We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can you say...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michigan Avenue

Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 364 attractions in Chicago
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This main downtown thoroughfare includes the Magnificent Mile, a stretch full of every store imaginable and several of the city's landmark buildings.
Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What can you say...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Chicago has some of the best shopping in the country and Michigan Avenue is the place to be!
I usually start at Water Tower Place or the Shops at 900 North Michigan and work my way South. Always fun to shop... plus the walk is great for exercise!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,783
    722
    200
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Michigan Avenue was a wonderful mix of shopping (or looking, since most places there were luxury stores), food, simple wandering, and people watching. The sidewalks are wide and clean and it was a great time overall!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“What better place to be?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Exciting and fun place to be. All designer stores, good food, close to popular bars, theater and the lakeshore. Very nice to walk around in all seasons.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When my wife and I visited Chicago with my son and his family, we ended up walking along Michigan Ave. with my infant granddaughter in a child carrier on my shoulders. There was so much going on that she was constantly interested ... street music, unusual stores, ice cream venues. We had a fun time and, more importantly, so did our 16-month granddaughter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Walk the Magnificent Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband loves Michigan Avenue for the architecture...I love it for the shops and people! You can't keep me away.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michigan Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Michigan Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michigan Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Michigan Avenue to your Saves list