We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modern and very well appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern and very well appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The lobby in this Marriott was enormous - sleek, modern and clean. The check-in was a breeze and luckily a room was available for my morning arrival. The staff was professional, friendly and efficient.

My double bed room was perfectly sized and I greatly appreciated the separate tub and shower. So much easier to maneuver in a stall vs. tub. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable, and the overall ambiance was classy and understated.

Many visitors usually stay on Michigan Ave. or the River North area. This property is located just a couple of blocks from Union Station, which was perfect for me. "The Loop" Chicago's financial and business district is no longer an empty shell when workers leave. There are plenty of restaurants and other attractions (as well as banks and drugstores). Chicago's second major shopping area, State Street and Millennium Park are both within walking distance.

I really enjoyed my visit here and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    228
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
159
27
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice Hotel in the Financial Area. My room looked at the Willis Tour so that was an added bonus. It is very close to the L and a Garrets Popcorn. The bathroom has the shower and tub separate and it was nice to have turn down service and chocolates every night when I arrived after dinner. All the food that I had there was great as well.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Was able to spend two nights there last week. Checked-in to a king room. The room is a little on the small side; bathroom was huge though. Was placed on the interior (overlooking the courtyard; no street view). No issues whatsoever. Free internet access at the lobby. They charge you $14.95 per 24-hour period for in-room internet.

I have to say this: Great location, and very convenient. Mc'Donalds just across the street with Starbucks close by, Dunkin Donuts not too far either. Public transport within 5-min walk (CTA). Most important of all, it's close to where I need to be.

Will stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

On arrival to hotel after a uk flight the hotel had no reference to our booking through British airways.

I had all the booking details and payments but the hotel wanted to charge me until I could prove I'd booked which I believe I had.

After 1 hr on the phone BA spoke to the hotel and they apologised to BA ( who I guess place alot of business to the Marriott)

Anyway that aside, brilliant hotel and location, would stay there again, but would hope something is in place to avoid an hr delay checking in.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Quick overnight business trip, but was able to appreciate the high level of service that the entire staff provided. Felt that every staff member I encountered was ready to make my stay better. The king room was a typical size, but the bathroom was very spacious with both a large shower as well as a deep soaking tub. It appears that the hotel has been recently renovated. Nice, fairly active lobby bar. And for a large city hotel, virtually no wait for elevators like you often find in older buildings! My only con is that, being an older building, I had a VERY long walk down a hallway to reach my room (the longest I can ever remember in a hotel), and it was an interior room with a view of only the interior courtyard and mechanical. Overall, it was what one would expect from a JW property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent - Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the JW Marriott in November 2012. The hotel is in walking distance from the main tourist attractions.

Likes: great bed, spacious room, free wifi in the lobby, great bathroom
Dislikes: wifi not free of charge in the rooms, the price for internet in the meetings room is much higher then for the rooms, pricy breakfast

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at the JW Marriott in Chicago two years in a row for a conference and loved it both times. The location is not far from shopping and sightseeing on foot or by cab. The staff was always attentive but didn't hover. I love the bedding, deep bath tub, adequate room to move around the room, and all of the amenities. The food and beverage for the conference was outstanding.

The lobby bar had excellent servers, selection and really, really good food. I opted to take my computer down there one night instead of staying holed up in my room and ordering room service. The workout facility in the lower lever was quiet at night, and well used in the early morning but had plenty of quality equipment for the demand. Fresh towels and cold water were constantly refilled.

Any outstanding hotel in a large city will have a high price, however the JW Marriott earns their fee. I hope my conference is in the same hotel next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class 20,000 sq. ft. Valeo Spa and wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.