We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean luxury in the loop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast Deal!
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean luxury in the loop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Amazing bathrooms on the standard rooms (huge soaking tub). The staff was very courteous and pleasant, and the room was spotless. They were more than happy to swap the bedding for non-down.

The location is great if you want to be downtown, easy to walk anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Love your profile, difficult in today’s world to come up with a unique moniker and “Wandering Pair” works on so many levels.
Thank you for the outstanding review, our Housekeepers are our unsung heroes as their interaction with guests is minimal, but their impact on a guest’s stay is beyond measure. They, like all of our associates, take great pride in their commitment in providing a memorable stay to our guests, and recognition in a public forum such as this is most appreciated.
We hope the opportunity for you to return to Chicago avails itself again soon, and we would be delighted to have you once more as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    252
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
98
176
31
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Ok, this is a Marriott, up scale being that it is a JW. The convenient location to the train station and the financial district makes it a great place for business travelers. We stayed here on a holiday weekend and it was very quiet in the area as expected. Since Chicago is a place we visit often and we are well able to walk, we found this location wasn't a problem at all even if we wanted to hit up State St. shopping and Michigan Ave. We even hoofed it all the way up to the Gold Coast but caught a 10 minute cab ride back (probably 15-20 in business day traffic.)
This hotel was very impressive. Although I've had better customer service at lower end Marriott properties, this one was satisfactory in that area.
The ambiance, location, room, bed, etc. were what made this a great hotel. The bed was THE MOST COMFORTABLE hotel bed we have ever slept on. The room was silent even though there was a drunken/celebratory wedding party just a few doors down, we only noticed them when we were coming and going not at all when we were in the room.
The bathroom of this hotel has got to be the largest we have ever seen. We don't stay at luxury hotels that often but I would venture to say the bathroom is larger than the room itself. It was beautiful!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool or meeting facility area. A room with a city view would be much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you! While we take every review seriously, Top Contributors represent a more seasoned traveler to both hotel management as well as TripAdvisor readers and we very much value your observations.
We do pride ourselves on our unique location and our facilities, but still amazed how impressed our guests are with our oversized bathrooms. Perhaps this feature will become a new benchmark for Luxury hotels of the future.
Although we appreciate the high rankings and positive review, our intent is for every aspect of your visit to be above reproach. It was disappointing to see our customer service was merely satisfactory, which may be acceptable to other hotels, but you were deserving of exceptional customer service and you have our apologies. In the future please seek out a Manager with any concerns allowing us to address and rectify the issue while you are still in our care. We are extremely proud of our associates, and any improvements we can make to provide the best service in tandem with the best product will be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The main reason for choosing this hotel was that my son works across the street and I thought the location would be great for him to stay the night and have a quick walk to work! I thought it would be a bit inconvenient for my daughter and I not being on the river (the last time I stayed in the Trump tower) or near Michigan Avenue. However, it was very convenient because it was close by the train that we took in from Wisconsin and we were still able to walk to Navy Pier, go shopping on Michigan Ave (we even found shopping on State street the day we left). Easy to get taxis when needed. I would definitely stay here again. Great check in service, great executive lounge w/ a nice breakfast, beautiful lobby area and wonderful staff. Friendly staff that makes you feel like they are happy you are there makes all the difference in a hotel and JW Marriott Chicago has a wonderful staff from the check in staff, lobby bar staff to the housekeeping staff. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you! You’ve discovered one of Chicago’s best kept secrets, a Luxury hotel in the Loop that is literally three blocks from Union Station yet easily accessible to the multitude of attractions Chicago has to offer.
