We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service excellence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Celebrated wife's birthday with stay at hotel. Upgrade of the room and surprise cheese platter showed what service can be like.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    228
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
159
27
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Well located, not too far from the lake or the magnificent mile...good, comfortable rooms and met my expectations in most respects. Wifi was expensive, and very poor speeds

Didn't eat at the hotel restaurants so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at this property in May, 2011 and again in January, 2012. I love that this is a brand new property. Everything is new, clean, and modern. This location is really good if you are arriving via train and there is a major L stop right outside the front door. I'm used to staying at the other end of Michigan Ave. so I'm getting used to the location. I find the rooms next to the elevatorhave the most spacious layout. It was noisy at all due to the layout. Yummy illy coffee Ianthe lobby but it's really pricey. There is a Duncin Donuts and Starbucks right out the front door at the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the elevator have the best layout and are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I treated myself to a lovely stay at the JW in February! The word lovely describes everything and everyone at the hotel! The staff was so gracious and delighted to assist you in any way! My personal fave was the fabulous flavored water in the Lobby-kudos to the person who created citrus peach!!!! I cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Corner or interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in hotel, but it almost felt like it was pretending to be nicer than it was. The lobby really is beautiful, lovely fountain and really nice bar with great service and a great sitting area with couches.

We booked a king room but had to settle for two doubles. Walk from elevators to room was really long. Room was nice but not on par with lobby, except the bathroom. Bathroom was large, lots of light marble tile (or something close), and a great walk-in shower, a lovely and huge bathtub, wand two sinks. Very nice. Unfortunately, the room wasn't as nice. The chair was OK, the beds were fine by themselves but were covered by really uncomfortable blankets/sheets. Definitely made sleeping uncomfortable and hot. Little decoration except for (surprisingly nice) art. The view was just of the building across the street, and the windows didn't open.

The location was fine for us (it was for business). It wouldn't have been ideal for nightlife but would have been fine for access to Millennium Park and public transportation was easy.

Overall, it was a little underwhelming, especially as I didn't have time to take a bath to take advantage of what was probably the room's best asset. I recently stayed at JW Indianapolis and was really impressed, so my expectations were high but was a little disappointed this time. Still, it's a really solid hotel, just missing a little something to make it stand out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have stayed at this JW Marriott twice, for a total of 4 nights. My experience has been pretty consistent.

I like hotels in historic and older settings and this is a recently renovated structure, which is a plus. The lobby is large and opulent. The rooms, too, were well-appointed and had a "luxury feel", including LCD tv's, wide molding, granite countertops etc. The sheets on the bed were of a high thread count and very soft. The staff was friendly and attentive.

So why not excellent? Well, a couple of things. First, although I paid close to $300 a night after some sort of preferred rate, I still had to pay $15 for wi-fi. Really? I'd pick an internet connection over a TV or many other things in the hotel. It sure as heck doesn't cost them anything close to $15 for a night. If you are a Marriott platinum or some other high level "elite", the internet doesn't cost extra, but I travel all over and, frankly, while it is generally very good, Marriott isn't always the best alternative so I don't have the high elite levels needed for "free" internet access.

Second, I thought the prices in the restaurant and the lobby were rather high. The prices for wine by the glass were more than I would pay for an entire bottle at home. They are certainly entitled to a fair profit, and I support their right to one, but $18 a glass for wine that would cost $12 a bottle retail is going a bit too far. Having said that, I had a chocolate martini at lounge bar, an occasional indulgence for me, that was very good (it was $18.50 with tax and tip).

In short, they have a beautiful and thoughtfully restored building and an excellent and responsive staff. I was annoyed, however, by the nickel and dime-ing on things like excess charges for internet access and beverages in the lobby. If you are already Marriott elite of a sufficient level, the internet won't be a problem, but you would likely be staying here anyway. If not, however, I would look at the entire package to determine whether the hotel is worth it. I'd leave it up to you.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook a shaft, but they are relatively quiet. The rooms with a front view on A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a weekend getaway & had a great stay! From the moment we checked in to check out, the staff was the best! Everyone at the JW made you feel very welcomed & the gentleman that took our bags gave us a little history of the hotel. He was very knowledgable about the hotel & very professional...I believe his name was Michael.

We have stayed in quite a bit of JW Marriotts & this one did not disappoint. As any JW, the rooms are spacious & comfortable, with the bathroom being the best part...lol. It is huge with a nice tub & separate glass enclosed shower.

The hotel is in a great location for restaurants & sight seeing. We walked to the Disney store & enjoyed seeing all the nice buildings on the way.

I would highly recommend the JW Chicago to anyone visiting the downtown area! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class 20,000 sq. ft. Valeo Spa and wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.