We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, not amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from July 12 to July 15. My family and I often stay at Marriott properties when we travel, because we are platinum Marriott rewards members. Overall, we thought the hotel was very nice, though probably not worth the rather steep price you pay to stay there (though we got a wedding guest rate, so it wasn't as pricey for us). The hotel is very clean. No complaints there. Housekeeping is a little too enthusiastic about coming into the room to clean, as they nearly walked in on me twice, but at least the hotel is kept up well. The pool was disappointing. It was not heated and was very small. The "hot tub" was an empty hole with no water. The location is decent - three blocks from the subway, though not much in the way of food in the immediate vicinity. Staff was polite and generally helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: We were initially offered a room on the 12th floor, but would have had to wait for it. We took one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    228
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
159
27
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed over July 4th Holiday so we got the "B" team. Very miserable "spa" with not much functioning
properly including the hot tub. Because it is a separate business being run within the Marriott there was not
much recourse since the Marriott staff essentially said not our problem. .The separate restaurant was nice
but over priced and pretentious.The hotel is beautiful but it's all looks with no substance. We had numerous
issues with the reservation that include getting awaken by housekeeping telling us we were listed as being
checked out. So , even after fixing that....later we could not access our floor nor our room because the
room key was cancelled. We did have a lovely spacious room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staff and accomodations were outstanding, could not have been nicer. Checked in early, lots of staff with minimal wait. Hotel bar/lounge very comfortable and also great staff. Great location with easy walk to all of the chicago downtown sites and shopping. Attending a wedding at the hotel with excellent food, service, and ambiance. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Selected JW Marriott to try something different in Chicago, where we go often for weekend getaways. The property gives a very nice first impression: friendly valet, sparkling clean lobby, even a lovely lilly scent. Check in was smooth and speedy.

We were in room 1108 and were a bit concerned about noise because it was the first room next to the elevator bank. Fortunately we did not have any problems and could not hear the elevators at all. Our view was of an interior building scape, so we did not experience any of the noise issues that others have reported on this site.

Our room was lovely. Very clean, modern decor, well appointed. The bathroom had an enormous soaking tub and a great separate shower with adjustable shower head to customize your spray. Very comfortable bathrobes and plenty of fluffy white towels.

We had a 1 king room and it was a typical size for downtown Chicago- not too small. Just enough room for an additional easy chair and table. WIFI worked well and was free because we have Marriott Gold status. $14.95 per day if you have to pay for it. Turndown service was a nice surprise and the bed area had great light for reading with small reading lights if your bed partner was sleeping.

I did not use the fitness center or spa, but walked through to check out the swimming pool. I'm not a gym person but this place was impressive. Possibly the nicest I've seen in my travels. The pool was a bit of a disappointment only because it was part of the fitness area versus on a rooftop or exterior area. I felt very confined. But that's just my personal preference- the place was clean, towels available and altogether very acceptable.

Here is my very picky piece of feedback and is no reflection on the hotel. Sadly the location was not my favorite. This property is located in the financial area of the loop and as a result many eateries and shops within close proximity have hours catering to the 9-5 weekday business set. Granted, it is absolutely not far to walk to other places but we found this frustrating at times (particularly Sunday morning) when we wanted to grab a quick bite somewhere other than McDonalds or Dunkin Doughnuts. There are places there- Pret a Manger, Au Bon Pain, Corner Bakery- but all closed. Even one of the drug stores had odd hours. Just a point of consideration.

Overall, great stay and if I had business in this area I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the El train and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at the JW Marriott Chicago on a recent June weekend. I was stunned by a massive, gorgeous lobby with a pleasant waterfall in the middle. I was expeditiously checked in by a very nice guy named Alex, and proceeded up to the room. The room is quite high-end, tastefully and comfortably decorated, with MASSIVE windows and high ceilings. The beds were above and beyond the typical Marriott bed...I'd never rested so easy! My favorite part of the room was the bathroom. Massive, backlit vanity, huge soaking tub, luxurious shower, and a separate room with the toilet. It was pure luxury. The usual JW Marriott bathroom amenities (Aromatherapy) were perfect and relaxing as always. Regarding location, I had a love/hate relationship. I loved the location in regards to the El. It is right at the Quincy/Wells station on the Brown Line, which is very convenient up until about midnight. If you're returning/leaving after hours, you'll need to use the nearby Monroe Red Line (24 hours) station. It's only about 3 blocks and is very convenient. However, for a weekend trip, if you're looking to dine nearby, you may be out of luck. Most every restaurant is open very limited hours due to the Mon-Fri banking/business crowd the area is home to. Eat in the very nice restaurant in the hotel or travel elsewhere for a nice dinner. Regardless of this, I will definitely be staying at this hotel again! Already have another reservation booked for mid-August! Can't wait to go back and experience more of the hotel!

Room Tip: While the rooms with an interior view aren't much to look at out the window...they will be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Whirlpool does not work. It has never worked, and from the looks of it will never work. Marriott really needs to take that amenity off of their website. Also, there are no showers in the pool / fitness area.
We had the view of a brick wall also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a very beautiful property. I had a large, luxurious double queen room with a fabulous bathroom. Very soothing colors, an excellent respite...except that the noise in the hotel travels like no tomorrow! The echo throughout the halls carried far into the room, waking me several times during the night.

Room Tip: The King is VERY small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class 20,000 sq. ft. Valeo Spa and wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.