We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chevy Chase, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very good hotel in a good downtown location. Room was comfortable and well-appointed, if a bit on the small side (no room for an arm chair). Breakfast in the attached restaurant (which is managed separately -- the hotel itself has only a bar/lounge in the lobby with a limited menu) was very good -- among the best "American-style" hotel breakfasts I've had. One thing to note: if you want to put the restaurant charge on your hotel bill, you must tell the waiter/waitress; if you do, you receive a discount on food, but not beverages. It was odd that the wait staff is not instructed to ask a guest if s/he is staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you! As the premier luxury hotel in Chicago’s Loop, we appreciate the public recognition and endorsement of our property. Your notes regarding processes are under review by both hotel and Florentine management, our apologies for any inconveniences this may have presented.
As a Top Contributor with TripAdvisor, we hope your travels will bring you back to Chicago soon, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to provide a 5-star stay regarding all aspects of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    252
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
99
177
31
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crossett
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a fabulous hotel. We are definitely Marriott people but were very glad to have clicked on the JW Marriott for our Chicago springbreak. The staff is top notch--you would think they were southerners with their excellent hospitality skills!!!! The concierge lounge was being remodeled but they had made more than adequate arrangements for it servicees. The indoor pool is a great bonus, especially with little kids in the Chicago snow. They loved getting to swim. The spa is very good. The lounge is welcoming and a great place for a nightcap. Cabs were always available...no wait time. Without saying, a great place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you! When a Top Contributor for TripAdvisor critiques our hotel, we take notice; and when they give us such a complimentary review, we are appreciative of our staff and facilities that made it happen.
Resulting from a $400M reconstruction, the JW Marriott was incorporated into the historic Continental Bank & Trust building, designed by architect Daniel Burnham. 100 years later our intent was to bring back the grandeur and grace of a bygone era and the experience of staying in a luxury hotel, but with the modern conveniences of the 21st Century. Through yours and similar reviews, we sense we may have achieved that goal.
With all due respect to our friends in Arkansas and the South, one of the best kept secrets is Midwesterners are genuinely warm and hospitable, even in a city the size of Chicago. It is our pleasure to host visitors and showcase our hotel and city; more importantly we hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great help including doorman and car parkers
Centrally located, easy checkin and out.
Nice local in hotel food place but not a sitdown restaurant
We will stay again
We used the hotel parking service--probably easier than on your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the high marks and positive review. I think the bases are covered with arrival, location, departure, and parking; hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy a more formal dining experience in our Florentine Restaurant or through our In Room Dining to complete your visit. Being only a few hours from Madison, we would be delighted to have you as our guests again soon and well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our trip to the Northwest and had a great stay. We were warmly welcomed by all the staff beginning with the gentleman who took our bags from the taxi and gave our name to the young lady at the reservations desk. Checkin was fast and efficient and we were in our room very quickly. We had dinner and breakfast at the Florentine Restaurant and both meals were outstanding. We thought the room rates were very reasonable for downtown Chicago and we would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review, hopefully in the future your journey will bring you to Chicago for perhaps a longer visit. Our staff is determined to provide the best possible stay for all of our guests, your recognition of our associates and the hotel is greatly appreciated. Appreciative of the recommendation to other readers, but sincerely hope you will be able to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

When we arrived we were greeted with valet service and bell hop staff, every one was so nice and helpful and professional, the overall appearance of the hotel was beautiful and very clean, we didn't spend a ton of money on a room and still got a really good room, the bathroom had everything in it, from a very deep tub to a marbled shower. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location was perfect and staff members got taxis for us within seconds and were always there to open doors as we returned. Cant say anything bad about this place.

Room Tip: We got a basic room without high ceilings or view, still got a king bed and tub with shower, also wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Great review, thank you! As a Senior Reviewer with TripAdvisor, we appreciate your demographic and recommendation. The public recognition of arguably the best Hotel Staff in the Midwest is also highly valued, but it should be noted that we’re fortunate to host the best guests coming to Chicago. The pleasure is all ours and we hope your travels will bring you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great experience from booking to check out! Front desk staff assisted in an early check-in for us and gave us some "local" favorite options for dining. Beautiful, clean corner room with exclusive JW amenities. Very nice lounge for a nightcap & quick bite. Located within a few minutes walk to shopping or museums. We are already planning our future Chicago stay! If there is a JW Marriott option, that will always be our first choice!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you! Our reward is seeing everything regarding your stay from arrival to departure went smoothly and that you had an enjoyable experience. Chicagoans are proud of their city, and truly enjoy the opportunity to share our local favorites with out of town visitors. Our challenge now is to keep the momentum going for your next stay and make it more memorable than the last. Until then, safe travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel itself is a beautiful property, and the rooms were always neat and orderly.. but the staff was amazing. Joe the bell hop went above and beyond to help me with my bags to the train station a half block away. Thanks for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you! We take great pride in being the preeminent luxury hotel in Chicago’s Loop, but it truly is our “amazing” staff that has set the standard for quality service and hospitality. It bears repeating that our namesake started Marriott hotels with the philosophy that if you take care of your employees, they will take care of the guest. We entrust our guests to a team of associates who truly enjoy sharing our city and our hotel with visitors from all corners of the globe, and we’re delighted you had a positive stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.