We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All great but conversation impossible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mastro's Steakhouse

Mastro's Steakhouse
520 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 521-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 8,390 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: North Dearborn and Grand
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“All great but conversation impossible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

You may want to text your dinner companions because you won't be able to hold a conversation with the excessive noise in this place. What a darned shame, great food, great service, great cocktails, fabulous room and an OK but LOUD trio likely over amped. Having drinks in the lounge was excruciating then we got a fabulous booth as far away from the band as possible and we still had to yell at each other.They even called the next day to thank us for the vist, wish I had caught the call.

If not for the noise this would be the best steakhouse experience in Chicago

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    66
    18
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse, hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I just love this place. Great food, great service, great music...the ambiance is wonderful...it's never a bad time. I've had the pleasure of meeting one of the managers, Q, and he's been so pleasant and professional every time I come there. I work in an establishment with our own steakhouse, and yet, I recommend Mastro's over ours....Ssssshhh! :) Thank you for great customer service!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“High quality food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This downtown restaurant & bar is very nice place to go to specially if you are mature couple visiting Chicago, High quality food variety of options with a very romantic atmosphere specially dinner time, the prices is a bit high but it worth it. a dinner for a couple might cost around 120 US$ (with soft drinks )

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The steak is good, but not my favorite in the city. Still worth visiting. They have lobster mash potatoes and they are amazing. A little pricey, but still worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I know there are a bunch of Mastro's in various states, but I really like this restaurant in Chicago most specifically. They did a great job on the build-out and the food and service are very good. Overall an excellent spot and I will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mastro's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mastro's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.