We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sharp hotel in great Chicago location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very sharp hotel in great Chicago location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here in early September 2011. The place is a new rennovation of a old bank building. What a great hotel experience. The lobby gleams and has several cozy spots to hang out with a cool bar. The staff from curb through check in and concierge were genuinely friendly and interested in assisting guests.
The rooms are very nice with everything new and massive bathroom. Outstanding stall shower and great bathrobe, I purchased one.
We ate at the main restaurant and did room service breakfast, both were great.
The location is excellent for business or pleasure. Right down the street from the Art Museum and the Willis tower is a couple block walk.
One side of the building baces the noisy loop so make sure if on that side you are up at least the 10th floor.
We found the pricing here competitive with other lesser hotels in town.

Room Tip: Avoid loop that runs along one side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    228
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
159
27
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is exactly what we were looking for when we arrived to Chicago. The decor is beautiful, the staff is really helpful and gave fabulous recommendations, the hotel is in a very central location..oh, and the bathrooms are huge! The rooms are a little small and I think the beds are a little smaller than your average double queen beds though-- maybe a full? But all in all it was a great hotel. The location is perfect too-- you'll also find a Dunkin Donuts and Walgreens right around the corner. Oh, and the Sears Tower...right behind us :) Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is georgeous. Everything from the lobby to the rooms to the bar. First class all the way. Expect to pay Chicago loop prices for rooms and parking.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This fairly new (less than a year old) hotel in the Chicago financial district was created from a classic Burnham-designed bank building. They did a nice job of modernizing while keeping a hint of historic style. Service was impeccable; the room was spacious and well appointed (huge bathroom). All employees went out of their way to be helpful. There's only one restaurant (an independent restaurant with excellent Italian food) in the hotel, but there is also a cocktail lounge in the lobby. It looks like their conference and event facilities are extensive, however.Our room didn't have much of a view, as the building is set closely between other massive old edifices, and we did hear the Chicago elevated train once in a while during the night. But it was an ideal location for exploring Chicago's downtown loop, with easy access to transportation elsewhere. There isn't much traffic in the financial district on the weekend, so that was good also.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My friend came out to visit for a spa weekend and my daughter recommended we try this hotel. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were gorgeous and so so nice. It was worth taking cabs to Michigan Ave. to stay at such a wonderful place. The staff was so courteous and super friendly. The fellow who helped us get our cabs was so extremely nice. The food at the Florentine was delicious.
When I arrived home from the weekend, I realized I forgot my make-up in my room. I called the next morning and the person who worked in lost and found was very helpful. He said he would go across the street immediately and fed ex my makeup back to me. I got it the very next day.
My husband and I are going downtown in December. We will definitely be spending the night at the JW Marriott

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The rooms and the beds are beautiful and perfectly appointed, just a great city hotel. We also like being away from the noise of Michigan Avenue. The staff were impressively accommodating! We showed up with kayaks on our vehicle and the valet matter of factly told us that they would not last five minutes on our car if we parked it in an outdoor lot. (The underground secure lot could was not high enough). They suggested storing them in the bellman's closet and proceeded to haul them through the lobby, all with enthusiasm at that. When we went to leave three days later they had already mounted them back on our car!!! Never have we had such over-the-top valet service.

Room Tip: High floor, inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Expect excellent service from the time you check in through check-out. Staff always courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable. The large quiet room was much nicer than most hotels and was an exterior room (recommended). Had a wonderful dinner at the Florentine restaurant but the food and drink choices at the lobby lounge were very good as well. Kudos to Linnea for being a quick and friendly server in the lounge; I liked her enthusiasm for the hotel as well. I would definitely stay at the JW Marriott in Chicago again.

Room Tip: Choose an exterior room vs the ones that face interior onto a courtyard area. Mine had long walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class 20,000 sq. ft. Valeo Spa and wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.