We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Taiyo Restaurant

Sushi Taiyo Restaurant
58 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-4755
+1 312-440-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Taiyo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #709 of 7,739 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rush & Ontario
Transit: Three blocks from Grand Red line and one block from all Michigan Ave busses.
Cape Neddick, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“A Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Chicken gyoza appetizer was tasty, hot and well-presented. The dipping sauce was pleasant. The sushi was well presented and tasty. Cold items were served nicely chilled and hot items were served hot. The specialty house maki were interesting and the flavors well-conceived. My only criticism is that individual sushi/sashimi portions were a bit on the small side, but no so small that I'd complain. The sake menu was on the smaller side, but the selections were good quality and varied.
I would go back and sample more of the chef's creations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a really good place for Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were staying in the hotel in the same block and since we were tired from walking around in Chicago we thought about trying this very close restaurant.
The staff is very friendly and the interior is nothing fancy bit nice and comfortable.
Initially it is somehow hard to guess of this restaurant more of the expensive type or just one of the many average Sushi places but at the end it is a restaurant with a great selection of Japanese food, really good quality and therefore absolutely reasonable pricing.
We enjoyed our dinner a lot, not to forget the wine, which was excellent as well.
Would love to go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Taiyo has some of the greatest variety of Chinese/Japanese food I've ever seen. The Tai Style Fried Rice was fantastic, even if you don't add chicken or shrimp. Unfortunately the service is very slow.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!!! Lots of variety!!! Great service!! Best sparkling sake!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I happened to come across this hotel as we were staying close by. For several days we passed and I told my husband we should try this restaurant. As we are big sushi fans. We finally stopped by one evening midweek there weren't many people. The interior design was very casual however very fitting for the sushi theme. We were sitted immediately. Our waiter came over and was very friendly and helpful with suggestions from the menu. We ordered several entrees. They were very good. All of them were creative and had great texture flavour and most importantly were fresh. We had Star Rabbit Sparkling Sake it was the best sake ever. Prices were reasonable overall. We had a great night out. Would I go back definitely yes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was busy and obviously popular however the service was fast. The sushi was fresh and delicious and just what I wanted for a light lunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Taiyo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Taiyo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Taiyo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.