We are indeed proud of our facilities and location, however any business is only as good as the people who staff it, and we are fortunate to have the most affable associates in Chicago, perhaps the Midwest. We are genuinely happy to have you as our guest, the friendliness you mentioned is something that cannot be forced, it is our delight to meet people from the suburbs to the far reaches of the globe. Our apologies to our counterparts at the Trump, but we take great satisfaction that you’ve found a new place to stay while in Chicago and very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The building is designed with an interior "courtyard" in the center which I thought would be perfect since a room facing that wouldn't have street noise. So I booked a room and requested an interior room (note that I could not actually find a room type that specified this, so I just added to the remarks section and booked a standard studio room). The hotel is gorgeous, and the location is fantastic. The interior room has windows, but they are fogged over and you can't see anything outside. You do get some natural light during the day, and it is dark at night. I assume it overlooks the "courtyard" but being as I couldn't actually see out of them, I have no idea what was out there. That might be a little creepy to some people but for me it was fantastic. It was super quiet. Even the walls seemed like they had good insulation because I never heard any neighbors. The layout of the room has a sort-of hallway at the entrance, and a sharp left turn takes you to the bed area. So that also helps with noise since you sleep pretty far from the door. So, sleep was NOT a problem for me here, which is quite unusual for me. The rest of the room was even more impressive: large walk-in shower with seamless glass doors, separate huge sunken tub, private toilet area with pocket door. Large flat screen, and they even provided VGA cords so you could hookup your laptop to the TV! The staff was extremely friendly, and the room service was excellent. I would definitely, definitely, stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind fogged over windows and want a super quiet room, ask for an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you! Although there are only a couple of rooms with the frosted windows, many repeat guests now request our interior rooms to avoid street level noise; and not that it’s an issue either, but if you happen to a light sleeper and especially away from home, any unfamiliar noises can be disturbing.
Your kind and positive review is appreciated, and detailed enough that there is no need for me to elaborate.
What I would like to recognize is the type of traveler, such as yourself, who takes what many travelers would consider to be a negative situation and make it a positive. Research indicates the JW guest is more experienced and familiar with all aspects of the travel industry, and thus has a higher expectation than the average visitor. Your reviews are indicative of a knowledgeable globe trekker, and someone who acknowledges when something is done right yet conversely is candid and fair when something does not meet your expectations.
One of the perks for us in hospitality is interaction with people from all corners of the world, and it was our honor to have you as our guest; to be included with your extensive portfolio of hotel reviews; and the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future. Thank you again for the complimentary review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Although not in the golden mile, the hotel is very well located, close to the Willis Tower (former Sears Tower) the metro and the financial district. The staff is very nice and makes you feel at home since you enter for the first time (I found Miguel especially helpful, ask for him, he will make your stay a fantastic experience). The rooms are spacious, clean, and quite well equipped. Nice gym also, although the swimming pool is very small. Nice bar close to the lobby although I was surprised there was only one size of beer and it was not possible to order something smaller.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Teşekkür ederim! We are finding our location away from Michigan Avenue is one of our better benefits, convenient to the business traveler, but a whole new perspective on Chicago for the leisure traveler.
As for our staff, and especially Miguel, thank you for the public acknowledgement of what we consider to be the hospitality leaders in the Midwest.
We hope your travels bring you back to Chicago in the near future; and the opportunity for us to have you as our guest will present itself soon. Again, thank you for the gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at the JW Marriott because the Hilton was booked and I'm SOLD on the JW. The room was beautiful, location ideal, the lobby was impeccable, a great place to people watch. I love the Hilton's executive floor but overall, the Marriott is better. The room was bigger and not as noisy as the hilton. The entire hotel sparkles as it just had a huge renovation. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you, and with all due respect to our competitor down the street, the Hilton’s loss is surely our gain. We pride ourselves as being the only luxury tier hotel in the Loop, and as you have discovered our unique location is in the heart of one of the City’s most vibrant areas. While we were incorporated into an historical office building, the entire interior is new construction with the most modern amenities and room designs available. We are happy you were able to experience a stay here, and appreciate the positive recommendation in a public forum. We very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location, right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Nice rooms as well, very spacious and modern. The customer service was fantastic as well, front desk and concierge were well versed on directions and had helpful tips on which restaurants to visit, lounges, bus routes etc. They also lent us these fantastic umbrellas when it was raining.

Only complaint was the lack of free wifi in the rooms. Paying this much for a room should come with free wifi, although I understand that the business crowd that this caters to would pay for it anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Excellent review, thank you! We do pride ourselves on being the only luxury tier hotel in the Loop, but even more proud of our associates who have raised the standard for service expectations in the City. Please note all comments are taken seriously both good and bad, and while there are some things such as internet charges that may currently be a fixed industry standard, ultimately complete guest satisfaction is our goal and we appreciate your input. Hopefully your next visit to Chicago will return you to our hotel and we will look for new opportunities to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.