We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #25 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in the U.S. The room was super and big, the bed was great and the bathroom was huge.
The hotel is close to everything, and easy to get to from the airport (ORD), the metro stop from the airport is only a short distance from the hotel.
The lounge was nice and the staff remember what they were serving the day before and ask if you want the same today as yesterday. Especially Marie from the executive lounge was great and "she has always a big smile on her lips".
Next time I am in Chicago I will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fyrkbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
280 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The lobby in this Marriott was enormous - sleek, modern and clean. The check-in was a breeze and luckily a room was available for my morning arrival. The staff was professional, friendly and efficient.

My double bed room was perfectly sized and I greatly appreciated the separate tub and shower. So much easier to maneuver in a stall vs. tub. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable, and the overall ambiance was classy and understated.

Many visitors usually stay on Michigan Ave. or the River North area. This property is located just a couple of blocks from Union Station, which was perfect for me. "The Loop" Chicago's financial and business district is no longer an empty shell when workers leave. There are plenty of restaurants and other attractions (as well as banks and drugstores). Chicago's second major shopping area, State Street and Millennium Park are both within walking distance.

I really enjoyed my visit here and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llpupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice Hotel in the Financial Area. My room looked at the Willis Tour so that was an added bonus. It is very close to the L and a Garrets Popcorn. The bathroom has the shower and tub separate and it was nice to have turn down service and chocolates every night when I arrived after dinner. All the food that I had there was great as well.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Was able to spend two nights there last week. Checked-in to a king room. The room is a little on the small side; bathroom was huge though. Was placed on the interior (overlooking the courtyard; no street view). No issues whatsoever. Free internet access at the lobby. They charge you $14.95 per 24-hour period for in-room internet.

I have to say this: Great location, and very convenient. Mc'Donalds just across the street with Starbucks close by, Dunkin Donuts not too far either. Public transport within 5-min walk (CTA). Most important of all, it's close to where I need to be.

Will stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

On arrival to hotel after a uk flight the hotel had no reference to our booking through British airways.

I had all the booking details and payments but the hotel wanted to charge me until I could prove I'd booked which I believe I had.

After 1 hr on the phone BA spoke to the hotel and they apologised to BA ( who I guess place alot of business to the Marriott)

Anyway that aside, brilliant hotel and location, would stay there again, but would hope something is in place to avoid an hr delay checking in.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamhutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Quick overnight business trip, but was able to appreciate the high level of service that the entire staff provided. Felt that every staff member I encountered was ready to make my stay better. The king room was a typical size, but the bathroom was very spacious with both a large shower as well as a deep soaking tub. It appears that the hotel has been recently renovated. Nice, fairly active lobby bar. And for a large city hotel, virtually no wait for elevators like you often find in older buildings! My only con is that, being an older building, I had a VERY long walk down a hallway to reach my room (the longest I can ever remember in a hotel), and it was an interior room with a view of only the interior courtyard and mechanical. Overall, it was what one would expect from a JW property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent - Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the JW Marriott in November 2012. The hotel is in walking distance from the main tourist attractions.

Likes: great bed, spacious room, free wifi in the lobby, great bathroom
Dislikes: wifi not free of charge in the rooms, the price for internet in the meetings room is much higher then for the rooms, pricy breakfast

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitchy_gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#90 of 182 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing