We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes it,s loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
500 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 464-1744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This is a new restaurant from the house of Bannos (owners of the infamously popular Heaven on Seven, here in Chicago). They have now opened what could affectionately be called the foodie tourists' dream come true, with everything from bone marrow to fried pig's ears and fresh ricotta as well as a nice selection of paninis, and of course, the wines. Not to mention: Its right on the Magnificent Mile!
Stockholm
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“yes it,s loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Suprisingly cool restaurant in an area not famous for intresting dining.
Huge and intresting selection of wines.Applouds. Great choices of tapas, not always ideal for sharing. like 3 scallops in a order for 2 p. Both modern and classical sortiment of tapas, the skilled and friendly waiter takes you thru many choices.Just a pitty the nice tunes on the speakers get lost.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    1,173
    524
    109
    48
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“An absolute treat... Sometimes you just have to wait for good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We live in the Northern suburbs of Chicago and make this place a "must go" whenever we have a reason to be in town. We went there last night, President's Day, after enjoying the Auto Show. We were hoping for it to be less packed than usual, and it was! We were seated right away at a communal table with our 2 little girls. I actually enjoy the communal seating, especially with our girls as it makes for a lively atmosphere, and we don't really have to worry about the girls getting too loud occasionally whilst others enjoy their meals. Our kids are used to eating at nice places, but this is by far their favorite! Our waitress was amazing, had great recommendations and was extremely attentive. We never feel rushed, perhaps it's partly because I couldn't be bothered even if I did sense a bit of rush by staff - it's my time, I'm going to enjoy it. I only make that point as others state they "felt rushed" - we did not feel that whatsoever. The food just goes without saying - it's freekin amazing. I will say that my pork shoulder did taste a little saltier than normal, but otherwise everything was just fantastic. This is my favorite stop in Chicago!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Purple Piglicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This gem was a short walk from my Hotel in Downtown Chicago. First impression upon entering the establishment was its small cozy atmosphere. Seating was fairly close to each other due to the small size. I took an open seat at the Bar. The menu had a wide range of pork offerings. I settled on the Milk Braised Pork Shoulder with Mashed Potatoes. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. My meal arrived within 5 minutes of ordering it. The pork shoulder was delectable. Very tender with minimal pork fat and an out of this world taste. The mashed potatoes were an excellent compliment to the very tasty pork.
I would recommend this restaurant to any pork lover in search of an amazing taste bud delight!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Purple Pig is the culmination of culinary excellence. It has a festive dining atmosphere with an incredibly diverse menu and wine selection. We had their roasted cauliflower, shredded brussel sprouts, chicken with roasted potatoes and Grandma D's chocolate cake. Everything we ordered was absolutely fabulous. Despite how busy they were the servers were thoughtfully attentive and gracious. This is definitely one of Chicago's top restaurants.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting food choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant is in a great location. We went for lunch on a Saturday and had to wait about an hour or so but you are right on Michigan Ave so there is alot to do while you wait. They will call you on your cell when your table is ready so no worries - see some sights and then enjoy some great good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purple Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.