas, domestic and imported beers, and more. Inside are concrete bars and flooring, exposed brick walls, custom-made wrought iron chandeliers and open kitchens with mesquite-burning grills. Oversized retractable glass doors open for an alfresco vibe in the summer months and offers outdoor seating on a spacious sidewalk café. Easily accommodate large groups with booth seating and communal tables. Semi-private and private party options are available.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Late night fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had a great time here with two of my girlfriends while we were in town. There's a lot of variety, music, the bar is busy but you don't wait forever for a drink. We didn't eat here, just drank and danced. It was a good scene, mix of ages. We didn't feel out of place as ladies in our late 20's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Vibe after the Ball game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

You really can't find a more energetic spot to hang out after the game. I'd recommend either arriving early to eat beforehand or sending someone to get you a table early if you want to be in the thick of it. Great wait staff, ask for Candace! The dishes we had were the skewers and the Ceviche, which were both way above expectations. Try to sit by the window and enjoy people watching after the game. High energy and a lot of fun. The actually location is 3518 Clark avenue, about a block down from the famous Wrigley Sign at the corner of Clark and Addison. Pass the Cubby Bear and you can't miss it on your right.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great all around place for food, drinks, fun and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to hang out. It combines a club feel with a restaurant and sports bar. The food was great and the drinks were good too. Lots of beautiful people all having a great time.

Make sure to come dressed up a bit as teeshirts and jeans won't fly.

The prices aren't rediculous but they aren't cheap either.

This is a place to have fun, with loud music and good drinks.

Great Chicago night life.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Mango Salsa!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Like most other reviewers, we visited Moe's Cantina before a Cubs game (Cubs won that night-- quite an achievement this year!).

The Trip Advisor info from the owners note they play Mexican Rock music... Not while we were there! It was country music. After we asked if they'd be playing that all night, they switched over to classic rock. Much appreciated.

We started with drinks. No beer on tap; our server listed about six beers, two of which were Bud and Bud light. I ordered a Stella. My wife wanted a diet drink but all they had was diet coke-- no other options. She stuck with water.

We ordered Guacamole ($9) and it was average. The Mango Salsa ($3) was a bargain. Very fresh and tasty. A must order. The Datiles Tocino ($10) which are bacon wrapped dates, were something I had never tried before. I liked them; though I could not eat them all as the plate had ten of them. The Shrimp Cantina ($9 for 5 shrimp) was not good at all. No flavour in the medium size shrimp and the sauce tasted a bit too much like ketchup. The Mexican Flank Steak Slider ($4) was cooked perfectly, though the bun was as hard as a rock.

For dessert, we ordered Nieve Churros ($6) and Nieve Frita ($4). The ice cream was tasty; the churros very flavourful. As for the deep fried ice cream, it was a monster portion. Unfortunately, it was not freshly fried and the cornflake crust was more mushy than crunchy.

Wrigleyville is full of restaurant options. Lots of bar food everywhere. Moe's is a bar, but the food is a bit more adventurous than most places. A little more care in the kitchen and a better beer selection-- including draft beer-- would really kick this place up a notch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I went here for drinks/appetizers before an afternoon Cub's game. It seemed to be the only bar in Wrigleyville that was not packed-we should've taken a hint! The atmosphere was really cool and I loved the openness and decor. I had a few Sangrias which were decent, but just poured out of a pre-mixed container and then they added fresh fruit to your drink. My husband was disappointed in the beer selection...They had NOTHING on tap, only bottles....and only about 6 types to choose from. The server brought us chips and salsa....the chips tasted like uncooked pasta noodles. They were completely bland and just gross. Usually the best part of eating at a mexican restaurant is getting the warm fresh chips. These chips were horrible.I actually never through a tortilla chip could be so bad. I'm not sure if we could call the condiments she gave us with the chips salsa. She gave us 2 squirt bottles one filled with a red salsa type liquid and the other green like salsa verde or something. Both tasted bad. We ordered the BBQ shrimp skewer and the shrimp were completely cold. The BBQ flavor was very good, but it tasted like eating cold shrimp cocktail dipped in BBQ sauce, and that's not what we were hoping for. Overall, I would say this is NOT the place to go if you have a craving for mexican. The atmosphere is pretty cool, but it was a waste of money. I would never go back

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moes Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Moes Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moes Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.