We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I don't give out 5-stars just because a hotel is clean and the staff is nice. I rate a hotel 5-stars only if it is a higher end property that provides an extraordinary level of comfort and service. This JW Marriott does that perfectly. From the front desk staff to the waiters at the lively lounge, service was top notch. The rooms are large, tastefully elegant and comfortable. I have friends who are spoiled business travelers like me, who swear by JW Marriotts, and based on my experience in Chicago, I understand why. I really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Wow, we’re beyond words, thank you. Your numerous reviews of both hotels and restaurants is amazing, the JW Brand would consider you to be one of our “accomplished” travelers and our key demographic. Thank you for the gracious review and recommendation, but especially thank you for acknowledging our associates in a public forum. Of course we want to be the best in class regarding our physical attributes, but we are especially fortunate to have a team of hospitality driven specialists who continue to raise the standards for luxury service in the Midwest, if not the U.S. We hope your experience with our sister hotels is equally rewarding, and we are anxiously awaiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    228
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
157
27
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed here last weekend. It was just renovated and its very lovely. The rooms are very clean, nicely appointed, good service, very nice executive concierge lounge with good breakfast. No issues with room, or anything really.

Room Tip: Higher floor less noise. Most rooms have a view of other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you, appreciate the high marks and positive review. While our unique location may be convenient to the business traveler, more and more leisure travelers are discovering luxury in the Loop and that Chicago’s unlimited attractions are easily accessible to our hotel. We hope you can make the journey north again soon, and we will do everything possible to be your hotel of choice well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great property! Great service at the front desk (they ran out of tooth brushes in the personal hygiene box and they walked right into the gift shop - grabbed me a tooth brush and just gave it to me), gym is excellent, concierge lounge is great and the room is extremely nice with a really comfortable bed. Top notch!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you, as your hotel portfolio indicates you are quite the experienced traveler, for us to obtain such high ratings is an honor. We are proud of the physical attributes of our hotel, but it our associates and their desire to see your stay is exceptional that sets us apart. Sometimes it only takes a toothbrush to tip the scales, but perfection often comes down to the smallest detail and if that’s what it took to make your stay excellent, then we succeeded. Thank you again, and we hope the opportunity to have you as our guest again avails itself soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Celebrating a special occasion? No need to look any further. The JW Marriott Chicago was the best choice for celebrating my wife's 50th Bday. Catherine Mrowiec the GM went above and beyond to ensure that we had a perfect room type. Don, The GM's assistant surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne waiting in our room. Don called my place of employment and got my wife's first name in order to personalize the welcome card. What an unexpected treat!

When checking in, Barrett at the Front Desk, greeted us with a huge smile and happy bday wish to my wife. He was so sincere with his approach to serve. What a great asset to the hotel. The housekeeper that cleaned our room did a spectacular job. You could tell he / she took priced in their work. Every where we went through out the hotel, there were smiles and positive energy from all of the staff.

Turning 50 is a big milestone. I wanted to make sure that my wife had a celebration to remember. The Hotel delivered on big expectations. The property is swanky, yet genuinely warm with its service. The room décor and appointments far exceed most other comparable hotels. The location was so convenient to all of our activities, (play at the Oriental Theatre, Water taxi to Magnificent Mile, train to Wrigley, Giordano's deep dish Pizza, etc...). We spent less time getting to places and more time enjoying the city.

My wife felt like a queen and has already raved to her friends and family about how great the hotel delivered on her special occasion. When we come back to Chicago, we will definitely be returning the JW Marriott. If you are planning for a special occasion or even for work, this property is the first choice for your stay. Great big kudos to the team at the JW Marriott Chicago! They really know how to make a guest feel special!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
A big thank you for the outstanding review. A little awkward responding to a review inclusive of oneself, but it should be noted the hotel is reflective of Ms Mrowiec’s vision, and that of our namesake’s, where if we take care of the employee, they in turn will take care of the guest. Barett is truly one of our superstars; thank you also for the public acknowledgement of our Housekeeping staff; and for the overall positive and detailed review.
Regarding the half century milestone, it was our pleasure to share in this experience, but hopefully your wife is okay with now the whole world knowing her age (if it helps, our generation keeps reiterating that 50 is the new 40). While we would love to welcome you back regardless of the reason, and we might not commemorate turning 51 with quite as much fanfare, we would still like to see you again and allow her to once again be queen for a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Came in for a fun weekend.

This hotel is located in a great location, blocks from Millenium park, the willis tower(sears tower), and theatres...also directly across the street from the W.

Neil the doorman was a great help. Friendly, attentive and quick.

The gym is excellent. You can definitely get a full workout in. They also have a pool.

The rooms were clean, spacious, and luxurious. Unfortunately, I was placed in a handicap accessible room without being notified ahead of time, but overall it was a great room.

The lobby seems to close down early for drinks/food which can be a good or bad thing depending on what you are in town for.

bottom line - luxury hotel with a nice offering.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you! As always, we value the input of Senior Contributors and appreciate the high rating and recommendation. More and more visitors are discovering our unique location, and with an obligatory tip of the hat to our neighbors, someday perhaps the landmark references will indicate they are across the street from the JW Marriott.
We also hope to change the perception that accessible rooms are somehow less than a standard room. While ADA Laws mandate a certain percentage of rooms are available, the amenities and features are the same, simply a different configuration allowing those with limited mobility easier access.
And on behalf of our associates in the Lobby Lounge, they want you to know its close proximity is a good thing. The comfort and security of your room is only steps away, and the opportunity for us to interact with our visitors from New York is indeed our pleasure. We look forward to your next visit, until then safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The JW Marriott Chicago was a spectacular experience. We celebrated our anniversary there and the staff gave us a hand written note when we checked in. The service was stellar and the amenities were amazing. Thank you JW!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you, and Happy Anniversary! We value the opportunity to celebrate the personal milestones of our guests as indirectly we too become part of the celebration. While we would love to see you annually to commemorate your nuptials, you will always be most welcome for any reason during any season; we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUSA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for the proximity to the Art Institute and found it to be a gem, with lovely spacious lobby as this used to be a Federal Reserve Bldg 4 years ago. The king room was extra spacious with a huge bathroom and both the bedroom and bath had beautiful artwork. Were were on the 9th floor and had a nice quiet sleep.
An extra plus is that there is a W right across the street.
The only downsides were late room readiness and the usual annoying internet charge from a upscale business hotel.
Even the business center internet charges were by the minute, grrrrr

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for the high ratings, social media has become such a major factor for the savvy traveler and we rely upon reviews such as yours to drive and maintain an interest in our unique hotel. While we were incorporated into a now 100 year old structure, the interior is completely new construction with some of the largest rooms and most modern amenities to be found in Chicago. As our intent is for every stay to be beyond exception, we also take any critiques seriously. The internet charges may be here for a while, but room readiness did raise a red flag. On future visits please contact the Manager on Duty if there are any aspects of your stay that need to be addressed, we want everything about your visit to be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class 20,000 sq. ft. Valeo Spa and wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.