We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price exceeds Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Price exceeds Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed frequently at this hotel for business. I find that it is a beautiful facility, with beautiful rooms but constantly seems to charge more than what I feel the experience is worth. Check in always seems to be a hassle, even with status, which isn't fun after dealing with a long flight and the train in.

Pros: Beautiful facility, rooms are nicely done but generally dark and on the small side. The workout facility is one of the best. Close to the train.

Cons: Small rooms, not so customer service oriented staff, price of food onsite/room service.

To be fair, I find this is the case with most hotels in Chicago, but the JW charges a lot more typically.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    252
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
99
177
31
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have traveled around the world and stayed in many fine hotels, but the JW Marriott far exceeded almost all! We came to Chicago for shopping and family the weekend before Christmas. It was quiet in the hotel, so we assumed it was empty, but actually it was just that fantastic. The staff treats you as though you are the only ones there, and it is so well built you don't know the other guests are around. The light, bright lobby was a great welcome. The room was spotless and seemed brand new. The bed was so comfortable and the blackout drapes helped me sleep far past my usual time. The concierge lounge had a spread that was second to none--could easily have been dinner for us---and Gilberto who works there serves as a personal tour guide or leaves you be, whatever you prefer. The location was off Michigan Ave, but for us it still worked--we walked to each meal nearby at some of the most famous Chicago stops (Lou Mitchell and Everest) and some of our shopping as well. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night that we went to see 'The Book of Mormon' in Chicago. The room we had was larger than a typical Chicago hotel room. It was immaculately clean. The bathroom was very large and had a separate shower and deep soaking tub. The bed was very comfortable. The employees couldn't be nicer. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a really lovely Marriott. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are great. I had a large room on a high floor and it was great.

There were clearly two (or more) people servicing my room. One was brilliant, and everything was immaculate, and beyond immaculate, with everything neatly folded, and real care taken. One was rubbish and managed to not empty the bin, or replace toiletries etc.

My only gripe really was the spa area. I went down to use the gym and the pool, and then walked through to the lockers to collect things and had a shower and used the suana (which was underpowered and useless) on my first night. All fine.

Then I went down to use it again... had a swim and then headed back to use the showers. I was then told - a little rudely by a spa staff member - that this involves an extra fee. There were no signs to tell me this, I could access it freely and through the fitness centre (which IS free). So basically they wait until you're naked and have no option and then spring a charge on you. If the spa is separate from the free fitness centre for hotel guests then it should be kept so, and the fitness centre changing rooms should have their own showers for guests to use. Having the two interlinked, and with nothing to suggest that one area carries a fee is misleading.

For this reason I can only rate the hotel as 'Average' despite being impressed by the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

For those who have a huge exam (such as the NCLEX or GMAT) at the Pearson Testing Center a half block away, or are looking to have a great night on the town, this hotel is fabulous!

A few things to share about my visit:
-Prime location! Smack dab in the business Loop (Adams and Wells), neighboring the Sears (errr excuse me, Willis Tower), a brown line El train stop (Quincy) half a block away, and plenty of dining options.
-Architecture! The hotel is inside one of Chicago's famous architect's (Daniel Burnham's) neoclassical Continental & Commercial National Bank Building. Take a peek at those Grand Staircases are the entrance (http://www.yelp.com/biz_…) and the Burnham Ballroom on the 4th floor (http://www.yelp.com/biz_…).
-After stepping into my large room with a spacious sleeping space, tub, separate shower, and separate toilet room, I turned on the widescreen TV and relaxed to the beautiful song (thanks to Shazam: "There's a Secret by Zen Garden") and rotating pictures of JW Marriott's around the world.
-Huge work-out facility with a pleasant pool and jacuzzi (in the basement level) looked nice, although I didn't get to try it out.
-Staff was always very courteous and smiley--especially the fabulous lady at the entrance to the Valeo Spa. Wish I could have taken advantage of the spa too!
-Two small downfalls was that they did not have a King bedroom to give me, so I ended up with two double beds. The neat TV system's remote mouse didn't work so I had to just go to the Weather Channel versus using the fun JW features. Lastly, $15 a day for wi-fi (except executive and premier members), lame!

This JW Marriott location sure gives a great perspective to my Windy Hometown. Next time I have guests, I will recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the El train tracks that run along Wells Street for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business purposes from Nov 13-16 2012. The room service was great, food was very good. Everything was very clean and nice. No complaints at all. I stayed at the concierge floor. During check out my invoice had wifi charges and when I told the hotel representative that the room rate was quoted with wifi included, he immediately made the corrections. Also, within walking distance from office so overall great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A recent business trip to Chicago found us running late and we dropped our bags at th hotel and sent to work. When we returned we had been checked into a room, (greatly appreciated) but it was a room for the handicapped. The bathroom was very large, but the shower small because of necessary special features. The large open floor area necessary for wheel chairs became a serious problem because the tile floors were so slippery without adequate bath mats that my husband fell. He grabbed out to break his fall, but to no avail. Not seriously injured, but bruised, we reported the incident to management, but we very disappointed in the lack of concern. A haphazard attempp to file an accident report and that was it.

At night we could hear the El train as it went by at the end of the street, and the bright marquee lights from the W Hotel across the street gave our room and eerie glow if the drapes were open. Not an ideal situation

We had a wonderful breakfast and the service was fine, but overall I felt the room assignment was not appropriate and the response to our problem very disappointing.

Room Tip: ask about location of accomodations in room at checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.