We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding; incredible service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Chicago to your Saves list
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Toledo Ohio
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Outstanding; incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a great property and it service is top notch. It is well staffed and their staff are not scripted but instead are very customer oriented. Newer and cleaner and bright rooms greet you. Excellent room service; strong bar selection; front desk staff very customer oriented; room and area markings very easy to follow. This is perhaps the best property in the Loop

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    228
    45
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
159
27
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is a converted bank building and looks like it. The lobby is oversized and unwelcoming despite the opulent appointments. The room I had was adequate but oddly shaped. It was converted to fit the space without regard to how it might work as a hotel room. I had a great view of a parking lot and the air conditioning equipment. Not interested in coming back despite its excellent location. Very sterile environment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the JW for the first time in August to attend a concert and have a romantic weekend getaway. We loved everything about this hotel. Our room was more then perfect complete with beautiful soaking tub and even a t.v. in the mirror! We enjoyed a couples massage at the spa and I have to say this was the best massage I have ever had. The bar and lounge is casual and romantic, the hotel is beautiful, spa fantastic and our room was far superior to the many other hotels we have stayed in in Chicago. We have decided to only stay at the JW in the future as well as to seek them out for the other places we travel to.

Room Tip: Upgarde to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a nice, well appointed JW. Rooms appeared recently redone and the bathroom was quite large.

I will ding it a star for having an ice cold lobby, the most confusing maze of hallways known to mankind, and a less than impressive response to me mistakenly taking a bottle out of the mini-bar to look at it (they have one of those sensors that charges you automatically, which I realized once the bottle was in my hand since the sign wasn't too obvious. The woman at the desk acted like I committed a felony despite the fact that I called within 30 seconds of it happening. She seemed very put off that she had to send someone up to verify the stock in the minibar because I was an idiot. Granted, they were sold out, it was Lollapalooza after all, but I think we still deserved what is usually a high level of service from them. Or at least the benefit of the doubt. There was a pool listed in the amenities and on maps, but apparently it wasn't completed yet. That was a disappointment.

This is a good location if you're travelling on business, but a bit of a hike from the shopping and restaurants, so take that in to consideration if you're going on the weekend - there isn't much near the place at all, and it gets a little sketchy after dark.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for the weekend of Chicago Eats and we loved the location. The amenities were like a four seasons (they had a spa and really nice restaurants) and it was very central to everything in the city. I would definitely choose this hotel again for its location and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Always love the Marriott brand as every time we stay we usually have a great nights sleep, this time it was a bit hit or miss, as room service food dishes were piled up in the halls for sometimes as long as 8 hours..Breakfast included was only room service or in the lounge area..even if they didn't bring another hang tag for you door..how did we know? So they got us for a 45 dollar breakfast in their regular restaurant...Overall the service was good, concierge knowledgable, parking a bit of an issue as had to wait 30 mins to get our car...and confusion among those folks...even though they charge $45 per night for your car to stay..you would think service would be spot on...

Room Tip: inner courtyard for ultra quiet and dark rooms and a great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the J.W. the last week in August and I am happy to report, after much research, was more than satisfied with the level of service we received at this hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and fresh, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Apparently, the hotel renovated an old bank building and only have been open since last November. The black out curtains are great, and even though we were facing Adams (on the 11th floor) and close to the "L" train, the windows were double paned so we did not hear any city noises. Tina, one of the front desk employees made our trip extra special and took the time to really personalize our stay. Our girls loved seeing her smiling face and showing her what they chose from American girl. We have traveled a lot and by far, this has been the most favorable experience with a front desk person ever. Manager of JW Chicago, if you are reading this, give Tina a big raise!!!! She is what hospitality and service are all about and we will return to this hotel.

The cleaning staff were friendly and were not so loud as to wake us in the morning. (this may have been a slow week, but we didn't really hear them at all) The valet guys and bell hops and all the staff always had a smile and greeted us every time we entered/left the premises.

Location: This hotel is in the financial area (loop) but it is really not that far to walk to Michigan avenue. In fact, we found the location ideal for shopping on State street (where Filene's basement, TJ Maxx, Nordstroms clearance -off the rack, and other general stores were located. We also liked that we were only a short walk away from Grant Park/Chicago Art Institute. We walked home from the Field Museum/Shedd Aquarium which was about 15 minutes or so. We also walked a few times to the Magnificent Mile shopping area and this was also no problem. We are city people so the walking did not bother us at all. But, you can take a cab and it will cost only a few dollars to get to the Water Tower area. (home of American Girl and other great shops) The Federal Reserve is just around the corner from the hotel on LaSalle and it has an interesting little museum which is free. The Willis (Sears) Tower is only about two blocks away. We took the Chicago double decker buses and stop 10 is right across the street from the Willis Tower. You can hop on and hop off the bus all around the major attractions of the City. We extended our pass for three days and took the other tours as well. The North Tour will take you to the zoo, botanical gardens and home of the cubs. (all worth seeing) We paid 87 for two adults and one child. (they let our youngest go on for free due to her age) If you have not gone to Chicago, take the tour, it is worth the information you will receive about the city and it serves as a great way to get around.

Since the hotel is not on the main strip, you do have to walk a bit to find area restaurants, but there is Giordano pizza which is only about two blocks away and their pizza was recommended and enjoyed by us. We also had sandwiches for lunch at Hannah Bretzel which were amazing. (organic, tree hugger type restaurant with "uber" sandwiches and high prices. But they did have gluten free bread so I am bias) Right outside the hotel was a deli like restaurant called the potbelly pig which also made delicious sandwiches which our kids enjoyed. Also the Corner Cafe made great brunch/lunch food. Chicago is kind of a bread loving city. We had room service and the food was delicious. The banana cheesecake was very yummy.

At night, the hotel is in the quieter area since it is the financial core, but it was safe to walk around. The W is located across the street from the JW.

The Cons: Valet was 52 a day which is expensive and the internet is not free. But, with that said, the positives outweigh the negatives. If you stay here, you will not be disappointed with the hotel itself. If you are only interested in shopping prada, gucci etc, then I would suggest you stay at a hotel near the Water Tower area.

This was a great hotel and we will return, in large part because of the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 West Adams, Chicago, IL 60604
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark downtown Chicago luxury hotel and experience the renowned architecture of Daniel Burnham and his vision for a luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, this historic JW luxury hotel exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our 610 luxury hotel rooms or rejuvenate body and mind inside our world-class 20,000 sq. ft. Valeo Spa and wellness center. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott luxury hotel in downtown Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.